Customer Reviews for

The Mission, The Men, and Me: Lessons from a Former Delta Force Commander

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    This is a common sense purchase! You must buy this book if you care about leadership!

    I just finished this book and I can tell you that I was extremely impressed. Not only is Pete Blaber an American Hero, he is a leader. His stories are amazing, they make perfect sense to the lessons he shares in this book. I highly recommend this book to anyone in a leadership position!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Awesome

    Col. Blaber's insights into combat and leadership are invaluable and should be read by all leaders, both military and civilian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Wow!

    This was a great book, nearly impossible to put it down! If you want to gain a new perspective about leading in any situation (or just looking for a book to enjoy), this is a must. It is highly entertaining and overall a very delightful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    Wow...is that how it's done?

    That one could put such complex concepts into such simple and straightforward terms and not make it seem as if they were pandering is amazing. In fact, there are some who say it can¿t be done. I have never seen them in action, in fact I think the Special Forces motto, ¿¿words not deeds¿¿ was greatly reinforced by this outstanding book.<BR/>I am going to take the lessons I have learned from this book and use them to craft my own life story. It is important to remember that the hardest lessons are rarely learned first hand and this book has shown how one persons experience can be shared by others for the good of all. <BR/>To say Pete Blaber has served at the epicenter of American special forces operations during the post 9/11 military engagements is neither fair to the engagements or to Pete himself. He was there and more. How he ever found himself working for the "the largest biotechnology company in the world" is as amazing as the story of his exploits in a command post in Somalia.<BR/>We are lucky to have people like Pete Blaber, doing what they do today! Without them, this world might be something much different. Without them, better would only be so much more of the same, so much more of what everyone else is doing. We need him, and those like him, because without stories of what they have done our lives would be so much less of the lowness of what they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Insightful reading for the "warrior" in all of us

    ¿The Mission, The Men, and Me¿ is the most insightful book I've read on the topic of leadership and decision-making. The beauty of Pete¿s guiding principles is in their simplicity. They just make sense and are easy to apply in everyday life. Pete uses operational and training anecdotes alike to develop these guiding principles and this reader found the stories as fascinating as the lessons learned. Not only does Pete educate us on leadership fundamentals, but gives us a glimpse into the normally clandestine operations of the most elite counterterrorism unit in the world.<BR/><BR/>In my opinion, this book should be required reading for anyone whose sights are set on Executive Management. As a graduate of a top business school, I wish I had read this book prior to re-entering the work force. Simply put, it should be part of the curriculum at business schools nationwide. The guiding principles in this book will help you avoid pitfalls, build trust and earn respect putting you on the path to success.<BR/>A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    A Must Buy Book From a True American Hero

    Pete Blaber's book, "The Mission, The Men, and Me", should be required reading for the Harvard Business School and businesses around the world. His intelligence, insight and lessons in his life have transcended his military missions into his personal life. He stuck to his principles, learned from his mistakes and always kept an open mind which gave him the ability to adjust and adapt to almost any situation. From the very beginning, this book grabs you like Luca Brasi and doesn't let you go. It's like a great movie the ones you keep thinking about it long after you've left the theatre. He is a true Warrior in every sense of the word. Thank you Pete for your sacrifices, dedication and leadership, you helped kept us safe at night. <BR/><BR/>I knew Pete when we were younger, he was a born leader. I use to be one of the guys from the old neighborhood he use to bomb cars with. I remember afterword our arms would be so tired and sore, it felt like we just pitched a complete game that went into extra innings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Pete Blabber talks about his personal life┬┐s lesson while operat

    Pete Blabber talks about his personal life’s lesson while operating in Delta Force, which is the most elite military organization in the world. His experiences and motivation pushed him into situations that made him smarter, more resilient and the type of leader whom people respect and seek guidance from. These lessons demonstrated to the reader that competence and leadership are achieved through personal experience, education, and the internal motivation towards excellence. The author Pete Blabber set the introduction during the initial invasion into Iraq in 2003. He is a professional Soldier and loves his job. This operation puts him in a volatile environment where almost every situation is a life or death decision. He is a warrior, proud of who he is and what he stands for. Pete places the reader back in time and began with where he was raised. He was fortunate enough to learn, grow and thrive under two loving parents and a very large family. Pete then progresses us forward chronologically explaining the driving forces which got him where he is now by explaining his significant lessons of life. There were many events in Pete’s life that changed his behavior and thought process. His motivation towards excellence enabled him to gain the confidence from his siblings to accomplish tasks they could not complete themselves. This motivation continued to nurture his abilities to think, learn and adapt to different situations helping him provide leadership to his friends and peers. Although Pete had these abilities, his maturity level had not yet given him a direction in life and still made mistakes. His errors continued to improve his ability to make the right decision and eliminate, “such chowderheaded decisions” The author’s personal military history addiction during college provided him his epiphany, which gave him direction and purpose. His internal calling to serve his country guided him to the decision of joining the Army, “to become an Officer in Delta Force” Pete’s decision will give him the opportunity to lead Soldiers and make the best decisions possible, while protecting Soldiers and the people that surrounded them. His self-education on military history introduced him to Veterans that he could draw knowledge and personal views. These interactions taught him that no matter what, he should focus on “the mission, the men, and me” This single phrase will assist him in making decisions in the best interest of everyone for the rest of his life. The story continued to provide insight on how a professional inside a profession can continue to learn and thrive. Pete immersed you into many military operations and continued to explain many lessons and insight from his perspective. He furthered to grow and excel within his environment taking the fight to his enemy by learning from his mistakes and making his opponent pay for their mistakes. Many people drift through life trying to figure out what they want to do. Pete showed us everyone can excel. Everyone must be resilient, dedicated, and never quit on their self improvement cycle. Achieving success can only be done by reflecting on personal experiences, continued education, maintaining motivation, and trusting your leaders, peers, subordinates, family, and friends to assist you in making the right decisions. If every individual can utilize all the assets available to them, they can improve themselves, their environment and achieve any goals that are set for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Amazing story and lessons

    Peter Blaber did an amazing job with this book it has powerful insightsbto the war on terror and how to combat it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Great insights!

