Customer Reviews for

Mistletoe Cowboy

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JoAnne Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by JoAnne
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This is book 5 in Brown’s Spikes and Spurs series and I’m happy to say there are more books on the horizon. Not having read books 1 through 4,  I will definitely have to go back and read them since I couldn’t put this one down. I was hooked from the first page to the last and didn’t want the book to end!

    This was a western romance set mainly in Texas but parts of the story took place in Pennsylvania. There’s a hunky cowboy, a granddaughter who comes home to save their family ranch and a feisty grandma to boot. What’s not to like since there was immediate chemistry between the cowboy, Creed, and the granddaughter, Sage, although they fought it as much as possible until they each realized what they were feeling. They were also very supportive of each other, even though they had just met, and tended to help each other whenever possible.

    The descriptions of the blizzard, the ranch, Sage’s paintings, the newly found pets and their kittens and puppies were so well described I felt I was there. Feeling the cold and wind, sinking into the snow when having to go out to take care of the ranch animals, and feeling the warmth of the fire transported me. The story and characters were well developed. There was laughter, tears, angst, sorrow, happiness, fighting and then making up along with romance and love. There was also nice closure with several happily ever afters and I’m happy to know I’ll be reunited with the characters in future books.

    If you haven’t read books by Brown before, give her a try. You’ll be glad you did. She’s definitely going to be one of my new favorite authors and her books will be added to my ever increasing TBR pile!


    Favorite Quote:  “I heard her voice again, Creed, and she’s fine.”
    Creed pulled her to his chest and tipped her chin up with his fist. “Why wouldn’t she be? She’s doing exactly what she wants to do.” All the air left Sage’s lungs. She wanted her grandmother to come home and never leave again, but after only three days she didn’t want Creed to leave either. She wanted him to kiss her. She wanted to snuggle into his arms and listen to him describe her paintings to her. She couldn’t have it all and she only had until Christmas to decide what she wanted most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Must read!

    Stuck in a snow storm with handsome, hunky, Cowboy Riley!
    Yes, ma'am!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    sage fights her way througha snostorm to her grandmothers ranch

    sage fights her way througha snostorm to her grandmothers ranch only to find cree living there. she discovers that he is buyiing the ranch. one condition: sage gets to live on the ranch as long as she wants, even if he buys it! sparks fly, then sparks fly. a christmas story meant to please and it surely does!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzling Christmas Read

    Before we know it Christmas will be here and a great way to get into the spirit of the season is by reading author Carolyn Brown’s latest release, MISTLETOE COWBOY. Brown has a unique way of mixing a sexy cowboy, a spitfire artist, a blizzard, some Christmas magic, and a meddling grandmother for a rip-roaring good time. This story has steamy romance and a touch of old-fashion Christmas. Sage Presley barely makes it home to the Rockin C Ranch before everything is cut off by a blizzard. She can’t believe her grandmother has agreed to sell the ranch to some cowboy. She’s determined to talk her out of it. But Sage doesn’t know her Grand has already left Texas early to visit her sister in Pennsylvania. Creed Riley can’t believe his good fortune when Ada Presley agreed to sell him her ranch at a bargain. The only catch was he had to let her granddaughter live on the ranch for as long as she wants. Creed doesn’t see a problem with her living on the back forty. That is until he meets the granddaughter. Thrown together by a desire for the ranch and a blizzard, sparks begin to fly between the snowbound couple. When you add in the world’s ugliest dog, a mama cat with kittens and Christmas preparations you’ll be laughing out loud. Brown’s characters are well-developed and well-rounded. They are realistic making you wish you lived next door to them despite their flaws. She combines family, traditions, love, and friendship into a heartwarming Christmas story. She also has a way of blending wholesome family fun with tantalizing sexual tension. MISTLETOE COWBOY is a sizzling quick read that is guaranteed to leave you feeling toasty. Part of Brown’s Spikes and Spurs series, this is a stand alone read. References are made to characters from other installments in the series, but new readers aren’t left in the dark. Cowboys, Christmas, love, mistletoe and lots of humor - a great combination for a steamy read you won’t be able to put down. FTC Full Disclosure - An eBook copy of this book was sent to me by the author in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cowboy & Mistletoe a perfect combination

    Mistletoe Cowboy is the first book by Carolyn Brown I’ve read. It will definitely not be the last one. I loved this book. In fact at times, I found it to be very funny. Hopefully, I was supposed to be laughing. Ada Presley, Sage’s grandmother, and her Aunt Essie, Ada’s older sister, are so funny when they’re together.

