Customer Reviews for

Mistress Diaries

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Loved it

    A couple of nights ago I was on the flight from hell. An all night red-eyed special, packed full, and I was stuck between two large gentlemen, one who was snoring. To top it off, I have a problem with restless legs and I knew it would be a VERY long flight. Then something magical happened. I turned on the overhead light and pulled The Mistress Diaries by Julianne MacLean out of my purse. A moment later, indeed from the first journal entry of Cassandra Montrose, I was lost.<BR/><BR/>I felt much like the figure on the cover. I opened a book that turned out to be a door to an enchanting sensual and thoroughly delightful story of missed opportunities, regrets, forgiveness and second chances. I loved the way the author allowed Vincent and Cassandra to grow along with their friendship, and I really enjoyed the layered background of a somewhat dysfunctional but genuinely loving family. The witty dialogue and loveable characters were an absolute delight. I loved it! I was drawn right in and didn¿t come up until they turned the lights off for touch down 4 1/2 hrs later. I was thinking, what the heck? I still have two chapters to go! <BR/><BR/>Anyway, it was a warm and wonderful read that turned a nightmare into a treat. My only complaint is that from the epilogue, it seems the series is coming to an end, and in both this and the previous book about Vincent¿s brother Devon, I was very intrigued by their mother, the Duchess, a sad, graceful and lovely lady who deserved, in my opinion, a story and happy ending of her own. Oh well. It¿s a testament to Ms MacLean¿s writing and storytelling that even the secondary characters are so vibrant and compelling you want their stories too. I¿ve enjoyed all Julianne MacLean¿s books, but this is one of my favourites.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Another very good book from Julianne Maclean!

    This was an easy read with lots of emotion, sex and adventure. To be honest, I didn't care for Vincent as he was presented in the book about the 1st brother, Devon (In my Wildest Fantasies). So... I was a little leery when I picked this one up to read. However, I enjoyed this book as much as the 1st one! Devon and his bride make appearances thru-out the book... I enjoyed their mentions very much as I didn't want their story to end. And... my opinion of Vincent changed as he evolved and some of the reasons for his former behavior were explained. The heroine is a sexy survivor... and it's not difficult to relate to her. There's another character in this book that caught my fancy: Iris!!! Is she real or is she a spirit? I've already got the 3rd book in this series on order as Blake, the 3rd brother, is missing... I must read his story... and hopefully, learn more about Iris too...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Poor characters, weak plot

    This book feels like it's missing a prologue to the prologue. Vincent's character isn't even established before Cassandra, begins assaulting it for no good reason than her own bitterness over her poor choice. Cassandra assumes a position of moral superiority and tears Vincent apart over his choice of lifestyle which she seems to believe has made her the victim of the tale, ignoring her own part in the making of her demise. Cassandra is far from sympathetic. She initially permits pride to take precedence over the well being of her child but even as she teeters on the precipice of idiotic behavior she continues to make digs at Vincent's character including his ability to be a father, despite her complete lack of knowledge about his abilities or intentions in that area. She in fact admits she has little experience with men and their children but only after making presumptions about his interests in fatherhood. Vincent makes claims as to Cassandra's belief in the power of love but nowhere in the novel is it established that they ever had a conversation of any depth prior to their one night together. No details on that are in the story. In fact the two characters seem to make baseless assumptions about each other at every turn which suggests an attempt to create antagonism for the sake of intrigue, despite the fact that there is no true justification for it. Cassandra is also a hypocrite. On one hand she has little problem enjoying the pleasantries of their relationship but at the same time, she takes the tack that their relationship will somehow become sordid if she agrees to be his mistress, ignoring that his fiancée would be no less betrayed after the fact than she would before the wedding. Letitia herself is a ridiculous character whose behavior is nonsensical and remarkably contrived. While Vincent is the sole saving grace of the plot, the later revelation of his character is a direct contradiction to his incomplete and ineffective portrayal as a standard rake. This would have been a wonderful development had it not been obvious that he was the single worthy and sympathetic character in the story from the beginning. Though the second half of the story was a definite improvement on the beginning, the only motivation to continue past the first half was to find out if the ridiculous characters improve. Fortunately they do, raising the quality of the story into solid mediocrity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    The Mistress Diaries ~ Julianne MacLean

