Customer Reviews for

Mistborn

Average Rating 4.5
( 904 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(627)

4 Star

(203)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

a terrific coming of age epic fantasy t

The immortal Lord Ruler has brutally dominated the Great Houses for over a millennium. The ash that is everywhere symbolizes his Final Empire rule the lack of flowers anywhere represents the lack of hope. No one, purebred Skaa, hybrids, or otherwise, dares even think...
The immortal Lord Ruler has brutally dominated the Great Houses for over a millennium. The ash that is everywhere symbolizes his Final Empire rule the lack of flowers anywhere represents the lack of hope. No one, purebred Skaa, hybrids, or otherwise, dares even think of rebellion in this vile wasteland if they want to survive another day out side the evil dungeons.-------------- That is none until a half-breed common thief Kelsier survives the ordeal of Lord Ruler¿s imprisonment by losing his mind. He begins to ¿develop¿ super skills that enable him to do the impossible. The thief plans to end the evil regime by overthrowing initially the sycophantic cowardly nobles and culminating with the death of the Lord Ruler. His charisma obtains followers, but his big break occurs when Kelsier meets Skaa street waif Vin, who has the same Mistborn powers that Kelsier learned to use in the torture chambers. Kelsier arranges for Vin to go undercover within the nobles¿ Great Houses. However, the rebel leader fails to comprehend emotions as his female mole falls in love with Prince Elend Venture.-------------- MISTBORN, the first book of the Final Empire series, is a terrific coming of age epic fantasy that uses a what if premise in which the Dark Lord killed the good guy hero (the Hobbit or Beowulf loses to the evil adversary), which leads to a fabulous world in which evil rules absolutely evilly. Vin holds much of the plot together, but Kelsier is the more fascinating character as a Hans Solo type in fantasy land. The Lord Ruler is out of Tolkien 101, but that is to be expected as the regime the malevolent one built pays homage to the foul sides of The Lord of the Rings.--------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Great ideas poorly executed

I really wanted to like this book and had high expectations after reading all the great reviews. I now cannot fathom its popularity. The book has an interesting premise, an interesting magical system, seemingly lots of good things going for it, but the writing is sub-pa...
I really wanted to like this book and had high expectations after reading all the great reviews. I now cannot fathom its popularity. The book has an interesting premise, an interesting magical system, seemingly lots of good things going for it, but the writing is sub-par. It's like talking to someone with a bad stutter or facial tick: it isn't like you can't do it, but it is a constant distraction from the conversation. The same goes with Sanderson's writing. Kelsier smiled; his eyes twinkled - every couple pages repeats this odd characterization at completely inappropriate times, and it continuously drew me out of the narrative. Everything is laid out in uninteresting detail, leaving little to the reader's imagination - the writing is not the least bit evocative and, as mentioned, is highly repetitive. If you can overlook these flaws, perhaps there is something worthwhile in the series, but I could not get far enough to find it.

posted by 2566941 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging book -- semi-cliffhangerish ending

    I loved the book.

    Especially the world, which is even better than the roller-coaster plot. The magic system is well thought out, consistent, and gives rise to amazing fight-sequences. Delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Very Nice

    Learned about Sanderson due to him being pegged to write the final Wheel of Time book following Robert Jordan's death. I was already impressed with his first book, Elantris, so I picked this one up. I think I like this young writer - not your same old, same old sci-fi or fantasy writing. Definitely recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong first novel to a exciting Fantasy series

    Brandon Sanderson's novel Mistborn is a well written fantasy novel that concludes with a real ending. He is still full of idea that seem fresh and not just recycling old ideas. The writing style is solid with characterization and plotting, more on the sparse side. The world has been in a holding pattern for a thousand years and then a young girl names Vin is recruited by a band of freedom fighters/thieves. Eventually it comes to saving the world or a least changing it for better because they have a plan.

