Customer Reviews for

Mistress of Pleasure

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review by: The Reading Reviewer (marygramlich.com)

    Delilah Marvelle has a first time success with this wonderful and endearing book!

    Maybelle de Maitenon has known the grief of losing one's parent and being uprooted from your home at a young age. Since she was 15 she has lived with her Grand-mère and tried to recover from the embarrassment of knowing her grandmother lived the life of a courtesan. How is a woman to meet a man of respectability when your grandmother refuses to act the way it is expected in proper English society within the Ton.

    Lord Edmund Worthington, the sixth duke of Rutherford has known all these things as well and the ton has yet to let him forget the humiliation brought upon Edmund when his father committed suicide in the bed of his lover who happened to be Edmund's fiancé. Such mistakes are never forgiven or forgotten upon England's societal elite.

    Maybelle craves respectability and the freedom to travel to Egypt and see the Pyramids before they are completely pillaged by archeologists. Edmund fears the possibility of ever loving and depending on anyone else who could embarrass him and bring more shame upon his family. The last thing these two need is to ever meet!

    But fate has its own idea of how things should play out and everything changes one night when Maybelle decides it is time to experience everything about lovemaking and lust without attachment. When she encounters Edmund in the garden at a social event she boldly propositions him and without care or thought to sensibility they both start down a path that will forever change their lives. While Maybelle thought she was looking for a one night adventure what she all too soon discovers is the possibility of love and a lifetime of unbearable and exquisite pleasure. Edmund wants to take her as his wife and throw the respectability of the Ton in the wind but is that a possibility with a free spirit who is not quite ready to settle down and give up her hard fought for freedom.

    What happens next no one could expect but after Maybelle's grandmother suffers a stroke she is forced to take over the School of Gallantry where young men are taught the art of seduction, love making and pleasure. Maybelle has but one night of experience yet her grandmother feels that with her instruction and that one experience she will be able to lead these men through their lessons. What Maybelle doesn't know is Edmund is one of these men and she must not only teach him but fight off all his advances toward making her his wife. How can she possibly deal with her feelings for Edmund, maintain her freedom and try to achieve what might be a normal and proper life. This is the quandary facing Maybelle and how she works through it is both fascinating and very endearing.

    This first book for Delilah Marvelle is well written with well developed and interesting characters but also one that makes you feel not only the pain of loss but the excitement and passion of first love. Maybelle and Edmund are very tortured characters but you never feel they are wallowing in grief just trying to establish themselves with dignity in a world filled with very proper people leading most improper lives. I look forward to the other books in this series and know they will be as delightful as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    I fell in love with the characters that the Author has created.

    Likeable characters and very romantic escapism. Loved It.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Sexy and oh so good

    I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and read it...I was not disappointed. For her debut book --- Delilah had me in stitches I never laughed so hard in all my life when reading some of the scenes. The sexual tension between Edmund and Maybelle was so well written you could just feel it. The sex scenes were well written. Edmund's mother the Duchess was so down to earth and ruled her son with a firm but loving hand....I loved the way Edmund listen to his mother. Maybelle's grandmere was a woman before her time. Get comfy on your couch or favorite reading chair and kick back and enjoy a light-hearted funny read. I can't wait to read Hawksford story next. I'm looking forward to reading more books by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    HOT, HOT, HOT!!! Sinfully delicious!,

    It is only on occasion that I read a book in its entirety, but I read MISTRESS OF PLEASURE in one sitting. This book offeres a unique premise where the head-mistress of the School of Gallantry teaches men the art of seduction. I was surprised by how emotionally connected I became to Edmund and Maybelle as well as the other characters in the story. This was a fun, witty read, laced with tons of sexual tension and wicked play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Delilah Marvelle has a first time success with this wonderful and endearing book!

    Maybelle de Maitenon has known the grief of losing one¿s parent and being uprooted from your home at a young age. Since she was 15 she has lived with her Grand-mère and tried to recover from the embarrassment of knowing her grandmother lived the life of a courtesan. How is a woman to meet a man of respectability when your grandmother refuses to act the way it is expected in proper English society within the Ton. Lord Edmund Worthington, the sixth duke of Rutherford has known all these things as well and the ton has yet to let him forget the humiliation brought upon Edmund when his father committed suicide in the bed of his lover who happened to be Edmund¿s fiancé. Such mistakes are never forgiven or forgotten upon England¿s societal elite. Maybelle craves respectability and the freedom to travel to Egypt and see the Pyramids before they are completely pillaged by archeologists. Edmund fears the possibility of ever loving and depending on anyone else who could embarrass him and bring more shame upon his family. The last thing these two need is to ever meet! But fate has its own idea of how things should play out and everything changes one night when Maybelle decides it is time to experience everything about lovemaking and lust without attachment. When she encounters Edmund in the garden at a social event she boldly propositions him and without care or thought to sensibility they both start down a path that will forever change their lives. While Maybelle thought she was looking for a one night adventure what she all too soon discovers is the possibility of love and a lifetime of unbearable and exquisite pleasure. Edmund wants to take her as his wife and throw the respectability of the Ton in the wind but is that a possibility with a free spirit who is not quite ready to settle down and give up her hard fought for freedom. What happens next no one could expect but after Maybelle¿s grandmother suffers a stroke she is forced to take over the School of Gallantry where young men are taught the art of seduction, love making and pleasure. Maybelle has but one night of experience yet her grandmother feels that with her instruction and that one experience she will be able to lead these men through their lessons. What Maybelle doesn¿t know is Edmund is one of these men and she must not only teach him but fight off all his advances toward making her his wife. How can she possibly deal with her feelings for Edmund, maintain her freedom and try to achieve what might be a normal and proper life. This is the quandary facing Maybelle and how she works through it is both fascinating and very endearing. This first book for Delilah Marvelle is well written with well developed and interesting characters but also one that makes you feel not only the pain of loss but the excitement and passion of first love. Maybelle and Edmund are very tortured characters but you never feel they are wallowing in grief just trying to establish themselves with dignity in a world filled with very proper people leading most improper lives. I look forward to the other books in this series and know they will be as delightful as this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Witty and snort aloud sexy.

    Witty and snort aloud sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    I want more Delilah Marvelle

    Ever read a book and its almost too good? Thats how I felt about this book. I didn't want it to end. I read slowly. I treated it like a decadent dessert. I wanted to savor each morsel, each character and each moment of sexual tension. Trust me...there is sexual tension. Sometimes when a new author publishes a book-well I'm a little hesitant to pick up the book. It is the first book after all. Well this book has made me rethink my smallmindedness. Delilah Marvelle with her refreshing voice and warm sensuality quickly became my FAVORITE AUTHOR. I look forward to reading many of her books. This lady has talent and I certainly can't wait to read her next book, Lord of Pleasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Great Read

    Totally enjoyed reading this book. Could not put it down. Engaging characters and excellent story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Original. Hot and Happy

    This is a very intruiging book. It manages to lace more than a usual level of sensuality into a very interesting and funny story. I was in stiches during many of the scenes, especially between the hero and the students. The author has created a fantastic amount of tension, a remarkable heroine, and a yummy hero. The School of Gallantry? Sign me up.... and my Boyfriend too. I won't give you a play by play of the plot, I think the excerpt does a good job. But if you want to be fanning yourself and get a nice dose of comedy at the same time, Mistress of Pleasure will do the trick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2