Customer Reviews for

Mission to Paris

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

If you like real life experience - not James Bond - check it out

Alan Furst is one of the few authors I have found who writes well enough to keep your interest without resorting to central characters with super powers. When a character is severely injured in a motorcycle accident and fully recuperates in a few weeks with no ongoing ...
Alan Furst is one of the few authors I have found who writes well enough to keep your interest without resorting to central characters with super powers. When a character is severely injured in a motorcycle accident and fully recuperates in a few weeks with no ongoing problems, the story loses credibility and I can't relate to the hero/heroine. Alan Furst can keep you coming back without resorting to such techniques. I, for one, would like to see more authors create down-to-earth characters that I can relate to.

posted by DPJ on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

It's so annoying to see reviews from people who have not even re

It's so annoying to see reviews from people who have not even read the book. I did, so here's my review:
This very short novel does not get off the ground until after page 100. Until that, it is a huge snooze fest. And once it does get off the ground, it hardly keeps on...
It's so annoying to see reviews from people who have not even read the book. I did, so here's my review:
This very short novel does not get off the ground until after page 100. Until that, it is a huge snooze fest. And once it does get off the ground, it hardly keeps one wide awake. I have seen the remark that Furst is the best spy novel writer. Hogwash! This book barely qualifies as a book, and one can skip it and not have their life diminished one iota. Nothing of any real interest happens, and the ending is just dull. I have been reading Philip Kerr's Berlin novels in the same time period, and he writes circles around Furst. Perhaps Kerr could help Furst out on his next novel.

posted by KenCady on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    If you like real life experience - not James Bond - check it out

    Alan Furst is one of the few authors I have found who writes well enough to keep your interest without resorting to central characters with super powers. When a character is severely injured in a motorcycle accident and fully recuperates in a few weeks with no ongoing problems, the story loses credibility and I can't relate to the hero/heroine. Alan Furst can keep you coming back without resorting to such techniques. I, for one, would like to see more authors create down-to-earth characters that I can relate to.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Don't Buy...

    This is my first Alan Furst novel, and I can firmly say that it will be my last. As another reviewer commented, I too had a difficult time getting through the first 100 pages. I thought about abandoning the book on several occassions. There really wasn't a climax and the loose ends that you keep hoping will be tied up, never are. Very dissapointing read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    entertaining read

    like all of Furst's novels, this one gives you an excellent feel for Europe between the wars. While not as fine as a few of his other books, it is certainly worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Not his best but still worth a read.

    Lots of ties to previous works and his usual brilliant sense of mood make this an enjoyable read. Perhaps a thinner slice of "near history" than earlier novels but, perhaps befitting the Hollywood connection, still quite intertaining if somewhat implausible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First Class Ticket

    Why, in late 1938, when tens of thousands of people are fleeing from Europe, is Frederic Stahl headed to Paris? For a film star like Stahl, working for Warner Brothers Studios, all it that matters is that Jack Warner wants him in France for a movie. What Jack Warner wants, Jack Warner gets. In the face of threats and bullying from Germany's Hitler, France and all of Europe is in turmoil. Many Parisians think it would be better to just give in and unify under Germany rather than fight another devastating war. Others would rather fight to the death than submit to the atrocities they already see spreading under Hitler's regime. Corruption and outside influence are quickly dividing an already shaky French government. Stahl, born in Austria and educated in Europe before finding his new name in American films, has always had a love for Paris. He looks forward to returning, but while the streets and sites are the same, the people and the political atmosphere have changed. Stahl is quickly swooped up by the provocateurs infesting Paris. He is pressured by German aristocrats and diplomats living in Paris, who see him as a possible sympathizer or perhaps a pawn to be used in this most dangerous game. The French also put pressure on him to join on one side or the other of the chasm dividing Paris. Stahl has to do his best to complete his movie while trying to decide whether to stay neutral like his new homeland America, or take sides, as his once beloved Paris changes around him. This flows like a well made early 1940's espionage film. You can just see picture it on a screen in black and white with a cast of international stars from one of the major film studio's list of contract players. It would be great to film it as an homage to the magnificent movies Hollywood used to make. Book provided for review by Random House Publishing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    World War II is just round the corner and Frederic Stahl a Holly

    World War II is just round the corner and Frederic Stahl a Hollywood star is sent to Paris to make his latest movie. The book follows the day to day life of the star from the start of the movie to the end, shooting in studio and on location. During this period it is made very clear what is coming for everyone in Europe. The author Alan Furst paints a very vivid picture of the pre-war conditions in Europe. This is the main event of this novel as the storyline in its self is not very exciting, but he adds atmosphere that makes this a very fascinating and entertaining read.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    THIS IS NOT HIS BEST WORK BUT STILL ENTERTAINING AND WELL ABOVE

    THIS IS NOT HIS BEST WORK BUT STILL ENTERTAINING AND WELL ABOVE THE RUN OF THE MILL SPY NOVEL.   TRY RED STAR FOR THE BEST HE HAS TO OFFER - WHICH IS TERRIFIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Like a movie in Black & White

    this book brings back the look of Casablanca and the mood as well. Good fast read with a character to dream over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1