Customer Reviews for

The Missionary

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    I wish I could give it 6 stars.

    David is a frustrated missionary. No matter how hard he works, there's always more homeless poverty striken orphans he can't reach. He wants to do more, but how can he with the repressive dictator he blames for Venezula's misery in control. If only something could be done?

    This is the mindset of David when he is approached by a man who claims ties to the CIA and says he plans a peaceful coup. All David has to do is make a few deliveries. David knows he's putting the mission, his family, and his life at risk if he agrees, but this is his chance to do something important. But then everything goes wrong.

    I can relate to David's stupid decisions. Many times as Chritians, we don't feel like what were doing is making any difference. Sometimes it's easier to do something "big" to change things. This is not your typical missionary story with the protaganist who meekly serves. This man has the faults and temptations we all do, and sometimes he screws up big time while trying to help God out.

    I literally could not put this novel down. From the moment I started reading it, I was hooked. I had to see what happened next. I couldn't put it down. If I could give this novel 6 stars, I would. It's that good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Fantastic!

    Fast-paced and gripping, this is one action-packed adventure full of unexpected twists and turns that will keep you reading well into the night. Strong, believable characters give a fascinating look at the world of international espionage, drug cartels and frighteningly hostile dictatorships. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Every Thing About It

    What an amazing book!! It's fast paced and has loads of surprises. The characters are believable and the story gets better and better with every twist. This book has it all: missionaries, drug cartels, dictatorships, faith, family and more.

    If you like thriller/suspense, you'll love this book. I hope there is a book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Riverting Thriller

    The Missionary novel-a riveting thriller-opens with a man fighting to save children trapped in the slums of Caracas, Venezuela. Good intentions go awry, however, as missionary David Eller struggles with an explosive decision that may change lives forever. Is this of God? Others are watching from the shadows to see which path Eller chooses. At stake is the survival of family, friends, and the children he desperately hopes to save. He must make the right choice.

    Writers David Lambert and William Carmichael take readers on a ride that never seems to end. This tightly written, expertly-crafted novel of espionage and intrigue forces The Missionary to fight for his life as he strives to protect those he loves. Can a caring God stand by while innocent children suffer? Can one man's choice to save these children be wrong? Only time and circumstances will tell.

    Like in the spy trade, this novel is a sleeper coming at you from directions one never expects. Eller becomes trapped in a nightmare that may mark the end. Who can he trust? Where can he turn? As he races from one scene to the next, he ponders if God will ever make Himself known? Spies, assassins, and greed are the staples that make this novel twist and turn. This thought-provoking novel will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    The new page turner!

    I have read other books by Carmichael that were very good but I didn't expect his first novel to be GREAT and on the level of a Grisham!

    The suspense, intrigue and down-to-earth human nature made it very real, believable, exciting and incredibly engaging! I found myself giving up favorite TV programs and other things I enjoy just to read! Which, by the way, is very unusual for me!

    Unless I miss my guess this will definitely be a best seller! Makes me wonder how many other great novels Carmichael has tucked away in his imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    Great read!

    Nice to read a book with intrigue and suspence that leaves out the gory details. Makes you wonder about our government's actual involvement in other countries. I look forward to book #2 that could continue the storeyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    A Heart-Pounding and Soul-Stirring Read

    This is probably one of the best novels I've read in a while. The missionary is soul-stirring, heart-pounding journey thru the messy mix of mission work, espionage, and third-world politics.

    David Eller is a flawed missionary whose tireless work in Venezuela has him itching to do more to bring justice to the country's poor. His impulsive actions lead him into more trouble than he bargained for, jeaopardizing his marriage and his mission.

    Will Carmichael and David Lambert really deliver with tight writing, believable plot lines, complex characters, and nonstop drama. They take you inside the sad and sorid world of Venezuela's politics and policies, bleeding out a concern for the forgotten poor in a troubled part of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Tension on every page!

    This novel is a must for men and women alike. The authors tug on the hearts of women and weave in fantastic action for men! At the same time you'll see God behind the scenes working...and working. If your idea of missionary ministry is a safe arena in which to share Christianity, think again!

    Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Get ready for a page turner

    Although I'm not typically a suspense-thriller kind of girl, I have to say that I absolutely LOVED this book. It seriously had me hiding in the bathroom from my kids so that I could read on to the next chapter. The characters are intriguing and I longed to hear more about the beautiful setting in Venezuela. I would HIGHLY recommend this book even if, like me, you have little time for reading. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Solid

    I received this book from a friend that told me it wasn't a typical retread of boxed up Christianity living outside the world. It was, to be sure, a great read. I identified with the lead character's thoughts, struggles and short-comings. It's nice to read a book by a Christian author that combines faith, good intentions with less than perfect decision making. I think we can all relate. Besides that, it was suspenseful, face-paced and unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Edge of the Seat Suspense

    While the title, The Missionary, might lead you to believe this is a sweet story about a crusade for the poor in Venezuela, it is anything but that. This is action packed suspense that builds in intensity until you find yourself unable to put it down. Lambert and Carmichael have taken an ordinary man who feels a call to the mission field, set him down in a poor section of Caracas and then offered him a way to make life better for those he serves. Unfortunately it involves him in a nightmare of life and death decisions and bad choices that threaten to destroy him, his family, and his friends. Don¿t miss this great read. Just be sure you have a block of time to devote to it. It¿s a page turner to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    "The Missionary" is captivating with vivid imagery, a good mystery novel.

    This book is well worth the read mixing espionage with faith and governmental corruption with altruism. Definitely holds the interest of the reader through to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1