Customer Reviews for

Mistral's Kiss (Meredith Gentry Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 519 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does a...
Amazingly enough, I enjoyed MISTRAL'S KISS. After the farce that has become the Anita Blake series, I was worried that the Meredith Gentry series would inevitably take the same downhill dive. Thankfully, that wasn't the case.

This book is enjoyable, and does actually contain a plot. There are some negatives, of course, the first of which is the length of the book itself--or, more accurately, the lack of length. At only 212 pages, this story is 100+ pages shorter than the other books in the series. It would have made much more sense to make MINSTRAL'S KISS another 10 chapters or so in the previous book, A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT, rather than a stand-alone book.

Also, the book only covers a few hours, from midnight until dawn following the assassination attempt on Merry's life that came about in A STROKE OF MIDNIGHT. I had noticed with the Anita Blake series that the time frames for each book were becoming shorter each time, and such now seems to be the case with this series, as well.

The sex doesn't bother me in this series, either, since the entire "background" of the main plot line is that Merry must become pregnant before her cousin Cel impregnates someone to take the throne. Although the first 70+ pages of MISTRAL'S KISS are a sex scene, with yet again multiple partners, it does actually make sense to the story.

My biggest complaint about the book, by far, is the fact that there is a major, major, MAJOR development at the end of the book that is only given a passing explanation. In less than two paragraphs, a huge event takes place, and yet Ms. Hamilton only devotes a few words to it--almost as an afterthought. Logically speaking, this should imply that the next book in the series will expound on that event, but if you've been following either of the author's series lately, you'd know by now that Ms. Hamilton doesn't always seem to write logically.

Overall, I did enjoy the story, much more so than the last Anita Blake novel. It won't take you long to read this (it took me less than two hours), and you won't see a whole lot of progression, but the editing is tighter with this book, and you'll definitely appreciate a dose of the faery world.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

let's finish it

I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there wa...
I really enjoy the series but this book seemed to be insignificant, there didn't really seem to be any significant advancement in the over-arching plot of the series, it just seemed to stay in the same place. I still enjoyed the book but was left wishing that there was more to it. I'm looking forward to reading how this series is going to finish, hopefully it will get there soon

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    can't get enough

    I love this series. The story line is so original. The way Hamilton writes is wonderful. It's hard to keep up with all the characters, but other then that its great. Can't wait to finish all of them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Mythology and Fantasy Combine for a Winner

    Mistral¿s Kiss is mythology masquerading as fantasy fiction. That Merry Gentry, the daughter of Essus, dead brother of the Queen of the Unseelie Court, and a part Brownie, part human mother, claims her powers through the Goddess, sexual magic, is a bonus for modern fiction. That she has to be impregnated before her deranged cousin Cel is released from his imprisonment to make his attempt to impregnate someone before she becomes pregnant is a bonus and her permission to have sex with as many of her guards as she can. Both the Queen of the Unseelie and her brother, the King of the Seelie Court, are the reason why faerie is dying, for both of them are infertile. The Queen knows her peril and has proclaimed that whoever can prove their fertility first will be her heir, either Cel, her son, or Merry, her niece. This novel takes place in one day, long enough to unlease the wild magic of faerie when Merry has sex in the dead garden of the Unseelie Court with both Abeloec, god of wine and revelry, and Mistral, the Queen¿s captain and a god of wind and storm. She is faerie¿s last hope for survival and very obviously favored by the Lady and the Lord. But, she must prove her fertility to the Court. Until she does, her life is in danger as are all who ally with her. Thus the plot is propelled from one confrontation to another, and one sexual bout to another. Through it all, Merry¿s innate generosity and honor as well as her humanity elevate her above her aunt and uncle. This is one of Hamilton¿s shorter novels, but not the least of them. While it may not be a conventional book with a conventional plot, it is pure mythology brought to life. It does make one wish that old magic could be loosed in the world. Although it may be a transitional book that moves a series from one battlefield to another, it can be read and enjoyed for the wild ride it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining adult fantasy

