Customer Reviews for

Mistress of Mellyn

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Excellent book!!

    This book has totally turned me on to Victoria Holt and gothic romance in general!!! I already have made lists of her other books to read!! The book is full of suspense, romance and mystery!! Enough so that you cannot put the book down. A must for all book lovers!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a reprint of a 1980s gothic romantic suspense that is fun to read though does show some age

    After their parents died, sisters Martha and Phillida Leigh moved in with Aunt Adelaide. She sponsors a season for each of her wards with Phillida making a good match while Martha failed. Now twenty-four years old and considered on the shelf, Martha has only one course of action: accepting a governess position, which is not easy to attain for someone with no experience.<BR/><BR/>However, Martha is fortunate that widower Lord Connan Tremellyn needs a governess for his difficult Alvean, who has recently run off three in one year; although in fairness the last one was actually run off by Connan's mistress Lady Treslyn accusing her of theft. As Martha tries to help the troubled Alvean, she falls in love with her employer. However, she begins to learn secrets that make her wonder what happened to Connan¿s first wife Alice as she now believes the woman did not ¿elope¿ with the neighbor Geoffrey Nansellock as his sister Celestine claims and that Alvean is not Connan¿s biological daughter. Her only ally she trusts is Geoffrey's mentally challenged other daughter Gillyflower when she realizes someone wants her dead; perhaps Connan.<BR/><BR/>This is a reprint of a 1980s gothic romantic suspense that is fun to read though does show some age as adhering to the rules in place back then for this sub-genre. Martha is marvelous as the beleaguered heroine wondering if the brooding hunk she loves is a murderer. With the Cornish castle serving as a backdrop, the gothic audience especially the fans of the late great Victoria Holt will enjoy the MISTRESS OF MELLYN.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic suspense.

    I first read this classic story back in 1988. It was, and still is, a classic suspense story by Victoria Holt. I was so thrilled to see it back in print again.

    Marty comes to Mount Mellyn to be a governess for the daughter of the master, Connan Tre Mellyn. While there, she discovers the truth about the relationship between Alvean and her father. She also wonders why Alice left her husband and child for a notorious philanderer. If you enjoy romantic suspense, then this story is for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Gothic at it's best

    I read this book obsessively for 2 days. And then i read it again! So satisfying. I cannot recommend Victoria Holt enough. I look forward to exploring her work under her many pen names as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    This was my favorite book as a child and still is. I am very happy that they decided to put it back into print.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic of Romantic Suspense for Good Reason

    This Gothic romance first published in 1960 is one of those rare romance novels I read as a teen that I remember--and remember fondly; it still holds up on a read decades later. These days you find Holt in the general fiction section in my neighborhood Barnes and Noble, not the romance section--indicative of its near classic status as a work of "romantic suspense." Set in Victorian-era Cornwall, the heroine, Martha, is entering a position as a governess at Mellyn. This is a well-written first person narrative, though the prose style isn't the equal of du Maurier or Stewart, it's better than all but a handful of the books found on the romance aisle. There are some memorable lines--Martha to someone flirting with her: &lt;i&gt;Since I resemble a hedgehog, at least I'm not spineless.&lt;/i&gt; And she isn't, although I think she harps too much on her lowly social status as a governess. Comparing her again to Stewart (and there are a number of similarities to Stewart's &lt;i&gt;Nine Coaches Waiting&lt;/i&gt;) Holt strikes me as melodramatic--but certainly atmospheric and spooky. I liked Martha's relationship with the two children in this story, Alvean and Gilly--the last so striking a character she's the clearest memory I had from my first read decades ago. The book works well as a mystery with a good twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Victoria Holt is #1!!!

    My sister got me interested in Victoria Holt -- oh geez -- must be at LEAST 30 years ago. And I've NEVER found another author to equal her writing ability!! It's just very sad she's no longer here to grace us with her great writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When the cover says "The Classic Novel of Romantic Suspense

    When the cover says &quot;The Classic Novel of Romantic Suspense&quot;, that is what it means!  Wow!  

    The romantic side of this story reminded me a bit of Jane Eyre.  You have a governess in charge of a spoiled girl who has a brooding father that the governess falls in love with.  However, the mystery/suspense side of this story was very new to me.  I did not know who could be trusted throughout the entire book.  And, the ending was fantastic.  The suspense was definitely the star in this story.  

    I found the romantic story line lacking.  I didn't believe the male lead when he said he was in love with the governess.  I didn't see their relationship grow.  And, I didn't understand why the governess loved him.  What did she see in this philandering, non-present father?

    The setting of this book was a character as well.  It took place in Cornwall (I had to look it up on a map).  There were cliffs and waves crashing.  There were different customs and ways of speaking as well.  The setting added to the mystery and feel of the book.

    Warnings: Philandering, murder, illegitimate children

    I would let my 15 year old read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Haunting thriller

    Settle in for a long haunting mystery romance. Holt is not about heat or great sex scenes. More about weaving an engaging thrilling tale with amazing imagery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fantastic story. I have always and will always prefer authors li

    Fantastic story. I have always and will always prefer authors like Holt, who can weave a tale of mystery, love, suspense, and romance, with interesting plots and engaging characters, without having to resort to shoehorning in new plot points, or to embarrassingly cliche-ridden sex scenes, over any &quot;romantic&quot; writer of today. (I'm not a prude, I just hate bad writing.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    very good story

    Story moves at a good pace and keeps your interest. Another hit by an excellent author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A Page Turning Book

    This book keep me turning the pages. It is full of romance, mystery and intrigue.
    I would highly recommend reading the book. I will read more books by Victoria Holt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    cant decide if i like this book

    Well I understand that it takes a while to get into one of Holt's novels. I read Spring of the Tiger and Night of the Seventh Moon and The Black Opals. They were all good books and they all started slow. However, this one seems to be very lacking in any of that gothic mystique or suspenseful wordplay. Maybe it's just because it is her first book and she was trying to find her voice. Anyway, read it if you want but dont expect too much. P.S. go Eli Manning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Too bad u only have 3 of her books

    I've read so many of her books as my mother was a fan. They really began my love of reading and she will never be equaled in her ability to weave a story that you always hate to see end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Loved it

    Victoria holt is a great gothic romance writer and i love all her books! Dont buy them when u can get free from library download or walk in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Very good

    My love of Victoria Holt started with some hardbacks that my husband inherited from his grandmother. This is a really good one of hers. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    AWESOME!!

    i really loved this book- it's romantic and very suspenseful with many ups and downs- beautifully written- i couldn't put it down!!! anyone who can read will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    IT'S A GREAT BOOK

    I loved this book. What makes it even mor interesting is that it was an assigned book that I had to read for my english class. I got soooooooooooo into this book. I hope you will to. I would read this book again. I recomend this book for anyone that has a big vocabulary. I loved this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2