Customer Reviews for

Mississippi Trial 1955

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! READ IT!!!!

Mississippi Trail, 1995 by Chris Crowe Publish in 2002. A historical-fiction base on a true story of Emett Till's murder in the state of Mississippi of 1955. The general storyline was the trial in the summer of 1955, Mississippi; It change Hiram (main character of the b...
Mississippi Trail, 1995 by Chris Crowe Publish in 2002. A historical-fiction base on a true story of Emett Till's murder in the state of Mississippi of 1955. The general storyline was the trial in the summer of 1955, Mississippi; It change Hiram (main character of the book)'s life; His way of looking at his Father and Grandfather and the city Greenwood, Mississippi.
By reading this book, I learned the South was back then, and how racist they were. And I change my way of thinking on Africa-Americans. And thank God, America had changed after this event (the Mississippi trial of 1955). One event can change up your thinking and even life. I recommend this book to today youths, its great and easy book to read and it will teach you a big lesion and it might change your mind of thinking.
Hiram (the main character of the book) growing with his grandparents in city of Greenwood, Mississippi until the death of his grandma, move to Arizona back with his parents, His Dad and grandpa never get along. Hiram love his grandpa more than his dad, until the trial. He sees the other face of his grandpa and Greenwood, and start thinking about why his dad doesn't like Greenwood and all the other stuff he had told him. I think Hiram's character is believable, growing up as a child and didn't know much, and later come back find out how his hometown is like. I believe the author (Chris Crowe) like Hiram and make him that way.
Mississippi Trial, 1955 a life changing book. I really recommend this book this my peers and youths. My old high (WJHS) tell us to read it over the summer, and I would say, "They make a great choice and I bet a lot of my classmate read it and like it.

posted by wiwi on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book sucks

They are rude to blacks. Its very boring. To much nonsense no one gives a big rolling trude about. Its an easy book to read its not fun. I felt drull running down my chin the whole book. I hope this helps.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Okay

    Okay book. Too many curses and they're just a little too racist for me, but overall its pretty good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Good Book

    Good book about the trials of segregation that America faced in the Mid-1900s. I liked how it wasn't neccessarly a fairytale ending. The only reason this isnt a five star book because the beginning was slow and the real story didnt start until halfway through the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Racism tears boy's life apart

    As a boy, Hiram loved his childhood and remembered it as a great place to be. Hiram is exceedingly excited when he gets to see his most favorite grandfather in Greenwood, Mississippi again. However, when he arrives, he fells that the small town where he¿d grown up in isn¿t the same. The place has been filled with hatred between the black and whites. The whites treat the blacks awfully when they refuse to follow their `know purpose.¿ He doesn¿t see this racism until he runs into a black teen from Chicago named Emmet Till. Unfortunately, the boys don¿t know each other long because Hiram finds his friend dead in the river. Enraged, Hiram is determined to find the one who killed his fellow buddy. What is it going to cost in order for him to know? Read this book to find out the murderer and the reason for Emmet Till¿s death. With a lot of suspense and action, the book Mississippi Trial, 1955 was excellent and terrible in many ways. I liked how the character jumped back into time to compare his childhood life to his recent life. This made the book easier to read and comprehend to my life and how it is different from his life. I also enjoyed how the characters used good description in the story to give a pleasant and understandable picture of the scene. With the dialogue in the book, it helped me relate what conversation was like back then to what conversation is like now. Although there were some things that I liked in this book, I also disliked some things that the book provided. I didn¿t like how the book jumped around from scene to scene to scene. This confused me and made it difficult to get a full understanding. The flashback that Hiram had in his childhood at the beginning also made it hard to understand what was taking place. I couldn¿t tell if it was from Hiram¿s past or present figure. This book has a lot of other information that readers may want to know. This book has a ton of suspense and astonishing action that takes place. Those of you who may like the television show CSI, this book has a similar format or plot. Authors like Chris Crowe write many novels for teens, and he presents all of his feelings and thoughts in his writing for all of his books. This book is for everyone and anyone to read. Overall, I feel that this book was very exciting and dynamic. I would highly recommend it to readers looking for and awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    A Look into 1955 in the South

    Mississippi Trial, 1955 is a great historical fiction novel that helped me understand more about the south in 1955. It opened my eyes to racism and segregation and kept me interested as I read. It painted a perfect picture of the 1950's southern life for the reader. The novel was a little dull at the beginning and could use some excitement, but towards the climax I couldn't put the book down. The author explained a lot about being white in the south, too. Most historical fiction novels only relate to what the person who was suffering from racism go through. The book was different because it showed how a white boy chose which way to live and judge. The white boy, Hiram, chose between living easy and living right. The novel also involved many conflicts and the author did a great job portraying different lifestyles through the characters. My favorite part of the novel was the conclusion because Hiram, the narrator, and his father reunite and finally understand each other. It's an optimistic ending to the serious story. I would definitely recommend this novel to another middle-schooler who enjoys history because it taught me a lot about the past and had terrific themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Don't Miss-issippi Trial, 1955

    Hiram Hillburn returns to his granps's house in Mississippi, finding it much different from when he was a kid. Based on a true story, Chris Crowe worte an exciting novel about a kids murder. There is a mixture of drama ans mystery, making it an great book. There are a few parts were the story slows down, but those go by quickly.This first person makes you feel like you were actually there. You dont want to miss a book like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Murder in Mississippi read Mississippi Trial, 1955

    The Mississippi Trial, 1955 is an interesting book about the problems in the 1950's. It could of gone into more deatail about the problems in the climax with the Boy. The best part of the novel to me was when Hiram the main character was a toung boy in the Mississippi Delta. I would recommend this novel for it's historical accuracy and to show other people what is wrong with segregation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Murder, Suspense and racism

    The book was overall good, I was avle to enfoy the book. Once you got started you could get 'hooked'. There's enough suspense and conflict in it to make you wonder what is going to happen. The worst part of the novel is when ever one of the characters is treated wrongly. I would recommend this novel to let people see more on how segregation went back then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    ~Mill

    Great book. Fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Chris Crow, the next Shakespere in his own way

    Pretty good, pretty good in deed. I have never seen an author express a book like Chris Crow has done. The book was one I would have not picked, but I am glad I read it. This book shows how badly, and brutly blacks were teated in the south. I would recommend this book to eveyone. But if you are faint at heart this book may be a little intense for you. This a must read teens. ENJOY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Racism Murder

    This book I say is very good. This book has many tones such has happy,sad, and suspenseful. This is a very good book for everyone to read , because it talks about the segergation back then. The worst part the middle of thje book how it made me feel bad.I would recommend this book because it shows how bad segergation was back then.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    All trials are fair, or are they?

    I thought this book was a great story for kids 12-20,because it teaches us how unfair and hard it was to live in the Mississippi of 1955 for African Americans. I thought the book was interesting. The whole time I was reading it I was expecting a trial when it happens in the very end, and it wasn't very long. The part I liked best was when Hiram got back to Mississippi. I would recommend this novel to people who are wondering how bad Negroes had it during the Civil Rights Movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    The Mississippi Review

    Mississippi Trial 1955 is a great book most of the time, but the beggining is kind of slow. The best part of the book is when Hiram returns to Mississippi, while the worst part is the beggining. I would reccomend this book to someone because once you've got past the first twenty pages it's a very interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    A great read!

    This book was a good book. It was fun and easy to read. The best part of the book was the various plot turns that kept you thinking. Although the book took some time to get going it was still a really good book. It was based on a murder of a black teen, Emmett Till (actually happened) but the main character Hiram and almost everyone else was made up to make this story complete. I recomend this book to everyone because it was great and very interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1