Customer Reviews for

Mist

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start on a series. Kind of a short read but good.

Good start on a series. Kind of a short read but good.

posted by Gnu on July 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

There was no sex and not a lot of romance. Leaves too much to the imagination. That was a lot of reading with limited excitement. I hope ..#2 is better.

posted by Readit_57 on August 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you're a fan of Norse mythology and looking for something





    If you're a fan of Norse mythology and looking for something to read, the first book in Susan Krinard's new urban fantasy series may be just what you need. MIST is an adult novel, so I wouldn't recommend it to a kid looking for a Percy Jackson-esque story (And for that, we have Rick Riordan's own Norse mythology series due out in 2015 anyway!).




    Mist was one of three Valkyrie to escape her dying world during Ragnarok. She escaped to our world and no longer holds the same beliefs she once did. She never ages, and has lived through unspeakable horrors such as the Holocaust. One day on her way home from working out, she stumbles into an angry Jotunar (frost giant) and Alfar (elf). She realizes that Ragnarok never happened. Loki is back, seeking Odin's Gungnir, which is in Mist's possession. The only problem? Loki was also disguising himself as Mist's boyfriend of the last six months. The jig up, Loki steals Gungnir and runs. It's up to Mist and the all-knowing Alfar Dainn to follow Freja's will from beyond and save Midgard before Loki brings the real Ragnarok down and destroys our world.




    There's a lot of Norse mythology going on here. I'm not as familiar with Norse as I am other mythologies, though I wish I knew more. The book was rich with this information, and brought in many types of creatures and gods. There's so much more to Mist than what meets the eye, and she learns a lot about herself that was kept hidden from her over the centuries, information that changes everything. Her love interest, Dainn, knows more than he shares with her, and at first, he's dislikable, but once readers get a glimpse through his eyes, he becomes more endearing. I also sort of envisioned him as Legolas. Sorry, Orlando Bloom. There's so much world-building going on in MIST, and at times, I question the rhyme and reason of things, but I'm hoping these matters become more fleshed out in future books. MIST is still a great fantasy novel for fans of Norse mythology or those looking to learn more about it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Not bad

    There was no sex and not a lot of romance. Leaves too much to the imagination. That was a lot of reading with limited excitement. I hope ..#2 is better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
    *eARC received from Netgalley via Tor in exchange for an honest review
       -Actual rating - 3.5 Skulls

    This review is going to be a bit hard for me to write, because while there were things that I loved about this book, there were things that
    are stopping me from giving it a higher rating as well. I'll try to break it down the best I can though...

    Overall, Mist was a really cool concept - Valkyrie sent to earth with her sisters and several powerful & mystical artifacts during Ragnarok
    (the battle of good vs. evil between the Norse Gods), then forced into living a 'normal' life after she loses her sisters and assumes
    Ragnarok was lost by her side and everyone but she and a few others were locked away in another dimension. The problem... Ragnarok
    really never ended, the end is still coming, and Mist's 'normal' life is completely turned upside down when she finds this out the hard way
    by being attacked by a creature she never thought she'd see again, and learning that everything she believed in recently had been a lie.
    Unfortunately, to properly set all of that up in a debut novel, there was a significant amount of set up involved, so it started a bit slow for
    me honestly. The book also requires a decent amount of Norse Mythology knowledge and/or research for pronunciation and proper
    understanding of several things, so that slowed me down a little as well and didn't allow me to get lost in the story as I wanted to. 

    The characters and story were strongly developed though, and like any good series debut, their introductions were both positive and
    negative allowing for further growth and development and the building of the reader/character relationship. The action also had major
    potential - Mist is a strong heroine, her newfound allies are also strong and interesting, and the action sequences both grabbed your
    attention and surprised with secrets being revealed in the middle of a battle and then later established upon.

    Basically, I feel that this series has a lot of potential once readers establish themselves in the mythology that the book is based on,
    develop relationships with the characters, and obtain a better grasp on where things are headed. I'm personally excited to see where
    Susan can take things because I think it could be a real treat to follow Mist and her crew through a few books in their struggles, triumphs,
    etc. 

    I definitely recommend this book to Urban Fantasy readers who have a love for Norse mythology; the book is steeped in it, and it's quite
    fascinating. Overall, I'm looking forward to future books of the series now that the baseline is established. :) 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Good start on a series. Kind of a short read but good.

    Good start on a series. Kind of a short read but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Sterlingkit

    What clan is this? And can i join?
    Age; 4 moons. Pelt color; tanish-white. Gender;female. Eye color;pale blue. Rank; kit. Personality; VERY creative.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    History Collides with Modern Day Fantasy I would have rated th

    History Collides with Modern Day Fantasy


    I would have rated this book about 3.7 stars, but due to a mixture of typographical errors that shouldn't have made it into the final publication, and the overwhelming amount of Norse mythology without a reference guide anywhere in the book, I am forced to rate it 3 stars on almost all public review sites


    <blockquote><em>New York Times</em> bestselling author Susan Krinard launches her first urban fantasy series.

    Centuries ago, all was lost in the Last Battle when the Norse gods and goddesses went to war. The elves, the giants, and the gods and goddesses themselves were all destroyed, leaving the Valkyrie Mist one of the only survivors.

    Or so she thought.

    When a snowy winter descends upon modern-day San Francisco in June, Mist’s quiet existence starts to feel all too familiar. In quick succession, Mist is attacked by a frost giant in a public park and runs into an elf disguised as a homeless person on the streets…and then the man Mist believed was her mortal boyfriend reveals himself to be the trickster god, Loki, alive and well after all these years.

