Customer Reviews for

Mistborn

Average Rating 4.5
( 887 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(615)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

a terrific coming of age epic fantasy t

The immortal Lord Ruler has brutally dominated the Great Houses for over a millennium. The ash that is everywhere symbolizes his Final Empire rule the lack of flowers anywhere represents the lack of hope. No one, purebred Skaa, hybrids, or otherwise, dares even think...
The immortal Lord Ruler has brutally dominated the Great Houses for over a millennium. The ash that is everywhere symbolizes his Final Empire rule the lack of flowers anywhere represents the lack of hope. No one, purebred Skaa, hybrids, or otherwise, dares even think of rebellion in this vile wasteland if they want to survive another day out side the evil dungeons.-------------- That is none until a half-breed common thief Kelsier survives the ordeal of Lord Ruler¿s imprisonment by losing his mind. He begins to ¿develop¿ super skills that enable him to do the impossible. The thief plans to end the evil regime by overthrowing initially the sycophantic cowardly nobles and culminating with the death of the Lord Ruler. His charisma obtains followers, but his big break occurs when Kelsier meets Skaa street waif Vin, who has the same Mistborn powers that Kelsier learned to use in the torture chambers. Kelsier arranges for Vin to go undercover within the nobles¿ Great Houses. However, the rebel leader fails to comprehend emotions as his female mole falls in love with Prince Elend Venture.-------------- MISTBORN, the first book of the Final Empire series, is a terrific coming of age epic fantasy that uses a what if premise in which the Dark Lord killed the good guy hero (the Hobbit or Beowulf loses to the evil adversary), which leads to a fabulous world in which evil rules absolutely evilly. Vin holds much of the plot together, but Kelsier is the more fascinating character as a Hans Solo type in fantasy land. The Lord Ruler is out of Tolkien 101, but that is to be expected as the regime the malevolent one built pays homage to the foul sides of The Lord of the Rings.--------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great ideas poorly executed

I really wanted to like this book and had high expectations after reading all the great reviews. I now cannot fathom its popularity. The book has an interesting premise, an interesting magical system, seemingly lots of good things going for it, but the writing is sub-pa...
I really wanted to like this book and had high expectations after reading all the great reviews. I now cannot fathom its popularity. The book has an interesting premise, an interesting magical system, seemingly lots of good things going for it, but the writing is sub-par. It's like talking to someone with a bad stutter or facial tick: it isn't like you can't do it, but it is a constant distraction from the conversation. The same goes with Sanderson's writing. Kelsier smiled; his eyes twinkled - every couple pages repeats this odd characterization at completely inappropriate times, and it continuously drew me out of the narrative. Everything is laid out in uninteresting detail, leaving little to the reader's imagination - the writing is not the least bit evocative and, as mentioned, is highly repetitive. If you can overlook these flaws, perhaps there is something worthwhile in the series, but I could not get far enough to find it.

posted by 2566941 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Not Bad...

    Interesting idea in fantasy. I was first turned on to Brandon Sanderson by his completion of the second to last book of the Wheel of Time Series. I actually prefer his writing to that of the series creator and author. That said, Mistborn explores fairly simple concepts and doesn't really develop characters or the fantasy environment as deeply as others I've read. A good light read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    ???

    Can someone PLEASE give me a summaey of the book? I read all of these reviews, and i wantvto knovwhat to expect when i buy it, cause if it doesn't have a review, me no read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Pretty Good

    This is a good book. Sanderson did a good job with the characters and the ending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Fun read

    Good for a quick, no-hassle read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Not as good as The Way of Kings, but....

    ....still a good read. Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    A great but difficult read. It's a grifficult read.

    This book is called "Mistborn: The Final Empire" written by Brandon Sanderson. I really enjoyed reading this book because it is a fantasy book and it is really addictive. Although I loved reading the content of this book, it is a very difficult read. It commonly uses lots of really big words and it is kind of confusing at some points and so you have to re-look over it a few times just to get the meaning of it. The book is a great read because it has a lot of action in it and fighting and lots of really adrenaline pumping parts in it that you just can't put the book down because you just have to see what happens next and that is during pretty much the whole book! I also enjoyed the book because it has a variety of all sorts of characters like big, small, male, female, skinny, and chubby characters and how I know this is because the author describes the characters extremely well and with so much detail that if you close your eyes you can see the character that has been described so well, it's like they are standing right in front of you. The author describes things extremely well and he doesn't leave out any details, but sometimes he over does it. In some parts of the book he spends way to much time describing the object that is being portrayed, that the reader gets bored because of how long he describes one object. He is good at describing, but over does it. But, other than that, the author wrote everything just perfectly. I especially liked that way that he wrote out the battle scenes. He did such an amazing job describing that battles that you feel like you are there. He describes what is happening to the characters and how it happened to them with great effect. He also did a great job with pronunciation. He wrote the perfect words for what was needed to be said by the character in the time of the event. He is an amazing author and he has a great way of portraying the words written down into images in your head. It is absolutely amazing how he can thing of what needs to be said in that exact moment and how he can thing of the events that have to happen in order for the book to make sense! It makes it so much easier to read the book when it makes sense and he does a great job of doing so.
    I loved the way that the author chose what to use and why he used it in this fantasy book. The ideas that he had to make this book were unreal! He did such a great job finding the theme, the style of writing, the types of fantasy objects, the magic, the names of the magic powers, and the names of everything that made this book as amazing as it is! The author is amazing!
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books, who likes a harder read, or for anyone who likes adrenaline pumping, heart racing action. That's all that I have to say about this amazing book "Mistborn: The Final Empire."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mistborn

    I did like this book and I will read the next in the series, but not right away. I found some of the fight scenes rather tedious. The pulling/pushing got to be very boring, and although I understand the need, to a point, of including it, I got really tired of it. Other than that, the characters were very believable and interesting and the story line was original enough to keep me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Did not meet all of my expectations

    I've recenltly begun reading science fiction novels (via Terry Brooks) and was looking for a similar adventure read. This book was definately an adventure but it was lacking substance in my opinion. The book was definately good enough to finish, but I could not help wanting more. The action seens were not what I was expecting and although the Inquisotors were very interesting, I think they were the most interesting characters in the whole book. I guess I'm not all the way Sci-Fi, yet. Not sure. All in all it kept me entertained. I don't think I'll read the next two, however.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3