BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mist

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I'd give this 4.5 stars...

Imagine this: you are stranded in a grocery store with a bunch of other people, some sane and some not so sane, while a fog-like mist surrounds the store and is enshrouding a mass of creatures that seem from a different dimension. Sound like a creepy story line? It's be...
Imagine this: you are stranded in a grocery store with a bunch of other people, some sane and some not so sane, while a fog-like mist surrounds the store and is enshrouding a mass of creatures that seem from a different dimension. Sound like a creepy story line? It's better than that. Stephen King, the "Master of the Macabre", creates some truly out-of-this-world creatures that lurk in the mist. But....he makes the atmosphere inside the store almost as dangerous as the outside by adding in some human pandemonium. It's all about adaptability. Some people don't cope well and start to lose it. The most fearsome by far is the witch-like Mrs. Carmody preaching the end times and expiation. She believed in a biblical reason for the mist. Others suggested The Arrowhead project, a government preserve outside of town. Whatever is behind the mist, it's classic King!

posted by songcatchers on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Buy skeleton crew

This story and a bunch of others are in the book skeleton crew on here dont waste your money bbuying this seperate....

posted by sublimenikki on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There Out There

    Great read keeps you reading the ending is ?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Fast read

    Classic short story by stephen king! Wonder if there will be a follow up book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    The sample suks

    Gjujhjnchvoejgginbujv

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Sample stinks

    Sample iss a ripoff sposed to be a good read though

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    The Mist or "Visitors Looking for a Good Meal.

    "The Mist" is about a father and son who get trapped in a super market with a strange fog that surrounds the neighborhood. As they survive in the market, they see and meet the strange creatures that are hungry for food, including humans. The book looks at the issue of what it takes for the survivors in the market to stay alive and work together to stay alive. The major message in this book is team work and how to work together. Another message that is probably more important is the need for hope. It takes time and energy but hope is necessary for life and it can also enable people to work together. The best parts of this book are Stephan King's details as he describes the intense scenes and what people want or are doing. The bad parts about this book are sometimes the author doesn't go into enough detail so everything is bland. Who should read this book? Anyone that really likes science fiction or monster books, but if you don't like creatures in your books or lots of death then this is not the book for you. If you like this book, then I think you would enjoy other books that have been written by Stephen King. One favorite of mine is King's book called "The Stand". My overall rating for this book would have to be 3 out of 5 stars. I would have given a higher rating, but the ending did not seem to be a complete ending, and it left you wondering what could happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    It was a pretty good book!!

    The Mist was a ok book it's the first Stephen King book I've ever read. I mostly read fantsey novels or mystery.I do recommend the book it's a good fast read. The only thing that was differnt about this book. I can take a couple days break on reading it and this book you have to pretty much read the whole thing at once so you can understand what's going on. I haven't seen the movie yet but I think the book is going to be really similar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Disappointed with the ending

    I have read many of King's books. I am a big fan of his writings. With so much hype about 'The Mist' I couldn't wait to read the book first before seeing the movie. Well I can honestly say I hope the movie is better than the book because the ending in the book was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Stephen King, meet Rod Serling...

    After spending two nights and digesting 240 paperback pages, found myself experiencing a myriad of emotions, ending with utter disappointment. This story is interesting enough, but the ending is something you'd see on an old episode of the Twilight Zone. Botom line, I'd draw the analogy of reading this story to preparing a Thanksgiving Dinner: Lots of preparation, enjoyable feast, messy cleanup, and when its all over, you look around and say 'What just happened?' and 'Was it really worth the effort?'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    One great big advertisement

    I had two problems with this audiobook: 1. I agree with the other reviewer that some dialog was difficult to hear because of the sound difference. Word of advice - don't listen in you car. I had the volume cranked up and still missed dialog. 2. It's one great big walking billboard with gratuitous references to just about ever product ever made: Bud, Bud Light, Crackerjack, Screaming Yellow Zonkers, Chevy, Coke, Caffeine Free Coke - and that's just off the top of my head. I found myself wanting to go back and just count the names of the products that were mentioned. Yea, they were in a grocery store, but he could have just used 'soda' or 'beer.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2