Customer Reviews for

Mistress

Average Rating 3.5
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear mo

I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear more from you about Mistress. What did you like? Or (I'm a grown man now, I can take it) what didn't you like? I will tell you it's my favorite project of recent vintage, and David Ellis and I put probably tw...
I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear more from you about Mistress. What did you like? Or (I'm a grown man now, I can take it) what didn't you like? I will tell you it's my favorite project of recent vintage, and David Ellis and I put probably twice as much time into it as any book in the past five years. A lot of that labor went into the main character, Ben, who I think you'll agree is one rare bird. But let me know, okay? I appreciate the reads, and the honesty.

posted by James_B_Patterson on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read m

This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read many.

posted by 1536904 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear mo

    I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear more from you about Mistress. What did you like? Or (I'm a grown man now, I can take it) what didn't you like? I will tell you it's my favorite project of recent vintage, and David Ellis and I put probably twice as much time into it as any book in the past five years. A lot of that labor went into the main character, Ben, who I think you'll agree is one rare bird. But let me know, okay? I appreciate the reads, and the honesty.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read m

    This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read many.

    19 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Very hard to stay focused

    I have been an avid reader of James Patterson for many, many years. Love the Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club, Michael Bennett, Private and Honeymoon series. Just finished reading 2nd Honeymoon yesterday. Picked this up at the library yesterday. I am happy I borrowed this book and didn't buy it. I can't get past the main character's OCD. His comments come out of left field. Too hard to follow. I don't recommend this to anyone who likes James Patterson. This is not like anything else with his name on the cover.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Unreadable Of all of James Patterson books that was coauthored t

    Unreadable
    Of all of James Patterson books that was coauthored this was the worst. What is this supposed this David Baldacci lite.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Not j.p!

    Absolutly the worst j.p.book i evrr read...and i read all of them. I may skip him from now on. This was terrible.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I feel that Patterson is "losing the plot" of being a

    I feel that Patterson is "losing the plot" of being a great writer. I avidly read all his books but he is co-writing with so many different writers now that his true style is not coming through. I suspect that the c0-writers are doing most of the work, with Patterson just "tweaking" the text in places. I suppose this is all for commercial reasons but this is one reader that he has lost, although he probably doesn't care just as long as the bucks keep rolling into his bank account, but I no longer regard him as a serious writer.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Very disappointed

    I have read all of James pattersons books and loved them. This was the first book I didn't finish. Very disappointed.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    Mistress is not good. The plot was zany and crazy like the main

    Mistress is not good.
    The plot was zany and crazy like the main character, Ben. He got all those people killed because of what? And, for a what? His last 3-4 books have disappointed me. Poor plots, dumb characters, and a waste of good money. Write better or stop.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I never thought I would rate a James Patterson novel this low, b

    I never thought I would rate a James Patterson novel this low, but to me this book was annoying. I just wanted to get to the story. All the thoughts of the main character were not interesting to me. I started skipping them and trying to get to the plot. I got through it out of respect for James Patterson. I have read all his books and couldn't say that if I didn't finish it. I am still a fan. This book just wasn't good to me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Wow quick read. Fast paced. Action non stop. I loved how this book was written. It was fresh original. One of the best books i have read. And i am a bigfan especially of his friend andrew gross. 15 seconds was awesome. However this book is so different the comedy was great. I loved every line. The ac dc playing in the back ground i was there with the chatacter feeling the wild ride. Getting into his crazy mind. Thats what a writer with talent does patterson does it well he writes flawlessly. This book has it all. Thank u james. Read it in a day and loved every minute

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A really fast-paced sexy, good read. If you haven't read a Patt

    A really fast-paced sexy, good read. If you haven't read a Patterson in a while, this is a GREAT Summer thriller.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Mistake!

    One of the worst Patterson books ever!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I have not read this as yet but considering all the poor reviews

    I have not read this as yet but considering all the poor reviews, I doubt I will. Very disappointed to hear some of the remarks, but at the same time some of his latest books have also been a bit of a let down to me, too. A new book every month may just be too much to keep up his usual good writing, and agree a lot of that may be because of some of his co-writers.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I've read nearly all of Patterson's books and have recently deci

    I've read nearly all of Patterson's books and have recently decided not to read many more. The quality of his writing has declined drastically and the plots and subplots are predictable. It also seems as if Patterson and his fellow writers have sold themselves out to shock value. Several of the recent books have been 'shockingly' and disgustingly bloody and garish. The quality of the writing has definitely declined. Even the last two 'Cross' books were not as well developed and Cross's character has lost----for lack of a better word---'character.' I hope Patterson will slow down in his mass production of inferior literature and return to creating the quality of writing he seems to have lost.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    very disappointed in this book. Even though I did like the book,

    very disappointed in this book. Even though I did like the book, but felt like it wasn't up to Patterson's earlier books. It does have a good story line.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    Who stole JP's name - this is a travesty! I anticipate all of J

    Who stole JP's name - this is a travesty! I anticipate all of JP's books, but this one was terrible, there may have been a plot in there somewhere, but I had trouble getting past the insidious character and the overused meetings finally (in the last 1/4 of the book) see if the ending held any redemption. Sadly, it didn't. I don't think I'll be following any other books with the tedious Benjamin, or any of the other characters that never garnered any emotion from me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I don't recommend this book if you are a reader of James Patters

    I don't recommend this book if you are a reader of James Patterson as it's nothing like his other books. I had to return it. Couldn't follow the story. Too many racing thoughts with insertions of different topics. I always have Loved James Patterson, The Alex Cross Series, Stand Alones, & Women's Murder Club, If you are considering purchasing this book please read free pre-read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    worst james Patterson book I've ever bought

    worst james Patterson book I've ever bought

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Don't waste your money!

    This book was was the worst jp book ever! Seems like he is cranking out books just to make money and not putting any thought into the plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Not a thriller. Hard to stay with it. Not my favorite! 

    Not a thriller. Hard to stay with it. Not my favorite! 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15