Customer Reviews for

Mistress

Average Rating 3.5
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear mo

I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear more from you about Mistress. What did you like? Or (I'm a grown man now, I can take it) what didn't you like? I will tell you it's my favorite project of recent vintage, and David Ellis and I put probably tw...
I'm happy for the good rating but I'd be even happier to hear more from you about Mistress. What did you like? Or (I'm a grown man now, I can take it) what didn't you like? I will tell you it's my favorite project of recent vintage, and David Ellis and I put probably twice as much time into it as any book in the past five years. A lot of that labor went into the main character, Ben, who I think you'll agree is one rare bird. But let me know, okay? I appreciate the reads, and the honesty.

posted by James_B_Patterson on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read m

This is the worst Patterson book I have read - and I have read many.

posted by 1536904 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    A really fast-paced sexy, good read. If you haven't read a Patt

    A really fast-paced sexy, good read. If you haven't read a Patterson in a while, this is a GREAT Summer thriller.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Mistress is the 30th stand-alone novel by prolific American auth

    Mistress is the 30th stand-alone novel by prolific American author, James Patterson, co-written by David Ellis. Ben Casper is a political journalist for his own online newspaper based in Washington DC. When he witnesses the apparent suicide of his good friend, Diana Hotchkiss, his grief is soon overcome by disbelief. He is certain that she would not suicide, but as he investigates, he discovers a Diana he does not recognise, a woman with secret lovers and uncharacteristic behaviour. And it seems that people Ben talks to begin to die with alarming regularity. Ben finds himself escaping death by the narrowest of margins. The clues seem to lead to the upper levels of Washington power brokers. As with most Patterson fiction, the novel is plot-driven; the characters have very little depth. Ben is the only character who is expanded upon: the reader spends the novel inside the head of a narrator who relates almost everything he experiences to TV or movies, trivia about presidents, or songs and artists. Ben’s constant patter about movies, presidents, bikes and music is at once a source of humour, a distraction from the main event and a filler between the action. Without it, the novel would have been considerably shorter. Ben’s own history is interspersed throughout the novel, but the final resolution feels a little rushed. Ellis manages to incorporate blackmail, several murders, explosions, shootings, the CIA, the Russians, the Chinese, the President and plenty of well-known DC landmarks into the plot. The Russian action is surprisingly topical considering events in the Ukraine. Once again in the format of Patterson’s extremely short chapters, this is a page-turner that has plenty of twists and turns.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great Reading

    Kept me reading and guessng Ben's nexr move!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2015

    I thought this book was great! This was the first audio book I'v

    I thought this book was great! This was the first audio book I've ever listened to and I really enjoyed it. 
    Benjamin Casper is a reporter in D.C. and he's in love with Diana. When Diana dies from falling from her building,
    he isn't so sure she's committed suicide. She seemed to have everything and no reason to kill herself and he knows murder
    can be made to look like suicide... so he just has to find out what really happened.
     You're taken on quite a thrilling ride as Benjamin Casper searches for the truth, as ugly as it may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    I loved this book! The characters were fabulous, the read was ea

    I loved this book! The characters were fabulous, the read was easy, and it kept my attention right to the end... and looking for more! 
    Perfect beach book, I really could not put it down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Took some time

    I have to say that when i started reading this book i didnt think i was going to finish it but it turned out to be better than i thought. I truely loved the plot. Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    At first I didn't think it was going to be good.After starting didn't want to stop. I really liked this one.
    Ed Mcknight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Swimsuits beginning....did not like that read too.

    Swimsuits beginning....did not like that read too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    !

    Enjoyed the book and the film triva

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Best book in a long time!

    I haven't been too keen on James Patterson's books lately, but this one revs it up! Really good book - highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Finally something different

    Yes, this is different than the usual James Patterson , but that's a good thing. I am tired of feeling like I'm reading the same formulaic book over and over. It took me a few chapters to get into the flow of the main character's thoughts but once I did I enjoyed it. Also I feel like the past several books have been phoned in. The stories were interesting but I didn't feel like the characters had enough depth. I didn't actually care what happened to them. I felt that more effort was put into character development with this book. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Another great book

    Slow to start but once it gets your attention it's a great story. James Patterson never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    The things in his head were a little weird and distracting

    As with any James Patterson book, it was good, easy read, that captures your attention almost immediately, and doesn't let go. While not one of his best, it will not disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Mr. Patterson, A very good read and nice departure from Alex C

    Mr. Patterson,


    A very good read and nice departure from Alex Cross, Michael Bennett and Private. Those commenting that this work is so different and not up to par with previous works are simply expecting the same thing over and over. It's a very good, fun pace-turner with nice twists and a likeable protaganist. Ben's self-talk is fun, quirky and lends strong insight into his personality. I do have 2 questions though. First, Ben shares his 'self-diagnosis' as 'Pater Crudelis Disorder'. Is this real as I can't find anything online about it. I'd describe him more as borderline schizophrenic with perhaps a touch of OCD? Second is how Ben ascertained who was on the video.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Very good book!  It held my attention and kept a good momentum.

    Very good book!  It held my attention and kept a good momentum.  The main character's thoughts and "sense of humor" were a nice addition to Patterson!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I am an avid Patterson reader and have read most of his books.  

    I am an avid Patterson reader and have read most of his books.  I enjoyed reading Mistress except for all the comments about movies, actors & actresses.  I am not a big movie buff and had not seen most of the shows that were mentioned in the book so they just slowed down the story for me.  Other than that, it was a fast-paced, action packed read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    A good read, but not his best.

    A good read, but not his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3