Customer Reviews for

Mississippi Jack: Being an Account of the Further Waterborne Adventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman, Fine Lady, and Lily of the West

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOKS EVER - READ OR LIVE AN UNSATISFYING LIFE

I love these books. I love them with every bit of my being, and I always will. I can't even begin to describe my feelings toward these books, and believe me, you don't want me to. Let's just say these are the best books ever L. A. Meyer and Jacky Faber are my heroes, an...
I love these books. I love them with every bit of my being, and I always will. I can't even begin to describe my feelings toward these books, and believe me, you don't want me to. Let's just say these are the best books ever L. A. Meyer and Jacky Faber are my heroes, and I am a hugely obsessive fan.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for the age group that is listed

I've been reading this series for quite some time, curiosity driving me on. The first four books I enjoyed tolerably well, but this one was so sensually explicit and foul that I couldn't read the whole thing. Don't let your kids read it.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    BEST BOOKS EVER - READ OR LIVE AN UNSATISFYING LIFE

    I love these books. I love them with every bit of my being, and I always will. I can't even begin to describe my feelings toward these books, and believe me, you don't want me to. Let's just say these are the best books ever L. A. Meyer and Jacky Faber are my heroes, and I am a hugely obsessive fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Wow~

    This one and the third one, Under the Jolly Roger, are my favorite from the series so far. It's a great book. I think Jacky shouldn't be such a big flirt. Poor Jaimy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Fun and Excitement for All Ages

    Mississippi Jack is the the latest in the Bloody Jack series and, in my opinion, is far and away the best so far. Jacky Faber finds herself floating down the Mississippi river- encountering many colorful and dangerous characters, and, (of course) getting into all kinds of trouble. If you liked any of the other Bloody Jack titles, I guarantee that you will LOVE this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    Absolutely wonderful!!! This book keeps you turning pages!!! Never really knowing what will hapen next, you will be on the edge of your seat the whole time!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonder for my girls.

    An excellent addition to this wonderful series! Jacky is a wonderful character and my daughters just adore the tales of her adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    AWWWWMAZING! LOVE IT!

    This book is not amazing it is awwwwwmazing! I think it is 10 thumbs up! In this story Jacky Faber is on the ship of Captain Rutherford with her friends. When the ship goes to port, all of the girls travling with Jacky are let off in the U.S., where there friends and family await them, including Jacky's true love Leuitent James Emerson Fletcher of the Royal Navy, except Jacky who is a pirate wanted for crimes against the crown when Captain Rutherford tries to take Jacky back to england where he can collect the reward. Jacky's friends try there best to help Jacky escape off the boat. What will happen to Jacky? In this story Jacky has many adventures within her adventure. She has many battles, creates many friends, and enemiesas well. I recoomed this book to anyone that loves a good romance adventure or comedy book. Also, this is a good summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Jacky Faber is the Belle of the Golden West

    There is never a dull moment when Jacky is around. This time she leaves her mark in America. With old and new friends by her side Jacky takes us on an adventure that only she could find herself in. I recommend this book to any Jacky Faber fan and I recommend this series to anyone who craves adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    When confronted for piracy, Jacky once again escapes. This time, she sets sail down the Mississippi River, with Jaimy chasing after her. This book is filled with the crazy adventures we've come to love. Jacky makes all sorts of new friends - and enemies. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, though it is not my favorite in the series. It is still an astounding read. However, the many, many new characters being introduced turned me off a bit. It seemed to get a little complicated. But the story is fantastic, as always. Definitely going to reread it as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Once again Jacky keeps us on the edge of our seat

    Truly this is a great read that should appeal to girls as well as boys, teens to seniors. Lovers of historical fiction will note that the perils Jacky faces were quite real to the time period violence brought about by greed, streets paved more by treachery then gold. This time especially Meyer's has outdone himself with characters that make us cringe or perhaps laugh out loud each time they walk, or stagger, across the page. They are all there, the river men and women of the time, all races, all walks of life, all brought to us through the eyes of a young woman who has had to live by her wits, dreaming her dreams, while facing each day with courage and determination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Mississippi Jack

    I personaly do not admire the setting of the story, but it was a good twist. The new characters really brought a new life to the book. Jacky never stops amazing me at how she can get out of almost everything, and my amazement kept going in this addition to the series. I am on the edge to get the next book. I hope Jacky's next adventure comes out soon, so I and any one else who enjoys these books, can see Jack-o's next predicament.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Another FANTASTIC book: Jacky just gets better and better!

