Customer Reviews for

Mission to Murder (Tourist Trap Mystery Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Mission to Murder is a darn good book! I'm now hooked on the series, happily so.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    Good

    Nice little fast read. I liked the characters and the plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Another good story

    Good reading with not so surprising ending but it does have a twist.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommend

    It was a quick read but a fun book but make sure you read #1 before #2 in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Love this book and series - primarily because it's not obvious f

    Love this book and series - primarily because it's not obvious from the first chapter who will get killed and who will do it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommend

    I enjoyed the book. I'm looking forward to getting the next one. It's an easy fast read great for vacation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read Cozy Mystery Series!

    Having read the first book in the tantalizing, A Tourist Trap Mystery (A GUIDEBOOK TO MURDER), which I recommend reading prior to #2 MISSION TO MURDER---was delighted to catch up with Jill and all the favorite characters in this quaint small town.

    Coffee, Books, and More on Main Street, is just one of the many tourist hot spots in the small coastal town of South Cove, California. From the first book, Jill Gardner (owner of Coffee, Books, and More), a former lawyer, inherited Miss Emily’s house (she befriended her years ago), and the city wanted her to tear down the house for a new condo real estate development.

    Presently, in MISSION TO MURDER, Jill, has discovered the old stone wall on her property might be a centuries-old mission, which she wants to declare as a historic landmark. However, again she faces many challenges and obstacles regarding the mission site; (one being a thorn in her side – Craig Thomas).

    Craig is the owner of The Castle, a popular tourist spot---he is a man who knows how to create enemies. However Jill had an argument with him and later her boyfriend and local detective, Greg (hunk, from Book 1), receives a call stating Craig was found murdered at The Castle. Then there is Fifi, his dog who was left tied at the beach, the ex-wife, the FBI, and other mysterious happenings going on at The Castle.

    Appears Josh Thomas, Owner of Antiques by Thomas, the antique shop next to her coffee shop, and Craig Morgan, The Castle were the two standing in her way of certifying the Spanish mission wall site.

    Currently Jill is not only fighting small town politics, the mayor, (which dislikes her), city council, historic committee, plus more in order to fight for the historical commission to certify the site, so she can ensure future generations know the history of this particular part of the California coastline. Now she is in the middle of a murder, she did not commit. Her top priority is to find the real killer, and the mystery begins.

    In the midst of all the murder, the first Annual Cloaked in Mystery was being planned (a new release and secret thriller author, whose name is kept hidden) to further build suspense and intrigue. If anyone guessed the author, the prize would be a set of author's signed backlist, current release, and a night at South Cove's B&B.

    A cozy, light murder mystery filled with an array of eccentric characters, and shop owners (most are nosy and always know everyone’s business), where flowers bloom, with good books and coffee, friends, and an adorable village out of a fairy tale (with murders), a lovable golden retriever, a yummy love relationship, with never a dull moment in a town full of mysteries and historic charm. Another winner by talented author, Lynn Cahoon!

    Readers will also get a peak at Jill Gardner's next adventure, coming Fall, 2014 as an excerpt is included at the end of the book. As South cove's council liaison, Jill volunteers her shop for meetings each month (and president of the I Hate Mayor Baylor Club)--more mischief and scheming. Appears Aunt Jackie, Darla, Sadie, Marie, and the rest of the crew will be returning for another action packed saga to keep the drama brewing.

    A special thank you to Kensington Books (eKensington) and NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    A fun mystery. Well-written and edited. A good cozy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    4 STARS Mission to Murder takes place after Guidebook to Mur


    4 STARS

    Mission to Murder takes place after Guidebook to Murder. Most of the characters from the first book are back plus some new ones to make it more interesting. It is a charming cast and scenery.
    Full of drama, Suspense, relationships, romance, humor and a clean story. I guessed wrong on who the guilty party was but got correct the motive.

    I missed the reason for one scene towards the end so I was left wondering why but that was the only complaint I had for the plot. I don't want to give the plot away to say more about that scene. The rest of the plotline worked for me.

    Jill Gardner is back as the main character. She owns the local bookstore. Because of what happened in Guidebook to Murder she has more free time on her hands. She is working on the house she has, her store, and trying to get the Mission wall documented as being on her property.

    I like all the secondary characters that are back surrounding Jill. Her Aunt who has a lot of ideas for her business, her friends. It really adds to the charm of the book and makes you want to come back and see what they are up to next.

    Because of the Mission Wall she has made enemies of some powerful people in town. When one of them turns up dead right after she has fought with him in public she becomes the main suspect for some.

    The detective in charge is Greg her boyfriend and one of the other cops in town Toby works part time for her in the coffee shop. They don't believe she is guilty but a lot of the others in town including the Mayor does.

    Greg does not want her to investigate and keeps warning her.

    The setting is a small tourist town of South Cove, CA right on the coast. I would love to visit the town. I would be tempted to swim at the Castle too.

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    I was given this ebook to read and in return agreed to give honest review of it by Net Galley and Kensington Books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jill Gardner owns an eclectic shop which she sells, books, coffe

    Jill Gardner owns an eclectic shop which she sells, books, coffee and more, which is also the name of her store. Working along with Jill is her eccentric Aunt Jackie, who never hesitates to voice her opinion, on just about everything and part time police officer Toby, who worked days for Jill and his nights protecting the town, along with Head Detective Greg, who happened to be Jill"s boy friend. When the manager Craig Morgan of the Castle, a town tourist draw, ends up dead, the #1 suspect is Jill, who happened to be one of the last to see him and the last to argue with him. Admittedly there was no love lost between them, but to think of Jill as a murderer is unbelievable. Even thought Greg had asked (begged) Jill to stay out of the investigation, she feels compelled to ignore Greg's advice and try to prove herself innocent.

    FTC Full Disclosure - A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    Good Read

    Lynn Cahoon's A Tourist Trap Mystery series is well written, has an interesting plot and a good cast of charaters. Is worth the read for the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    She's on a Roll and Does It Again!

    The second book in this new series does not disappoint. Starting to really enjoy the mainstay characters as she delves more into their personalities. Looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Loved this book!!!

    look forward to reading a lot more from this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Amusing, Not Scary

    It happens that I just finished reading this last night, and plan to take it off my nook, as I have over 200 books on it, and need the space. Jill owns a coffee shop/book store, and has a dog and a 'boyfriend' who is the local police presence. This takes place along the California coast. She would like to have a section of wall on her property verified as being ruins from the Spanish presence years ago. One resident who is not well liked is killed, and she decides to look into it. One might call this lightweight, as it is not especially scary. A book group could consider it for discussion. I might read another book by this author, especially if it is offered on Book Bub.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Not so good

    Weak plot - too much time spent on what people are eating. You could waste your time reading on reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Good story.

    Enjoy reading book like this because you want to keep reading and no put down. Like story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Fun read

    This was just what I needed. Easy to read and best of all I didn't have to think too much.
    A really fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2014

    the book had a few good parts but I found it to be boring. Not a

    the book had a few good parts but I found it to be boring. Not a page turner like the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Interesting

    I like the character and her group of players. Not sure about her boyfriends??? Have to wait and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Mish mosh serial boring cozy with unpleasant people

    Obvious if you did n ot read the first you wont have a clue and what is The CASTLE? bed and breakfast antique store museum hotel priivate home country club with swimming pools ? Worse cozy i have read this year too many characters plots and endless fill ins of food drink locking doors and getting fresh air and what with the author?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2