Customer Reviews for

Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does a...
Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does actually contain a plot. There are some negatives, of course, the first of which is the length of the book itself--or, more accurately, the lack of length. At only 212 pages, this story is 100+ pages shorter than the other books in the series. It would have made much more sense to make MINSTRAL'S KISS another 10 chapters or so in the previous book, A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT, rather than a stand-alone book.

Also, the book only covers a few hours, from midnight until dawn following the assassination attempt on Merry's life that came about in A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT. I had noticed with the Anita Blake series that the time frames for each book were becoming shorter each time, and such now seems to be the case with this series, as well.

The sex doesn't bother me in this series, either, since the entire "background" of the main plot line is that Merry must become pregnant before her cousin Cel impregnates someone to take the throne. Although the first 70+ pages of MISTRAL'S KISS are a sex scene, with yet again multiple partners, it does actually make sense to the story.

My biggest complaint about the book, by far, is the fact that there is a major, major, MAJOR development at the end of the book that is only given a passing explanation. In less than two paragraphs, a huge event takes place, and yet Ms. Hamilton only devotes a few words to it--almost as an afterthought. Logically speaking, this should imply that the next book in the series will expound on that event, but if you've been following either of the author's series lately, you'd know by now that Ms. Hamilton doesn't always seem to write logically.

Overall, I did enjoy the story, much more so than the last Anita Blake novel. It won't take you long to read this (it took me less than two hours), and you won't see a whole lot of progression, but the editing is tighter with this book, and you'll definitely appreciate a dose of the faery world.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

let's finish it

I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there wa...
I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there was more to it. I'm looking forward to reading how this series is going to finish, hopefully it will get there soon

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Not one of my favs

    I like detail but not to much. I found my self getting bored because of how the author goes into to much detail. I like my books to flow and this book did not flow for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    Before I say anything, I must say that I am a huge fan of Laurell Hamilton's books. I read the entire Anita Blake series and had started on Merry Gentry series...I just finished reading Mistral's kiss. Although her books are known for being pretty sexual, bloody, and action-packed (much to my delight), i was a little unsatisfied with the progression of her Merry Gentry series. Mistral's Kiss was mediocre. There were plenty of steamy scenes but the lack of a strong story line or 3 dimensional characters made the book a bit boring after awhile. Theres so many extras and ridiculous twists and turns that I often forgot what i was reading about and what was going on in the story. The Merry Gentry series really just seems to be 'fairy' version of the Anita Blake series without the complex characters that the reader gets attached to. I wont be continuing this series but I am looking out for more of her Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Could have been better....

    I have all of Laurell K. Hamilton's books and this is one novel that truly disappointed me. I loved all her other books, but what happened to this one? Way too much sex! I enjoy a good sex scene, but wow! She way over did it in this book. I'm not even sure if it's worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    The fifth book in the Meredith Gentry saga is astonishingly disappointing. I began to read this series because of the supernatural events, romance, and dark fantasy which I found very intriguing. The sex is EXTREMELY repetitive. After you¿ve read one of her books, you can skip all of the remaining sex scenes. That¿s what I ended up doing - I skipped pages with sex scenes for the reason that I knew what was coming (it¿s the same thing over and over again). Sex shouldn¿t be boring especially in a novel. There is so much sex in this book that I wouldn¿t recommend it to teenagers - it belongs in the erotica section of the bookstore. Poor job LKH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    boring boring boring

    each of laurell k. hamilton's books that i read just makes me more and more disappointed. this book was not that long-for that i was grateful. just expect boring sex scenes in which the most immediate problem is trying to find the right sex position and merry doing lots more reviving of the faerie world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Seems Rushed

    I've been eagerly awaiting the next installment of the Gentry series and I must say, this book wasn't one of Ms. Hamilton's best. Although there was some new twists, the book seems rushed and incomplete. As someone who enjoys reading Ms. Hamilton's books and await them eagerly, I would be willing to wait for the next installment if the quality improved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Umm another short book

    I will have to say that this book was extremely dissapointing. I have to admit the only reason i bought it , was because it was at a discont prince. i can see why i didn't cost as much as it would have if it was a full length book. i was short and didnt have alot of substance to it. I agree that there is alot of loose ends to this series. i don't believe that there should have been more added by this novel. There is a growing trend on her other novels on being quite shorter than they could possibly be. Micah any one??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    BORING, BORING, BORING...

    Come on.....we know Merry is bringing back the magic to faerie...let's get on with the political intrigue....the alliances to be made or broken....unification of both courts.....or battle between the two courts for supreme rule. Why Meridith, the half human? Should she also be considered an poliical threat to other courts too....not just the two major courts. Sex is great, men are great....but more rivalery between them.....a new truly forgotten god who has all the qualities of her select few...who can really complicate the situation and her choice.......but also what makes Merry even more suitable to rule then Cel...first to produce another to the heir is an ok twist considering the Aunt and cousin's personaliities....but what else is needed to be a better ruler...wit, the humanity aspects which are not part of an immortal makeup....how will it help Merry even further......so enough already....get to write a better book or get off the pot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Where's the rest?