    Mistletoe Cowboy is the story of Sage Presley and Creed Riley. While this book is a part of a series, it is completely stand alone. In fact, I didn't realize it was part of a series until I was looking up information on the author. Sage is a woman who doesn't want to commit herself to anyone or have anyone commit to her. She has a problem with people leaving her. Her father died when she was two and her mother died two years later. Sage was raised by her grandmother on the Rockin' C Ranch. Creed Riley on the other hand is from a very big family. He is one of seven boys. For Creed, ranching and farming is all he knows. He wants to own his own ranch apart from his family, not that he isn't close to his family. Creed is very much a family man.

    With the help of a couple of stray animals in need of food and a warm place to stay, and some magically appearing mistletoe, Sage slowly but surely changes her outlook on things.

    Ada Presley decides that she needs to move to Pennsylvania to take care of her older sister, Essie. She feels it is now time to force Sage to stand on her own two feet. When Creed first stepped on the porch of Rockin' C, Ada knew he was the man to buy, run, and own the ranch; and also the man for her precious granddaughter.

    A snow storm bigger than what has appeared in the canyon in years, forces Creed and Sage to spend a week alone together with no electricity. What happens seems to be almost magical. Part of the agreement with Ada is that Creed has to spend three weeks at the ranch before he can buy it. Creed has to also agree to let Sage stay on the ranch for as long as she wants to.

    One thing that struck me about this book was that I felt like I could actually hear the characters’ voices and the way they sounded.

    Two people who didn't want anything serious suddenly realize they do and they aren't exactly sure how to handle their feelings. One of which who doesn't really want to admit it.

    To paraphrase a couple of lines from the book, "The past is gone. The future is just a dot on the horizon. Today is all we have.".

    Mistletoe Cowboy is a wonderful story. I am looking forward to reading more books by Mrs. Brown.

    Source: NetGalley

    Reviewed for: Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Mistletoe Cowboy by Carolyn Brown 4 STARS Mistletoe Cowboy is t

    Mistletoe Cowboy by Carolyn Brown
    4 STARS
    Mistletoe Cowboy is the 5th book of the Spikes & Spurs series.
    I like the plot line but too many love scenes and details for me. I skipped over a lot of scenes. Cute animals will still your heart.
    Creed Riley has the chance to buy the Rockin' C Ranch cheaply but first thier are some conditions set by Gran Presely.
    1.He has to stay at the ranch for 3 weeks taking care of the animals, while she is going to take care of her older sister. If the animals are not well taken care of she can cancel the sale.
    2.Her grandaughter Sage can live on the ranch her whole life if she wants to.
    3. Either party can cancel the deal after the three week period is over if they want.
    Creed agreed he felt right at home when he first got thier at the ranch.
    Sage is an artist who was raised by her Grandma after her parents died when she was around 5. She can't believe her Gran wants to sale the ranch. She is going to talk her out of it.
    Sage just makes it home to the ranch before the roads are closed because of bad snow storm. It does take the power out at the ranch and trap them together. Sage finds her Gran has already left the ranch before she got thier and Creed was thier to take care of the animals.
    Sage has never wanted to have pets. She is afraid that everyone she loves will leave her like her parents and grandfather have. Someone has dropped off a ugly dog who is having puppies soon and a cat that is going to have a litter of kittens. The dog and cat get along really well.
    Sage & Creed start to get along really fast and hard for two scared of committment people.
    Thier is humor,Christmas traditions,romance,cute animals and family.
    I will read more from Carolyn in the near future. I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    10/02/2012 Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca 352 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Highley Recommend

    I loved it. I love all Carolyn Brown books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    I loved this one too


    Carolyn brown series rock

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1