Customer Reviews for

Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does a...
Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does actually contain a plot. There are some negatives, of course, the first of which is the length of the book itself--or, more accurately, the lack of length. At only 212 pages, this story is 100+ pages shorter than the other books in the series. It would have made much more sense to make MINSTRAL'S KISS another 10 chapters or so in the previous book, A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT, rather than a stand-alone book.

Also, the book only covers a few hours, from midnight until dawn following the assassination attempt on Merry's life that came about in A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT. I had noticed with the Anita Blake series that the time frames for each book were becoming shorter each time, and such now seems to be the case with this series, as well.

The sex doesn't bother me in this series, either, since the entire "background" of the main plot line is that Merry must become pregnant before her cousin Cel impregnates someone to take the throne. Although the first 70+ pages of MISTRAL'S KISS are a sex scene, with yet again multiple partners, it does actually make sense to the story.

My biggest complaint about the book, by far, is the fact that there is a major, major, MAJOR development at the end of the book that is only given a passing explanation. In less than two paragraphs, a huge event takes place, and yet Ms. Hamilton only devotes a few words to it--almost as an afterthought. Logically speaking, this should imply that the next book in the series will expound on that event, but if you've been following either of the author's series lately, you'd know by now that Ms. Hamilton doesn't always seem to write logically.

Overall, I did enjoy the story, much more so than the last Anita Blake novel. It won't take you long to read this (it took me less than two hours), and you won't see a whole lot of progression, but the editing is tighter with this book, and you'll definitely appreciate a dose of the faery world.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

let's finish it

I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there wa...
I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there was more to it. I'm looking forward to reading how this series is going to finish, hopefully it will get there soon

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What the...?

    I am not familiar with this writer and I didn't know that the book was part of a series but a good book even if it is part of a series stands alone. This book was not good. It didn't focus enough on the character Mistral, who I thought there would be more of in the story. It focused more on Meredith's unending effort to get pregnant. It didn't help me understand Meredith or her story as I think other books that I may have read in the middle of a seris may have for instance book 2 of the Dark Jewels Trilogy. That is what I mean by a book in a series being a good stand alone book. Simply this book sucked. I probably won't read any of her other writings. It gets no stars from me but Barnes and Noble requires at least a one star rating so that is what you will see. I actually want to push the author down hard in a puddle of mud for this book and if the other four were like it I probably need four more large muddy puddles.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Once Favorite author

    I started reading L K Hamilton's books in highschool, and she quickly became my favorite, up with Kalil Gibrian and Piers Anthony, etc... I stuck with her out of loyalty when the Anita series started to go down hill. I was downright mad that I had spent money on Micha, and this book is the perfect example of why I am so disapointed in her, not to mention no longer a fan. I feel bad for all the people I had sung her praises to, and all the people I actually got to read her... work. If you can call it that any longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Novel? Book? Short story pumped up?

    This book, was it a book? If felt like a short story beefed up to sell a hard cover book. I have liked the previous books as they had a story, a good beginning middle and end. This book just seemed like the same moment just extended way to long. I enjoy a good sex scene, but come on at least give a little plot to help ease down the same sex scene over and over. Save your money and wait for the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Don't Waste Your Time

    What a complete waste of my time. For those who want to know what happens, here it is: Goddess/God vision, fairie revelation, sex with 2 men, fairie revelation, fight, Goddess/God revelation, sex with 1 man (a shocking twist from Hamilton based upon her recent writings), fight, various beings lust after Merry mid-fight, fight continues, the gang goes back to LA. At the end of the book you realize that you've just read about a period of less than 24 hours. Just because the sex scenes last more than 3 chapters, they are not automatically good or even mediocre erotica. I'm sick of reading how big Merry's lovers are and how much she likes both pleasure and pain, depending on her mood. Just go get knocked up already and advance the overall story arc of the series. Hamilton has even managed to take the bite out of Queen Andais so there's not any interpersonal conflict. The men are all in angst over Merry to the point that I want to smack them and point out that celibacy has to be better than this mess of relationship issues. I gave up the Anita Blake series bacause the writing was getting worse every novel, but I held out hope for the Meredith Gentry series since it's longer between books. Maybe Hamilton is making an effort I thought. Well, I was wrong. Merry is now out of my series to keep track of. I'll reread the first 4 novels, which were good to decent, but it's going to take some glowing words from reviewers before I pick up any new Hamilton books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