    Both the Seelie and the Unseelie courts of faerie are dying but Princess Meredith ¿Merry¿ Gentry might have the power to bring them back to their former glory. Her aunt, Queen Andes has made a contest with Merry and her son Cel. The first who is pregnant or gets someone pregnant is the next ruler. Right now Cel is being punished for trying to have Merry killed while Merry¿s new powers slowly bring back life to the unseelie court. --- Merry and her guards are in the gardens where once a world complete with sun, moon and weather existed. Also with her are the captain of the queen¿s guard Mistral and Abeloc. Through sex, they make the land come alive again but the Silth (fairy mound) isn¿t finished in reviving the Unseelie world. Merry finds herself in the Kingdom of the Straugh ugly creatures who hunt their victims until they collapse from fatigue. Their kingdom is dead too but when she has sex with its king, it comes alive. In gratitude the monarch hunts Merry, her guards and the rest of Faerie. --- There is a lot of erotic sex in MISTRAL¿S KISS but it is sex that brings life back to the kingdoms in the Silth. Merry is not accepted at the Seelie court because she is part Sidhe and part human but she also finds it too much to deal with the court intrigues and killings of the unsealie court. Through her magical gifts she makes the Unseelie court a prettier, brighter place much to the court¿s chagrin. Laurell K. Hamilton has written a powerful and entertaining adult fantasy that is so hot readers will feel the heat. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Very good. One of the best yet.

    A great addition to the Merry Gentry series. The only regret i have is that its one of the shorter books. Its still the same amazing story with much added. Cant wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another must Read!

    I couldn't put it down as I watched magic come alive inside Fearie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Mistral's Kiss

    Laurell K Hamilton does not disappoint in the fifth installment of the Meridith Gentry series. There are faery court politics, murder plots, and romantic entanglements to intrigue the reader. Laurell K Hamilton stays true to the origin of faeries and does not represent them in a disneyfied way. She stays true to Meridith's character and core beliefs. The question is will Merry ever become pregnant and take the Unseelie throne?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Reviewing Mistral's Kiss/Meridith Gentry Series

    I love the Mereidith Gentry series. I love sci-fi books that help you escape reality. The only thing is that the books is starting to get on the tad preverse and she keeps being introduced to all these men to bring back the land of fairy. It's funny because she just goes from man to man. I still love the books but the author is getting a little off when it comes to all these back to back sex scenes. This series is really interesting because you always learn something new about fairy and about all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Go Merideth!!!

    Finally, Merideth is taking over the Unseelie court. Just a few more flowers and the addition of a moon or sun and the unseelie court will almost be remade. If only she could find some way to get pregnant. I look forward to reading the next story in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HOT HOT HOT!!!

    So much intrigue. So much fantasy and sexual content. If you like it hot and heavy...this is the book for you. Follow the series from the begining. It's so worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You have to read the preceding books!

    I enjoyed this story so much, but you can't just pick it up and expect to understand it. Read the preceding books to understand the characters and the wonderful imagination of the worlds Ms Hamilton has created! Each story gets better and better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Let's speed this up, Laurell, I just turned 60!

    One, maybe two, set in California, then we have to get to the good stuff - the Seelie Court, where most of this stuff should pay off, and wind up with Merry preggers with a Seelie baby! THAT impregnation can take a whole book and fit in with Laurell's apparent imaginative theme for this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love lkh, i love the series, i have all of your books. i read them over and over and i love the sex secenes its like your really there seeing it and feeling it through her eyes. it the best ever. i do love the anita blake books alot i hope there is more to read with your next book i hcan hardly wait to read it i want to know what happeneds next?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Awesome as always

    This book rocked, she totally redeemed herself after her Danse Macabre mistake. My only complaint is how short the book was! I know there's only so many books that will be in this series but come on! you need to give us a little more. Other than that the fights were beyond anything she's touched on before, I was so thrilled I couldn't put this book down. It grabs a hold of you and won't let go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    The Best Book Ever!!!!!!!!!!

    this was a wonderful book. i hope she make another one soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    'Mistral's Kiss' Advance Reader' Edition Review

    I was thoroughly immersed in Merry's world from the moment I read the first sentence. I enjoyed how the plot was picked up right where it left off, versus months later, making me feel as if I didn't miss a thing, which is so often the case with any given 'series' of books. I enjoyed the book immensely, and found myself staying up alot later than I had planned, once I started reading. It grabbed me from the first page, and I only reluctantly set it aside as I found 4 am creeping up on me, more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Mistral's Kiss Outshines all the other Merry Gentry Books

    I was luck enough to recieve an advance copy of 'Mistral's Kiss' by Laurell K. Hamilton. It's the best book in a series of excellent books. It has nonstop action and drama that make it a book that you can't put down. I read it from cover to cover as soon as I got it and I can't wait for the next book in the Merry Gentry series. This is a book that shouldn't be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15