Customer Reviews for

Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does a...
Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does actually contain a plot. There are some negatives, of course, the first of which is the length of the book itself--or, more accurately, the lack of length. At only 212 pages, this story is 100+ pages shorter than the other books in the series. It would have made much more sense to make MINSTRAL'S KISS another 10 chapters or so in the previous book, A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT, rather than a stand-alone book.

Also, the book only covers a few hours, from midnight until dawn following the assassination attempt on Merry's life that came about in A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT. I had noticed with the Anita Blake series that the time frames for each book were becoming shorter each time, and such now seems to be the case with this series, as well.

The sex doesn't bother me in this series, either, since the entire "background" of the main plot line is that Merry must become pregnant before her cousin Cel impregnates someone to take the throne. Although the first 70+ pages of MISTRAL'S KISS are a sex scene, with yet again multiple partners, it does actually make sense to the story.

My biggest complaint about the book, by far, is the fact that there is a major, major, MAJOR development at the end of the book that is only given a passing explanation. In less than two paragraphs, a huge event takes place, and yet Ms. Hamilton only devotes a few words to it--almost as an afterthought. Logically speaking, this should imply that the next book in the series will expound on that event, but if you've been following either of the author's series lately, you'd know by now that Ms. Hamilton doesn't always seem to write logically.

Overall, I did enjoy the story, much more so than the last Anita Blake novel. It won't take you long to read this (it took me less than two hours), and you won't see a whole lot of progression, but the editing is tighter with this book, and you'll definitely appreciate a dose of the faery world.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

let's finish it

I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there wa...
I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there was more to it. I'm looking forward to reading how this series is going to finish, hopefully it will get there soon

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    let's finish it

    I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there was more to it. I'm looking forward to reading how this series is going to finish, hopefully it will get there soon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Extremely short for the price

    I have enjoyed this series a great deal. However, there is a great deal of repetition of details from other books that becomes monotonous. I also feel that 7.99 is extremely expensive for an ebook. Even more so for one that is half the length of the other books in this series. Therefore, I believe I am sadly done with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Well its more of a transitional book

    So short and was left wanting more, and even more of that Darkness. I got hooked on this series just recently, but ive been reading anita blake for years and there are a lot of similarities. Hope laurell coukd see them as entire direrent and more of this series will appear with more Darkness that its my king of choice overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Merry, Merry, Quite Contrary

    Mistral's Kiss didn't have all of the edge of the seat excitement that Laurell's Anita Blake series has. The writing is very beyond the veil. Okay, I love the fae and Laurell K. Hamilton's writing. I'll read anything that has her name on it. But so far, I can't get into this series. Maybe I'm a hard core Anita Blake fan. I have to admit this is the first I've read in the Meredith Gentry series and maybe I'll like the others better. I'll get back to you on that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Love the old not the new

    I have been reading Laurell K Hamilton since I was in High school. I love the first 10 books of the Anita Blake series but the newer books are getting a little old with the sex and the plot that doesn't go anywhere. I tried to get into the Meredith Gentry Series but I was really disapointed with them. Now the Anita Blake comics are very good. It starts with the first Anita Blake book Guilty Pleasures. It reminded me how LKH wrote why back when. I miss the old LKH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Time for an End

    I love Hamilton's books and have been following this series since it started with a Kiss of Shadows. Unfortunately, I think this series has been drawn out for too long now and the sex scenes while might have seemed adventurous and open initially, seem to take up too much space in the books now. Let's bring this series to a full circle and let Meredith and her gang go out in style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    major fan of this series

    I thought that this book was alright. but i was really expecting more from this book. I've read and loved the last four books of this series and have never been disappointed until this one. it was a great story, but i believe that there should have been more to it than what there was. i don't like how it left me hanging wanting to know what happens that night when she gets back to L.A, and what guards decide to leave the Queen to go with Merry. I also wanted to know more about how her men react to her new found feelings for Doyle. All in all, it's a great series, this is the only book i've had a problem with so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    A little disappointed

    I enjoy very much Laurell K. Hamilton's books. I believe she is a wonderful author, but I feel sad to say that this recent book was not very satisfying to the plot. Not alot happened in the book. I would still read it of course, but I would not buy it in hardback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    I really don't know what to say