    LKH is defiantly bad. In her contrary promise to her readers to be as bad as she wants to be, she succeeds with little effort. I do mean little effort. ¿Mistral¿s Kiss¿ is a poorly structured fantasy novel, which uses Celtic mythology to tell a story of sex that no one enjoys, including the characters. It is about 1/3 sex and 2/3 plot, which is actually a plus. The plot, however, is slow and erratic. It¿s like being in bumper-to-bumper traffic. The sex is so repetitive it feels like a rerun of the last book. In fact, this book follows on the heels of ¿Stroke of Midnight¿ and would best be described as an extension of it. It is a pseudo-novella disguised as a novel, with big print and spacing similar to ¿Micah¿. Eh! Who cares anymore? This one¿s not a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    enough sex already!

    I have read all of Hamilton's books and found them clever to begin with--legal vampiers, a real fairy court . . . very intriguing. The last several books of both series, including this one, have been a disappointment. The books no longer deserve the fantasy title, and really belong in the erotica section of the bookstore--sex scenes strung together with a thin plotline. I quit buying them because I realized I didn't want my teenagers to pick up the book and look through it. When I can't have a book in my house, I guess it's time to quit the series. If Hamilton wants to write erotica, no problem, but call it what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    What Happened to LKH

    Did not deliver, this is becoming a trend with LKH books. I was a huge LKH fan and still think earlier works are some of the most entertaining and captivating works of fiction I have ever read. I bought this book even though I swore after MICAH that I would no longer waste my money on another LKH book. I talked myself into it hoping to be pleasantly surprised, but alas, was once again left profoundly disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Hope, Shock and Disgust

    Those are what I felt as I read Mistral's Kiss. I hoped it would get better, I was shocked that it ended so quickly and I was finally disgusted with it all. After the giant let-down that was Dance Macabre I was hoping for something redeeming in Mistral's Kiss. But, and I can't believe I'm going to say this, I think Danse Macabre was better than Mistral's Kiss. This was a short book with no plot movement -- heck, what plot??? -- and the same repetitive conversations/revelations with various characters. I ended up skimming the latter half of the book before returning it to the store -- it's that bad. For those readers out there who enjoyed the 'old school' Laurell Hamilton, shield your eyes and move on...this book is not for you. In fact, there was a reviewer on here who did a great job summarizing the entire book in a few very short sentences. So read that instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Sick of non-existant plots

    I have read every book that Ms Hamilton has put out. I fell in love with Anita Blake and have been thouroughly dissappointed in her recent books. My one thought was that well, i still had Merry. With this new addition to the Merry Gentry series, i am sick to death. There is again no plot. This book contains nothing but sex that does nothing to forward any of the lingering plot issues left over from the first few books. There are inconsistancies in the story and no development. It seems to me the more popular the author has gotten, the worse her books are. Churning out 2 or 3 books a year is not an amazing feat unless they are good and this Ms Hamilton is not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Disappointed Fan

    I am a diehard LH fan, but I have to say that I was quite let down by the latest effort. There was no substance and very little plot. I was leery about purchasing this because of it's short length (as I was with Micah), but I just HAD to find out what was happening in the faerie courts. I wish that I'd remained ignorant. I can't truly express how disappointed I am. It was a waste of reading time. I have to believe that the positive reviews were given because most of those readers received an advanced free copy. If they had paid, I'm sure they would feel differently. I usually pass on all my novels worth reading, but I'd rather trash it than have anyone waste their time on it. I hope Ms. Hamilton takes more care with future endeavors. If not, I am also not afraid to say that she will not get anymore reader support from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

    What happened? Not much. This book is thin in pages and thin on plot. Despite the fact that Merry needs to become with child or die, nothing occurs. Oh, except sex. This is yet another incomplete part in the Merry Gentry series. This is not a novel, which in traditionally even in popular genres has a beginning, middle and end. This book doesn¿t. It doesn¿t go very far in furthering plot. It doesn¿t go very far in getting Merry out of one place and into another. It takes place in less than half a day. The sex is strictly for those who like anime, or those who enjoy whey-skinned, long-haired lads with ambivalent sexual preferences. If you just need to continue to read to ¿find out what happens¿ to Merry Gentry, check it out from the library, buy it used, or wait for the paperback. It¿s not worth hardcover prices, even discounted. Sadly this is about what one has come to expect from a once entertaining author ¿ a half-hearted attempt at storytelling and a whole-hearted attempt to rip-off the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1