    This should be mandatory reading for all military leaders, from squad size elements on up. What a great peak into the mind of a leader! His philosophies should be adopted and put into practice in all aspects of decision making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A must read for all new military leaders!

    Pete Blaber disguises important leadership and life lessons as a story of exciting (Special Operations Command) military history. Through the retelling of his movie quality military experiences, Pete Blaber draws out guiding principles that he learned and presents them to the reader. These principles, presented in this way lead to a powerful and exciting read. All new junior military leaders should read this book before leading Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen or Marines. In addition, senior military leaders should review this book from time to time to ensure they do not violate the principles Pete Blaber provides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Valuable Leadership Information

    Information that can be readily applied to Leadership in any venue. If you are a leader of people, it provides basic, really practical guidelines that you can use. This is not just for the military; it is for people in charge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Excellent

    Appropriate for business, warfare, as well as your personal life, Pete Blaber shares the principles for sucess that he learned as comander of the world's most elite counterterrorist team: Delta Force.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pete Blaber has done a great job with this book; factual, well written and expresses a position many have taken but were afraid to publicly state.

    This book opens up many other questions about the war on terror, the way it was conducted from day one, the methods and tactics so long out of date. Useful deployment of troops has always been the job of the generals with ratification of the politicos. The unfortunate part is that many politicians know so very little about sending troops in harm's way or on useful military campaigns. It is high time that field tactics be altered to depend on the men on the ground, NOT from thousands of miles away in a secure bunker! For nearly 20 years, occupants of the White House have done great harm to the efforts of the military by: cutting funds for equipment, calling shots from Washington, DC and or downright relegation of the military to second or third rate citizens! Standing on an aircraft carrier offshore of Florida implying fat at sea, announcing mission results when it had hardly begun, throwing million dollar cruise missiles at an unseen enemy, is the height of stupidity! Enjoy this book......it touches on some revelations not before spoken. Many good, qualified officer and senior non-coms have left in disgust and disappointment seeing the changes in this nation's handling of it's armed forces. It is a wonder that young people still strive to make the military a career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Insight to the warrior

    This is a great book to understand some of the insight of how men move beyond the ordinary and do extra ordinary things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Insight!!

    As a former member of special operations, I can definetly relate to a lot of things in this book. However, the author brings "the average joe" in to the "black ops" community without giving too much away. A definite choice to give to your friends or your boss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Pete Blaber is a modern Sun Tzu

    I first learned of Pete Blaber while reading Sean Naylor's book, "Not a Good Day to Die". My reaction was hoping Blaber would write a book. Well Pete did and it is first class. Pete's background includes a Masters in Business, a stint at the War College and served as a top pick for the Secretary of Defense Corporate Fellows Program in 2004. All these experiences allow Pete to write an extraordinary book I consider a companion read to Sun Tzu. Like "The Art of War", Pete's book should be considered essential for modern day business leaders. Petes' leadership comes through clearly as he uses personal experiences from missions and field problems to highlight a path of wisdom we can follow toward excellence regardless of our chosen career be it business, military or even in everyday life. I've quoted his book several times in my workplace and I come off looking like a genius! Recounting his story about the gorilla outfit makes people stop and consider if we are doing business the same old way or is there something we can do different to reach a new level of organizational achievement. I view (military and business) intelligence gathering in a whole new light. Don't hesitate, buy and read this book. Do yourself a favor and also read his corporate fellows white paper on change management.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This book was refreshingly informative without all of the superman, non-believable antics so prevalent in most books on elite units. The author is obviously someone who knows what he is talking about and in my opinion is able to transmit some down to earth, user-friendly advice to the readers both military and non military alike. For someone who is curious about what lessons someone from an elite unit walks away with after completing service in the military, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    our unsung heroes

    Great book. Tells the story of our unsung heroes. These are the men you never hear about who are keeping our country safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    A decent book for fans of military history

    I'm somewhat biased towards military history, so I probably gave this higher marks than an average person would. Still, I thought it was absorbing and well-written. Once I started, I found it hard to put down. The one minor complaint I had was about the whole theme of the book: it seemed like the author couldn't decide whether he was writing an autobiography or a book on leadership. The book had some leadership lessons in it, but also a lot of other material that wasn't entirely relevant. Pete Blaber's book would be a lot more focused if he had modeled it after Dick Marcinko's "Leadership Secrets of the Rogue Warrior".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Hats-off to a true american hero, Pete Blaber

    I just finished this "can't put it down" novel. It has all the aspects of a tutorial for critical thinking and leadership. The story is well presented and in a gentlemanly manner. Please recommend this book to your high school and college aged relatives and friends. It should be required reading for West Pointers, ROTC and OCS candidates as well as all NCO's. It will be enlightening for anyone interested in knowing what makes America great. <BR/><BR/>Thank you Pete Blaber for your distinguished service to our country. Thank you for uncovering and teaching the valuable lessons of context, developing the situation, discovering the "art of the possible" and listening to the guy on the ground. Business leaders can truly benefit from these concepts.<BR/><BR/>I am a retired executive business leader and will recommend this book to colleagues. It would have been required reading for my management staff. <BR/><BR/>You are a great American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3