Customer Reviews for

The Mist

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I'd give this 4.5 stars...

Imagine this: you are stranded in a grocery store with a bunch of other people, some sane and some not so sane, while a fog-like mist surrounds the store and is enshrouding a mass of creatures that seem from a different dimension. Sound like a creepy story line? It's be...
Imagine this: you are stranded in a grocery store with a bunch of other people, some sane and some not so sane, while a fog-like mist surrounds the store and is enshrouding a mass of creatures that seem from a different dimension. Sound like a creepy story line? It's better than that. Stephen King, the "Master of the Macabre", creates some truly out-of-this-world creatures that lurk in the mist. But....he makes the atmosphere inside the store almost as dangerous as the outside by adding in some human pandemonium. It's all about adaptability. Some people don't cope well and start to lose it. The most fearsome by far is the witch-like Mrs. Carmody preaching the end times and expiation. She believed in a biblical reason for the mist. Others suggested The Arrowhead project, a government preserve outside of town. Whatever is behind the mist, it's classic King!

posted by songcatchers on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Buy skeleton crew

This story and a bunch of others are in the book skeleton crew on here dont waste your money bbuying this seperate....

posted by sublimenikki on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Very Good

    The mist is a novella from skeleton crew, extended and made into a short book. I loved this book, it was actually the first king book i had ever read, it slows down in parts and just when u get bored it picks right back up and gets ur heart pounding. GREAT book...HORRIBLE movie(the ending was the worst i had ever seen)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Classic King

    The Mist was pure King...aside from being a master of character development King is the only one atop the throne of pure horror as exemplified in The Mist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    MAN THIS BOOK IS FRIGHTING

    Wow! i thoght this book was incredible. It was really crazy with the supermarket and everything. I love this book man and i didn't even see the movie. Good thing i didn't cause thos book made me feel like i was really in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A nightmare of a novel!!!

    I loved 'The Mist', sleepness nights for sure!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    The Fog on the East Coast

    An eerie fog rolls across the town of Antonio Bay, California. Odd occurances follow. Ghostly apparitions appear. Murder and mayhem are close behind. Oh, wait a minute that's the 1975 John Carpenter classic film The Fog. King must've seen this one and wrote about it happening on the east coast but decided to rename it The Mist. So sad Stephen plagarizes copy such as this to pander inferior texts to the reading masses.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first started this book, it was actually pretty good and held my interest. King lost me when he brought in these weird creatures in the fog, without any explanation. I am like 'oh, come on...' Now IF he had somehow linked all this to the military things going on, or some other phenomena in a solid way, I could have perhaps, stayed with him and tried to believe. I was very disappointed overall. in my opinion he got lazy on this book and never really gave us any type of woven story fabric, as is his norm. My opinion of King has always been that he is a brilliant writer, but I am always just a bit disturbed by his use of profanity and smut content. I am not a prude by any means, but I find it so uneccessary to pollute the storyline, without just cause. Maybe it is for effect, but doesn't he know that he writes so tremndously well without all that? The fling in the manager's office...totally out of storyline.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    :)

    Havent read it love the move !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Fast read

    Classic short story by stephen king! Wonder if there will be a follow up book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    U Please read my post

    Can someine tell me the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Hi

    Hi guys it's me again one more thing why did he kill the people in the truck?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Steven king and i got a mating together.

    I had a mmeting with Steven king it was a honer to see him in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    A good read

    I like Stephen King. I have read 18 books. The MIST is a good read but, since I like to read, 130 pages what not long enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    By no means am I a "professional book critic," but I'l

    By no means am I a "professional book critic," but I'll definitely throw in my two cents' worth. I believe that this was another stellar creation by Stephen King. If you are posting your reviews on this novella based on the movie, DON'T. The movie mangled the novella's original plot, especially the end, so I highly advise everyone considering The Mist to stick to the book.

    Anyway, I think that this is a great treat for anyone who is into Sci-Fi and apocalyptic reads. Yeah, it's a bit unrealistic, but when are King's works ever? Overall it's a good novella to read; it'll take fast readers less than a day. I recommend it for a rainy day and a mug of cocoa. All that I'm asking is please. please, don't bash the written work because of the movie! 

    If this is your first Stephen King book, keep in mind that his actual novels tend to be much, much longer. They're all amazing, of course, but if you tend to have a short attention span then you should probably steer clear of these titles: Under the Dome and 11/22/63. They're good books, but for those who prefer not to tackle novels with 1,000+ pages it tends to drag. Don't give up faith on King, though. He's got plenty of short novels for you.

    Overall, I recommend this book, to die-hard King lovers and horror newbies alike.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Lolwut

    Seriously, what is Steven's deal with spiders?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good story

    Nothing like the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great boo!

    The movie and the book are so similar and the movie was amazing. The only differance is the ending and the movies ending was much better. But the book is still very good and i would recommened this book to any stephan king fan or someone who is just looking for a good scary book. Definatly read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Good

    This is a really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Shiningstar

    Welcome to mistclan! My name is shiningstar and im so very glad that you decided to join! Bios are in the next result and if you want to be deputy or medcat please say so in your bio. He results will be titled soono if not already. See you around the camp!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Good book

    Really good short book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    My mom read the first book that Stephen King wrote (which is the book Carrie) and said it was awesome. So I looked around and found this book. I read the free sample, but it wasn't enough. So I got the book and read it, and it was AWESOME! I like it when the monsters come out at night and when David goes out into the Pharmacy next door and there were spiders insteead of humans there. I recommend this book to people who want a thrill or who want a quick short story. Watch the movie as well. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14