    I will be reading the second novel in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Slow start,but a good book/series

    Book starts of slow but overall an interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I was very happy with this book. I read it on the suggestion of

    I was very happy with this book. I read it on the suggestion of several friends. The characters were well developed, as was the world. What gest me happy about this book though, is that it is my favorite type of story, heroic epic. The main character, vin, starts off as a nobody, unaware of her own power. She gains a mentor as well as new friends, and starts a journey of self discovery while trying to save the world. So, I'm probably going to buy the rest of the triology and have at it. This is a book I'd recommend to every fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Not the best Sanderson book in my view, but still loads of fun t

    Not the best Sanderson book in my view, but still loads of fun to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great

    To me it was a bit tough to get past the first tow or three chapters, but afterwards it was amazin. Sanderson has great imagination, and the book is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I have a major thing for good world-building and this book is on

    I have a major thing for good world-building and this book is on every world-building list. Then I read that it uses a completely unique system of magic so I had to check it out. These elements are indeed outstanding and central to the story. The plot was essentially a fantasy heist. I enjoy scheming and epic battles, but at times the pacing of the plot was inconsistent. Sanderson really plodded through the details of some mundane elements, while rushing through other fascinating things. For instance, we hear a tremendous amount about the decor of noble houses, but when the main character strikes a major stronghold of The Lord Ruler we are told very little and shown even less. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. I would highly recommend it to fantasy book lovers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    It is rare to find a fantasy writer with a unique idea

    I first heard of Brandon Sanderson because he was picked up to finish the works of Robert Jordon. If he is good enough for that then I should look as his other works. This is the first book I have purchased from this author that was his own creation. What I found most refreshing is how original his concept was for his form of magic, the twist plots and how he finishes the story. There are few books that when I start to read them I cannot wait to get back to that book and read some more. This was one such book. While BS may not be the best writer in the world, he is a good storyteller. I am going back for the other two books in the series and some more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    What a fantastic world that Sanderson has created! I love magic

    What a fantastic world that Sanderson has created! I love magic that has rules, and this definitely lives up to that. The main character is beautifully written: she has ups, downs, and times where she finds out who she really is. A great book! HOWEVER, I did not enjoy the second book. Too much internal thinking and not enough action- too slow for my taste. Because of this, I am ending the series here and not continuing to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A must read

    Brandon Sanderson did an awesome job on this one. The setting is very unusual, the magic like nothing you've ever read about before. The main characters are well developed, while the secondary characters are fleshed enough to be believable.

    The plot is mostly predictable once you get the lay of the land, but the twists and surprises on just how you arrive at the end you saw coming keep it entertaining. The book is obviously part of a series however, and leaves dangling loose ends. If you are looking for a stand-alone book, it might not be for you.

    I for one, am looking forward to reading the next one in the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Good story overall.

    Creative magic system. Likeable characters. Some parts felt rished, and somewhat unreal ending. Overall though, the book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    pretty good

    sometimes the story moves slowly, but the characters are pretty good and the ideas are different. All in all, worth a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Entertaing

    I enjoyed the book enough to continue reading the series, but it isn't one I would exactly gush about. The protagonist, Vin, is a character I quickly grew to care about, as are the various people she encounters. However, Sanderson falls just short of delivering on a sense of history to the world he has created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Strong Female Character, magic, and mayhem

    This is an excellent read for anyone over the age of ten or so, especially teenage girls who want a hero they can relate to. Sanderson's description of violence does get graphic from time to time, so I wouldn't recommend this to anyone under 13.

    I would definitely read this in conjunction with the rest of the Mistborn Trilogy; The Well of Ascension and The Hero of Ages are both excellent as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great book

    Starts off slow but awesome book full of surpises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Super & entertaining!

    The characters are surreal and the story riveting! I enjoyed this book, very fresh and original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Very good read

    Nice blend of realistic human experience and fantasy super powers. Book 2 Well of Acension was good too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Great Read

    This was a great read. I really enjoyed Mr. Sanderson's work. It was a page turner. I am not someone that reads fantasy very often. However, this series promises to be a real treat. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 203 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11