Customer Reviews for

The Mistress's Daughter

Average Rating 2.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My thoughts exactly!

I am adopted & have always known it. I met my biological mothers side of the family about 5 years ago. I have yet to meet his side. Many of the thoughts she expressed in this book I have had myself. I was disappointed in her use of the terms "mom" & "dad". Just bec...
I am adopted & have always known it. I met my biological mothers side of the family about 5 years ago. I have yet to meet his side. Many of the thoughts she expressed in this book I have had myself. I was disappointed in her use of the terms "mom" & "dad". Just because they procreated doesn't mean they are your parents. Your parents are the people who raised you. Perhaps there were problems with her parents that she didn't touch on. I just thought that part a little off putting. All in all a very well written book though.

posted by MisTom3 on March 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I disliked this book very much because of the author's behavior toward her biological mother who wanted to have a relationship with her. The mother did what she thought was best for the child by giving her up for adoption and yet she was rejected by an ungrateful daugh...
I disliked this book very much because of the author's behavior toward her biological mother who wanted to have a relationship with her. The mother did what she thought was best for the child by giving her up for adoption and yet she was rejected by an ungrateful daughter. I found the pain she caused her mother totally unacceptable.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Very Disappointing

    I disliked this book very much because of the author's behavior toward her biological mother who wanted to have a relationship with her. The mother did what she thought was best for the child by giving her up for adoption and yet she was rejected by an ungrateful daughter. I found the pain she caused her mother totally unacceptable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    The Case for Abortion

    Holmes has written a book that is fraught with anger and revenge. Image the expectant mother considering her choices and wants to offer her baby for adoption only to fear the consequences outlined in 'Mistress' Daughter'. Ms Holmes reveals how she stalked her biological father and dismissed and rejected her dying mother. Imagine again the prospective adoptive parents seeing their future adopted child cast aside the upper-middle class priveledged life her new family offered filled with the best of Ivy-League education and real advantages. Ms Holmes is consumed by the need for someone to pay for her unhappiness 'from what you keep asking'. She wants no part of the penniless dying mother but goes directly for the 'pay dirt' she invisions from her biological wealthy father. She 'won't be ignored' a la 'Fatal Attraction' and seems surprised that her newly found family rejects her seige mentality. This book is another me-generation anthemn that uses any fear or hurt, real or imaged as the basis for 'setting the record straight' whatever the consequences. Speaking of straight Ms Holmes gets that wrong too. She delights in word games about her sexuality. She plays with the subject as if she enjoys confusing the readers and the public. I look forward to the book to be written some years from now by her daughter holding Ms Holmes accountable for every uncertainty and failed expectation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    depressing and self centered

    For some reason my husband purchased this book for me.

    The premise of this book, adult adopted child finds biological parents, offered some promise. However the author slogged us through her depressing experience with her new found parents, sometimes peppered with sarcastic humor, to the point that I stopped reading the book. There was nothing inspiring in the tale, no indication that the author would rise above the situation, no relief from her self pity.

    Lynn in San Diego

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Mommy Terrorist

    In spite of what many would describe as an ideal upper-middle class life Ms Homes takes us on a journey downward where she condemns almost everyone that ever attempted to help her. Yes, she was surrounded by various flawed characters, aren't we all? The difference here is that she intends to makes each of us pay to view her very public flogging of her family seeking revenge and retribution. The more she describes the family she has apparently grown to despise the more she seems exactly like the characters she condemns In the not too distant past one forgave those that unintentionally hurt us. Ms Homes is not satisfied until she makes everyone pay (including us). Sell tickets to your classless revenge play somewhere else

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Mistress's Daughter

    When the first part of the book was published in 'The New Yorker' several years, I was very interested, but this expanded book was a disappointment. I guess she had a contract to finish it, and the result is the original article, slightly expanded, followed by a less-than-useful account of her internet search for genelogy. The author's bitterness is hard to take. Life is short seek out answers from people who can provide them. So many other books provide a positive, life-affirming view of adoption, and I think your time is better spend reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Mistress's Daughter

    With the 'New Yorker' magazine article publication, it felt like Homes finally consummated numerous compelling revelations about her adoption and subsequent events. It's nonspecificity made her thoughts cosmopolitan and alluring. Her wretchedness seemed intolerable. Her fiction works had authentication. Her book is the antithesis of sophisticated essay. The more explicit her details, the less the essence of her chronicle rivet the reader. Malevolence supplanted empathetic humanism. Indubitably, Homes's adoption lacerated her intellect birthing her fiction. 30 years later, trying to ferret out the cipher from strangers & promiscuous documents is absurd. Her 'imagining my mother' 'page. 130, etc.' is fiction, not memoir. It diminishes the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Mistress's Daughter

    After reading the superior 'The Woman Who Raised Me,' this book was like a slap in the face. If you need any more proof of the young woman's bitterness at being adopted, google her name and listen to one of the several interviews online. Her other books make me wonder why no one flagged her writings like that boy at Virginia Tech. She seems disturbed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1