    It took me a day to read this book and with two young children and working, THAT is a miracle in itself. I actually enjoyed the sex scenes and the fact you don't really know what is going to happen when Merry gets with anyone. I do feel that the storyline needs to end. I thought maybe it would be Mistral but who knows what will happen now that they appear to be exhiled. It can't be Merry's goal in life to have sex and bring out powers in not just herself but others - there has to be more than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Too little for so much

    I love her story lines. I even appreciate all of her detail, however, they are too short. All of her newer novels are too short. How many more stories for the story line to progress. Yes we all wait in anticipation. However, half the pages as her earlier reads is just too expensive. 3 books now hinting at a meeting with her uncle. whatever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Wait for the paperback

    I love the Merry Gentry series, but it is moving way to slow. I could've sworn that 2 books back she was supposed to be heading to the Seelie Court. Is that ever going to happen?? And the sex scenes are getting a little routine, I just skipped through most of them. I just don't feel like I got my money's worth out of it. I think I'll check the next one out from the library, then decide whether to buy it or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    I love it but hate it at the same time

    When I first started reading the series I was really into it. However, I'm begining to wonder when will it ever end. I really want to know who becomes king or if Meredith will ever become pregnant. I hope the next book(s)will at least give us, the readers, something new other than just the love scenes. They're great but come on...I want to know who gets the throne.You can't drag on this story line forever.All in all, the series is still interesting and different. I'm still a devoted reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Momentary Greatness, Unsatisfying Progress

    Overall, Mistral's Kiss ('MK') is a vast improvement over Stroke of Midnight ('SoM'). MK has more character development and the plot advances, unexpectedly taking readers into the darkest realm of the Unseelie world. However, after waiting almost two years, like SoM, LKH fails to write a complete and satisfying story within the greater story of who will eventually rule the Unseelie Court. Early in the series, LKH set the parameters for Merry's sucess, and set a schedule of events that are too slow in coming: get pregnant and consolidate power through love, macchiavellian politics or force, if necessary. We have seen the love with Doyle and Frost, the politics with the Goblins, Demi-fey and ,Slaugh, and the force by the killing of enemies, but no baby, or anticipated visits to the Goblin or Seelie realms mentioned at least two books before MK. I have read last few books feeling like the kid on a long trip, screaming, 'Are we there yet?' from the backseat. With that said, MK feels like an enjoyable interlude sweet, but way too short. Truly great moments such as the introduction to the Slaugh realm, Merry's ephiphany with Doyle, and Sholto's coming into his own, are overshadowed by a sense of incompleteness. Whether it is inadvertent or not, the Merry Gentry series seems to be degenerating into the less loved step-child of LKH's literary children. This is a disservice to the fans like myself who are loyal to LKH, and appreaciate her imaginative writings. I may not have liked all of the Anita Blake books equally, but I got a complete story out of each one (Micah and short stories excluded). My recommendation is that you wait for the paperback or buy a hardback or two and share them with many other MG fans -- it won't take long because MK is such a quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Somewhat Disappointing

    I eagerly awaited this sequel but I have to say that the story wasn't the fast-paced page-turner I expected. There was the expected hot sex scenes but the plot was mediocre. Maybe those new to Laurell's style will find Mistral's Kiss exciting. I guess even great authors are allowed a dud or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    And the plot centimeters along

    I got a kick out of the reviewer who said the book was two sex scenes, a battle scene, and a dropped ending (or words to that effect). The sex scenes in this series don't annoy me nearly as much as they do in the Anita Blake books--maybe because there's some actual plot occurring along with the heavy breathing. This book was too short and the ending was dropped, but it still had some interesting tidbits come out about how Faerie is reacting with sidhe magic--Merry's and the men's. Sholto was in it again, and that almost made it worth the price. I was also disappointed the Doyle didn't have a more active role. What can I say--he's by far my favorite of Merry's guys. The book definitely left some interesting questions unanswered. On the whole, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    She needs 150% percent less sex, and 300% more storyline

    Why is it that J.D. Robb can write an entire story for Eve Dallas every six months with tons of action and great sex, and Laurell K. Hamilton can only write long, overly descriptive sex scenes with little in the way of story advancement, and still make us wait ages for it? I'm a fan of both the Merry and Anita books, I've bought them all, but LKH isn't writing for people like me anymore. People who actually like a story along with their erotica. We need 150% percent less sex, and 300% more storyline. I'm thrilled LKH is happy in her personal relationship, hopefully after this she will concentrate more on her relation with her READERS. Pleease Laurell!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3