BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mister Seahorse

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Great book

    I bought this book this summer for my under the sea theme. I am a pre-school teacher and Eric Carle is one of my favorite authors. This is absolutly one of his best. It is not only beautifully writen and illustrated but it is very informative. I learned right along with my children about how the male species of many under the water creatures help take care of their young. I would recommend this book to everyone!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great children's book - excellent illustrations and a lovely story. Recommend for children 3+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Excellent addition to your Eric Carle collection

    This is a particularly interesting book since the male seahorse produces the babies instead of the female. Typical colorful Eric Carle illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    2gd book review

    Mr.Seahorse is babby sitting Mrs.seahorses eggs.my favorite part was whenh he passes all the fish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    Mister Seahorse

    Eric Carle's Mister Seahorse tells about males that care for their babies/eggs. This story follows Mister Seahorse as he carries his eggs and journeys through the water. He runs into many other fish where the male has a larger role in caring for their young. Along the way, he passes sea animals that are also camouflaged, which are revealed when the transparency is turned to show the actual fish/animal. I find this to be a very interesting story that shares facts about the sea animals that children may not already know. It opens the door, so to speak, for children to learn more about sea animals, their habitats, and different defense mechanisms the sea animals use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Mister Seahorse

    Mister Seahorse is an excellent easy read with an enlightening story. The text is arranged in paragraph form that incorporates easy to read dialogue with repetition. The author uses repetition of events and text in two ways. One way repetition is used, the father seahorse meets other sea animals that are fathers with their young. Another way of repetition used is with knowing that mister seahorse is going to meet a sea animal that is hiding behind something. The repetition used moves the reader to the next page because the text has the reader wondering what is hiding on the next page. The front cover has a seahorse that is the main character of the book. Eric Carle¿s illustrations are outstanding. He makes collage-like illustrations out of painted tissue paper. The illustrations are beautiful, however the book needs the text to understand the meaning of the book. The two illustrations that are the most effective in developing the story are when mister seahorse is given his young to carry and when mister seahorse¿s young hatch and the baby seahorses are sent into the big sea to live on their own. The character trait of a caring father is established through the text and illustrations. I think most children can identify mister seahorse and the other ¿father¿ sea animals taking care of their young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Informative.....

    My 6 year old daughter picked this book from the library, not knowing that she already read a book by the same author (Eric Carle), House for a Hermit Crab. Although (like me) she doesn't find the illustrations too appealing, she enjoys the story. After reading the book, she told me that she never thought there were fathers who actually took care of their children more than the mothers would take care of their babies. After reading 2 books from this author, my daughter likes to read more Eric Carle books... not because of the illustrations, but because of the wonderful stories. Now, she wants to read The Very Busy Spider. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    I never knew Mister Seahorse was a great book

    Mister seahorse is a frindly fish and one day he actually becomes a dad . so buy the book Mister Seahorse and see whats inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    This book is kind of useless - parents like it but kids...?

    This book has limited reread potential, my daughter sat through it the first time around but never wanted to read it agian. The artwork is interesting but in a washed out watercolor kind of way, not really something children can get caught up in, more something that adults would think nice. She much prefers stories that entertain. If you are wanting a story about what male fish that raise their young themselves do, perhaps, although it is not really scientific. Perhaps if your a single father it might be of some use. It is better gotten from the library read once and then brought back for someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Excellent Christmas gift!!!

    I got this book as a present for Christmas. It is beautiful. Eric Carle's imagination blows my mind and his watercolor pictures are full of cretivity. This is a perfect book to learn about the male fishes that take care of their baby eggs. Children will love learning, having fun reading and looking at great pictures. Make sure your children read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Wonderful Teaching Aid

    I used this book when instructing a unit on fish. It was a great way to teach camflauge and had wonderful pictures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    ERIC CARLE BOTH ENCHANTS AND ILLUMINATES

    We first met Eric Carle through the pages of The Hungry Caterpillar, and we've been devoted fans from that day to this. As an author/illustrator his enthusiasm and imagination never ebb as he again fashions collage illustrations that catch and hold our eyes. Seahorse is one more achievement. Basing his witty and informative tale on fact young readers are introduced to Mr. Seahorse, a fish father who looks after his young. It is, of course, Mrs. Seahorse who lays the eggs, right in Mr. Seahorse's pouch. Mr. Seahorse is not the only fish father (we might think of him as a house husband) in his watery world - there's also Mr. Bullhead, Mr. Pipe, and Mr. Kurtus. As always, Eric Carle both enchants and illuminates. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Good 'DADDY' Story

    Your kids will learn seahorses, and some other sea creatures, are amazing daddies in this excellent read-aloud. I'm a big fan of Carle's unique collage illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1