    Lady Cassandra Montrose met Lord Vincent Sinclair at a ball immediately upon coming out of mourning. The attraction they instantly felt towards one another was palpable and undeniable. Impulsively, they left the ball and spent a single passion-filled night together that neither one would ever forget. One year later, Cassandra has no choice but to come to Vincent¿s home . . . but she is not alone. Vincent, a renowned rake and libertine, has recently become betrothed. He doesn¿t particularly want to get married, but his father, the Duke of Pembroke, has made a stipulation in his will that all four of his sons must be married by Christmas in order to gain their inheritance. When Vincent returns home to present his fiancée to his family, he is shaken by what he learns¿he has a daughter. ******* I really felt for Vincent. He has suffered tragedy in his past¿three years before, he was betrayed by the woman he had loved since childhood and his brother. That incident hardened his heart to not only his brother, but also to love. Now, he finds out that a former lover is in the palace at the same time that he has brought his fiancée home. Talk about being between a rock and a hard place! Ah, but then he meets his daughter for the first time. That scene is so sweet and so touching and you know that he isn¿t as heartless as he appears. ******* Cassandra has had her share of tragedy as well. She was married to a man who loved another, his mistress, until his death. After becoming pregnant (after her night with Vincent), she is shunned by friends and family, left completely destitute and has to work and scrape to make ends meet for her and her daughter. Upon learning from a physician that she hasn¿t long to live, Cassandra swallows her pride and brings her daughter to the palace in the hopes that the child will be cared for. When she is examined by the Pembroke doctor, she is told that all she needs is rest and nourishment. But, when Cassandra tries to leave with their daughter, Vincent doesn¿t want them to go. ******* Cassandra and Vincent are fantastic, well-written characters. Cassandra is proud and determined, but cannot resist Vincent and his charms for long. There were several times in the story when she could have done the ¿expected¿ thing, but I was grateful that Ms. MacLean didn¿t take the easy route. Cassandra was smart and stayed true to her character, and I absolutely respected that. Vincent wasn¿t always so cynical, but it took the love of the right woman to help him realize it and heal his heart. The scenes between Cassandra and Vincent were filled with sparkling dialogue and plenty of sexual tension. Ms. MacLean is one of those writers that shows you rather than tells you and it¿s one of the reasons why I am such a huge fan of her work. The Mistress Diaries is a fast paced read brimming with emotion that I highly recommend! 4.5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    a fine tale

    In 1873 widow Lady Cassandra Montrose and Lord Vincent Sinclair share passionate evening of lovemaking. Both consider the tryst a one night stand. However, to her consternation Cassandra, who believed she was barren, becomes pregnant and gives birth to a daughter.----------- One year has past since they made love. Due to inheritance pressure from his dad, Vincent is engaged to marry Lady Letitia Markham, daughter of a duke, when Cassandra arrives with their three month old child June that she has raised as a single mom. However, Cassandra fears she is dying so pleads with Vincent to raise their love child. He is stunned by instant desire to make love to his unexpected visitor. To care for her and their baby, he persuades her to pretend to be his mistress. However, that is not good enough for him as he wants her to be his wife and their child his legitimate offspring.------------ Although the underlying theme of a woman giving birth out of wedlock has been used quite frequently in contemporary romances, it is rare to see this ¿matchmaking¿ ploy applied to a Victorian. The story line is fast-paced as Cassandra, worried about June¿s well being, accepts Vincent¿s offer of her being his mistress neither consider marriage as an option even as their passion turns to love. Although Letitia comes across as a shrew, the lead couple makes for a fine tale as he must choose between inheritance and love acceptable behavior and scandal and duty and friendship. here is June for him to consider too. Juliana MacLean turns Vincent¿s options of for love or money into a fabulous Victorian romance.----------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Delightful Victorian Romance

    Julianne MacLean continues her delightful Pembroke Palace series for Avon with Book #2, THE MISTRESS DIARIES 'August 2008'. After a ball in 1873 England, Cassandra Montrose, Lady Colchester, decides to throw caution to the wind and experience one night of passion at a London hotel with the notorious rake, Lord Vincent Sinclair. Cassandra ¿ recently out in society again after a year in mourning for her late husband - decides Vincent is the perfect man for such an adventure before she goes on with her proper life, because he, too, wants only a single night of lovemaking. But during their torrid encounter, both feel an unexpected and intimate connection. Cassandra tells him of her loveless marriage and her inability to bear children. They even discuss a desire to see each other again. But by morning, Vincent is long gone. One year later, Lord Vincent returns home to Pembroke Palace with his future bride, Lady Letitia Markham, to plan their wedding. It is an arranged marriage, and since Letitia is a selfish and demanding beauty, Vincent is dreading their nuptials. When he arrives, his older brother, Devon, with whom he has a strained relationship, informs him that a baby has been left on the doorstep, and the mother of the child is upstairs. Vincent is shocked to see Cassandra again ¿ the fiery lover who claimed she was barren. Will he acknowledge his daughter and accept his responsibilities, or will he marry Letitia? Will Vincent reconcile with his brother Devon, and what about their father, who seems to be going mad and believes the palace is cursed? Here is a wonderfully unique Victorian romance with an entry from Cassandra¿s diary at the beginning of each chapter. Read the endearing, intriguing and passionate THE MISTRESS DIARIES to find out what Cassandra¿s and Vincent¿s fates will be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Story was boring.

    Story was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    It started with promise

    But towards the middle, I lost interest. I found thier development of feelings too rushed, and as another reviewer mentioned...I would have liked more back story and buildup. So just too rushed really. The story itself was unique at least. It broke from the usual formula...so it was a shame it did not all come together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2