    Loki has big plans for the modern world, and he’s been hanging around Mist for access to a staff that once belonged to the great god Odin. Mist is certain of one thing: Loki must be stopped if there is to be any hope for Earth. But the fight is even bigger than she knows….

    Because Loki wasn’t the only god to survive.</blockquote>



    Ms. Krinard is certainly not tentatively testing the waters of urban fantasy with this book - she is diving in head-first. And what a dive it is, leading us into a book full of interesting characters, rollicking fights, mind-blowing magic (sometimes literally), all led by a take-no-prisoners style heroine. If you don't know your Norse mythology, be prepared for a crash course, as you'll need it when the groundwork is being laid and when the story moves forward. 

    Mist is a complicated character, a Valkyrie stuck walking the earth longer than can be imagined, bearing guilt over a choice she made, which influenced some of her Sister Valkyries, only to later learn just how widespread the ramifications of her choice were. She even lost some beloved Sisters because they followed her lead, or so she believes.

    She has seen the best and worst of mankind, but still she feels attached to  Midgard, the realm she and her Sisters had been banished to at the start of the Last Battle. Once mortal, she still longs for love, sex, companionship. However this is mostly denied to her as she appears to never age, and most of the men of Midgard (Earth) don't appreciate a strong woman. So when she learns she's been played by Loki she is enraged. But even that takes a second seat to her shock, for she learns of the betrayal from an Alfar (elf). But they were supposed to have all died in the Last Battle, the one which killed Odin and all the Aesir, the one that left the Valkyrie stranded, alone, and guarding weapons for Gods that would never rise again.

    Thus begins Mist's education about what really happened. Well, at least as much the Alfar Dainn can recall. He is working for one of the Gods on their side, which is one reason he was attacked by a frost giant, one that Mist ended up scaring away. Though she later learns the frost giant was simply a distraction to allow Loki to circle back to Mist's loft to steal Gungnir. Gungnir, Odin's magical spear that never misses its target, the spear that had entrusted to Mist to guard with her life. The very same spear that Loki now had in his possession. Thus begins of the real Last Battle, the battle for the ownership of Midgard.

    Mist is one heck of a resilient character. But it seems her downfall may be her feelings for the people of Midgard. Even after witnessing all the atrocities they put each other through, she still has faith in their innate goodness. One of the more recent atrocities was the Nazi invasion, a event which left a lasting impression on Mist and her Sisters. So much so that it was the last time Mist saw any of her Sisters. And that means the race is on, for both Loki and Mist want to reach all the Valkyrie first, in order to gain possession of, or safeguard, the weapons entrusted to each of the Sisters. Mist knows it is crucial to gather and protect those weapons until Odin and the others can find more bridges into Midgard, bridges like those Loki used. For if Loki gets his hands on those weapons before the Aesir get to Midgard the game is over, this time forever.

    In addition to all this Dainn is teaching Mist to access her inner abilities, for she is no mere mortal as she'd always been told. Yet she's smart enough to initially understand that she isn't being taught out of love. But with all the truth and lies she's being bombarded with, will she be able to separate fact from fiction before it's too late? And will she catch on to the fact that her role in this war is likely to be far larger that she anticipates? Who is really her friend, and who is her foe? Will her Sisters ever forgive her for her prior error, or will they string her along and then drop her just when she needs them most? So many questions, and this is only the end of the first book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Stupid role playing

    Seriously?!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    blackfangs bio

    name-blackfang
    age-ask and there shall be consequences.
    rank-warrior (appartetly i might be deputy though...)
    personality- meet me!
    appearence- has black fur and blue eyes.
    other cats i rp- tigerstar of snakeclan.
    anything else just ask me!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Goldenpaw

    •Name Goldenpaw
    •Age 7 moons
    •Look light golden fur with darker golden stripes dark gree eyes
    •Crush None (yet)
    •Mate None, Obviously
    •Rank Apprentice (will be a warrior on december 13)
    •Life Story
    I was an outcast in my clan because they found me at their border. When I was six moons, they warily made me an apprentice. They had an elder teaching me. It was supposed to be a punishment for me, but it was like a punishment for the elder. My original name was Uglypaw, and his name was Goldenfeather. When he died, I ran away because I knew the clan was about to turn around and blame me. I changed my name to Goldenpaw. I lived a moon trekking over various clans territories. Then I came here because I though I would try again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Tigerfrost

    Ginger tabby shecat with blue eyes. An older warrior, at 32 moons ( well not that old really) never has had a mate. Feirce, corageous, fast and clever, she is a amazeing warrior. ~ #TIGerFrosT

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Bios

    G

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Lionclaw

    Nods back smiling

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    I loved it

    Drkmoo

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Snowpelt

    A pure white she cat with black ears, paws, and tail tip. Has forest green eyes and a loveing heart. But is pretty feirce when it comes to battle.

    all she wants out of a mate is a strong, brave and kind warrior. No evil what-so-ever. And an active one at that. Looks of the tom can be anything but brown or orange.

    As for kits she only wants two. Need rps for them too. Well, i geuss thats it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Animals

    I can make one for humans but we need more cats so i can find cats mates can you post about it

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Lynxclaw

    &#9828 Lynxclaw &#9828 &#9818 Male &#9818 &#9828 Sunclan &#9828 &#9818 Cream colored tom with a white spot on his left eye &#9818 &#9828 Is a feirce warrior in battle. I want a loving caring mate &#9828 &#9828 I want like 2-3 kits &#9828 &#9818 Thanks for reading &#9818

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1