    While I have read all of Ms. Hamilton's books, I am ready to quit. This is a continuance of the Merry Gentry series and it is great to see that at least half of the pages were not a sex scene. Unfortunately 211 pages is not enough to even begin to finish what was started. To many loose ends, when will we get to the goblin court? When will we get to the Seelie court? When will we find out what Andais knows? When will someone get pregnant? What will happen to Cel? This book seems to be set in real time and cover 1 night. I prefer a book that has more than just a set up for the next book. It's obvious that this one was rushed. Ms. Hamiton, please find something for your characters to do besides have sex every 45 minutes. You write incredible sex scenes, but you also write incredible and imaginative plots and deep, interesting, multi-faceted characters. Please give us more plot and advance the story lines beyond who Merry has great sex with - so great that she screams every single time. Mistral's Kiss is worth reaading just in case the next book gets us somewhere. The interaction with the Slaugh raises some more great questions about what will happen next. Hopefully the next book will actually tell us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    A Disappointment

    Despite the disaster that has become the Anita Blake series, the Merry Gentry series has always been one of my favorites. Yet Mistral's Kiss was a huge disappointment. It reads more like a novella than a true novel. At just slightly over 200 pages, the story is over before it even really begins. An extremely minor plot surrounds endless bouts of sex with Merry and her bodyguards. The sex scenes have started sounding like Anita - cold and clinical, rather than the steamy scenes that previously characterized the Gentry series. Overall, the book covers less than a single day in time, and barely took me three hours to read. . . The writing is fine, and what does happen in the story is important to future novels, i just felt a little cheated that the story stopped so early. Not worth the price of a hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Not worth the wait

    Long anticipated, but a complete letdown. About two-hundred pages of little plot and no recap, missing characters, and much disappointment. I have been a longtime fan of Laurell K. Hamilton, but it seems as though she has reached a plateau in her work, and now the majority of it focuses on little other than sex. Mistral's Kiss read more like a rushed excerpt from a larger work than a full novel. This is one book not even worth owning in hardcover, and I intend on returning it to the retailer. Ms. Hamilton, if it is going to be close to two years until the next release in the Meredith Gentry series, like it was for this release, and the result is a hurried few chapters skimming over character archs, and with no true amount of resolution to keep me even interested in the story, then count me as a fan lost. - A.S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Where did Hamilton's Magic go?

    Most people who have read Laurell K. Hamilton from the beginning will know what I'm talking about. Her stories had a kind of magic that wouldn't let you go...even after the last page. This book just doesn't come close to her previous releases. We waited almost two years for this story and it doesn't even cover more than 12 hours in Merry's life. In addition to that, I didn't see a plot to the book. After 2 years we get a filler? If I am alone in this opinion I am sorry to those of you I might have offended. I just hope that she finds her magic again before June 5 2007 when 'The Harlenquin' in the Anita Blake series comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Not a complete book

    There wasn't much happening in this one at all in the way of plot. It was very short really more like a novella. Inconsistencies are pretty much rampant from book to book and this one is the worst to follow. Really wish it felt like she put in any effort these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    please write BOOKS again!!!!

    I love the Merry Gentry series. I love the erotica in the Merry Gentry series. Most of I all love the STORY in thye Merry Gentry series. This book (?) did try to tell part of a story, but only part. If you ask someone to pay for a book, it should be an actual book, not a novella, which pretty much sums up Mistral's Kiss. If I'd paid half the price, it would get a higher rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    waaaay too short

    A Typical Merry book, meaning lots of sex and mystical visits and a what happens next ending. Sad part is the book was half the size of the other Merry books. I mean I was done within about 2 hours. Hard to swallow when you wait months for a book, pay alot of money and left with a feeling of that's it. Great read if borrowed from public library but not worth the full price. And by the way I am a fan and own all of her other books, Anita and Merry just sadly disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    never gonna buy hard cover

    What a dissapointment after all that wait to get this book. I was so happy when I started to read this book, I love all the men in merry's circle but come on enough of sex already, where is this story going??? This book was way too short and I'm beganing to wonder if I ever buy her book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Where did the storyline go?

    What happened to the invitation to the Seelie Yule celebration? What happenened to the revelation that Taranis released the nameless? What happened to the fact that Rhys was attacked by the Seelie guards based on a claim that he attacked a Seelie woman? Why was the scene with Sholto so unbelievable long and drawn out? Why is this a book unto itself and not part of a larger book? Oh wait, deadlines and profit margin for the end of year. This book, or booklet, should not be a stand alone. It seems rushed, some of the scenes are so drawn out that one wants to flip ahead. I started thinking the scenes drag on because the author was not sure where to go with it at all. There is a trend occurring in the Hamilton books that is disturbing. The writing quality seems to have diminished and the story lines seem to be unraveling. I had great hopes for the Merry Gentry stories. I like the characters, what seemed to be the original plot line and the conflicts. The erotica scenes had their place within this story and were not overly gratuitous. However, this book, should the sex scenes be removed, does not warrant hardcover status, nor does it reach the potential hinted at in the earlier titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Sad

    Thus far, I have read all of Hamilton novels and I am thinking twice about picking up her books. I love her story lines, but am getting tired of having the plot replaced by the numerous sex scenes. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy some loving every now and then, but every other page is pushing it! Now, I have to review her novels before I even think about reading the books. Sad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Great premise, but short on delivery

    Laurell K Hamilton's Merry Gentry books were truly unique in the genre in examining the shadowy elements of faerie, unconventional sexual themes, and the darks side of the human psyche. Unfortunately, Mistral's Kiss echos her other recent offerings in falling so short of their promise that I¿ve become frustrated as a reader. Sexual encounters again become the driving force in the tale - with political play, character development, and a true dénouement lost in the shuffle. Mistral¿s Kiss is just barely 200 pages and covers less than a day in Merry's life....and in that time she doesn't even make it out of the sithen, much less to the other faerie courts. The book consists of a lengthy dream series as an introduction with the sudden appearance of yet another magical artifact in Merry's hands, sex with Mistral and Abeloec causing the further awakening of the Sithen's garden, travel through the Sithen to Sholto's realm followed by (of course) more sex and the release of the sluagh, and finally a rather abbreviated battle against the sluagh won with the help of the Red Caps. And that's it - the book abruptly ends with no true resolution. My recommendation? Wait for the paperback to indulge your addiction for Merry Gentry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2