    This is the latest book in L.A. Meyer's terrific series of novels telling the adventures of Jacky Faber. You can read the synopsis on this site to learn about the plot, so I won't waste your time telling you about it. What I will say is that I loved this book. Just like in the other books in the series, L.A. Meyer creates the perfect recipe for a great read: Start with great characters, add a compelling adventure story, and then toss in some good laughs and a dose of history 'without making you feel like you're getting a history lesson'. There's no boring parts the book flows as fast as the Mississippi after a torrential rainstorm. If you haven't read any of the Jacky books, I'd recommend that you start with the first one: Bloody Jack: Being An Account Of The Curious Adventures Of Mary Jacky Faber. I guarantee you'll be hooked: You'll finish it quickly, and soon you'll be reading the next, then the next, then the next... By the time you've enjoyed all five of the books, Meyer will be out with a new one, I'm sure. And I'll grab it just as soon as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    If There is One Book that you Buy in 2007...make it Mississippi Jack

    After reading Mississippi Jack one word comes to my mind ¿ Wow! I¿ve read all four books in the Bloody Jack series, and Jacky¿s most recent adventure through the U.S. in Mississippi Jack, is by far my favorite out of the five. From the start of the book, up until the last page, Jacky finds herself in peril, as she always does, and again in the hunt to find her true love, Jamey Fletcher, and in many cases to simply stay alive and afloat while sailing down the mighty Mississippi River. As an avid fiction reader, and a middle school language arts teacher, I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone that loves a good adventure. Along with the adventure and peril, Meyer mixes in the perfect amount humor and romance throughout the story¿s plot. Fans of the other four Bloody Jack books will not be disappointed with Jacky¿s latest adventure. Along with the usual main characters, Meyer introduces you to many new characters that you quickly begin to fall in love with as if you had been reading about them since the first Bloody Jack book. Meyer also includes some surprising characters from the past that connects with this novel so cunningly, it will shock you. If there is only one book that you buy a friend or loved one this year for the holidays, it has to be this one. It¿s a must read for the entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Meyer Has Done It Again!

    I love this book and series! I think the only thing that kept me from crying at the thought of the series ending was the words at the back of the book 'And Jacky's legions of fans can take heart knowing that her glorious adventures are not over yet...' It really brightened my day when I saw this book at Barns&Noble. The ending is the absolute best! I never thought I could get into historical fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Absolutely Love Jacky!

    I absolutely love Jacky Faber and her books ,and although I haven't read Mississippi Jack yet I have faith that its just as good if not better than the last one. Great job L.A. Meyer!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    The best yet

    Jacky Faber is the best heroine around. Sassy and sexy. Starts some fights and ends them all all. Reading history is fun...this book being an especially good example of such. I got excited about history as a child reading the 'Elsie Dinsmore' and 'Little Maid' series. I would have been even more excited -- and learned as much and probably more -- had I read the 'Bloody Jack' series way back when.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    I Love the Bloody Jack Series

    I can't wait to get my hands on this book, LA meyer is a very talented author who knows how to pull in his readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Mississippi Jack

    This book is going to be flipping awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    I Love Bloody Jack series

    i cant wait to get this book i have no doubt it will be outstanding and one of the best books i'v ever read cant wait to get it :'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    i love jacky faber

    these books are sooo good L.A Meyer really knows how to hold your attention through out the whole book i cant wait to read 'Mississippi jack' i just finished 'in the belly of the bloodhound' last night

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    i love l.a meyers

    This guy is not just a good writer but personable and funny as well! These books are good for not just teens but adults too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3