BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mists of Avalon (Avalon Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(389)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Addition to Arthurian Literature

Marion Zimmer Bradley gives a refreshing and poignant retelling of the King Arthur legend...from Morgaine's perspective. Traditionally portrayed as an evil seductress, Bradley has Morgaine as the narrator of the story, and offers insight into the characters' motivation...
Marion Zimmer Bradley gives a refreshing and poignant retelling of the King Arthur legend...from Morgaine's perspective. Traditionally portrayed as an evil seductress, Bradley has Morgaine as the narrator of the story, and offers insight into the characters' motivations, feelings and reasons for their actions. Each character ultimately affects the final outcome of King Arthur's rule.

What I enjoyed most about this novel was how the author places Arthur in a more historical setting (c. late 6th century A.D.). Bradley's portrayals of Morgaine, Arthur, Guinevere, Lancelot and Merlin bring a more human aspect to these famous persons.

Bradley also does an amazing job of discussing the religious and political conflicts during Arthur's reign, specifically between the followers of the Goddess and the emerging Chrisitian religion.

If you enjoy romance, historical fiction, epic stories, or just a good read, Bradley's 'The Mists of Avalon' won't disappoint you.

posted by Anthrogrl on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book is much too long. Also, she could have told the story

This book is much too long. Also, she could have told the story without inserting the anti-Christian sentiment. This is possibly one of my least favorite books of all time!

posted by 192852 on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Addition to Arthurian Literature

    Marion Zimmer Bradley gives a refreshing and poignant retelling of the King Arthur legend...from Morgaine's perspective. Traditionally portrayed as an evil seductress, Bradley has Morgaine as the narrator of the story, and offers insight into the characters' motivations, feelings and reasons for their actions. Each character ultimately affects the final outcome of King Arthur's rule.

    What I enjoyed most about this novel was how the author places Arthur in a more historical setting (c. late 6th century A.D.). Bradley's portrayals of Morgaine, Arthur, Guinevere, Lancelot and Merlin bring a more human aspect to these famous persons.

    Bradley also does an amazing job of discussing the religious and political conflicts during Arthur's reign, specifically between the followers of the Goddess and the emerging Chrisitian religion.

    If you enjoy romance, historical fiction, epic stories, or just a good read, Bradley's 'The Mists of Avalon' won't disappoint you.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    The Mists of Avalon

    This was the BEST book I read this year!!! It touched every emotion. It was historical, magical, mystical and absolutely wonderful. A must read.
    Many thanks to the author, Mary Zimmer Bradley.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book and I can't get it out of my head, I have never read a book as good as this one and I keep trying to find one as good. Zimmer Knows how to get the feelings of everyone in the book into your heart and the detail is amazing. If you have not read this book it is a must read.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This amazing book set the course of my life!

    I was 14 when I plucked a dusty copy of The Mists of Avalon off a shelf in my grandfather's basement. My life was never the same. I had always loved myths and legends, and was fond of the King Arthur tales I read as a little girl. But it was this book that revealed to me my true path in life. I fell completely in love with Morgen Le Fay and was captivated by the perspective it took on Arthurian lore. This book truly showed me my true course in life, and I am now preparing to begin my PhD in Medieval Studies. I used this book heavily in my master's thesis, and was surprised to find that although I was reading it for the 3rd time, it still incited great feelings of emotion in me, feelings of anguish, passion, repulsion, and love. You truly fall in love and connect with Bradley's characters, who seem to come to life before you. She is a brilliant author and this book is an eye-opener and a feast for the senses.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    I loved this book

    I read this a few years ago when a friend recomended it to me. I hadn't read any fantasy novels but I love historical fiction and mythology so I thought I'd give it a shot. It's one of the best stories I've read. That said, I come from a very religious family so I should say that Christians should avoid this book It's is a very anti-christian book and has some sexual content.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Enchanting novel

    I first read this book as part of my English class in college. However, it became so much more than just a class project to me. A lot of people found the novel too long--or not to their Christian taste--but it captivated me like no other novel before it. The story of Morgaine and the dying paganism is heart-wrenching and beautiful. I've thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I'm a guy too. This goes to show that despite the book's very feminine tone, it can still be enjoyed by men. I'm so glad I bought this ebook version. Now I can carry the book with me always and it won't be so heavy and bulky.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Amazing!

    It's a very in depth story that draws you in, and keeps you reading it until the end. A must read especially if you are pagan. It will make you cheer, cry, and laugh along with the chacters through their triumphs and failures. She had rewritten the Legends and given them new shade and color, telling the story through the women involved.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    The best

    This is absolutely one of the best books I have ever read without a shadow of a doubt. It gives so much more perspective and outlook on (all) religion regardless of what you are. It is realistically set and beautifully told. I read this day and night-to the point where I barely slept. It is best read when you read the Avalon trilogy in chronological order, though. It sets a whole new light on early Britain around 450-500 A. D. This is one of the classics, and will always be a book on my shelf no matter how long I live.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I read this book in the 8th grade. It was the longest novel I ha

    I read this book in the 8th grade. It was the longest novel I had ever taken on and I couldn't put it down. I am way older now, and to this day, this is the number one book on my list to recommend to anyone. I absolutely loved it then and still do now! Wonderful storytelling! I love the classic tale of King Arthur, and I love the telling of the story from a women's POV!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I bought this version for a friend.........I still have my original that I've read at least 6 times by now. The well researched book offers a whole different realm of possibilities for that time of our history.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    To that one question...

    To the person who asked about the downloads, i had no problem with it. It didn't seem to take up more space than any other book, either. Go for it! Great book, everyone should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Wonderful book

    I think this book would be interesting to many King Arthur's investigators :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly Inspired Writing

    I love all of the Avalon books by Bradley, but none of them seemed to touch the rare beauty that's found within these pages. The women are strong, beautiful, and individual. One of my favorite books of all time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    I've read The Mists of Avalon a number of times since being intr

    I've read The Mists of Avalon a number of times since being introduced to it for a college literature class. It is deeply engrossing and wonderful enough to warrant subsequent reads. It is likely that you'll be glad you chose to invest time in this book and its characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Amazing,magical book!

    This book was absolutely amazing! When reading it, you get this feeling that for the first time you are hearing the true story behind the legend of Camelot. In the book, the Lady of the Lake is able to part the mists between Avalon and our world. This book does the same thing to the reader, IT IS the Lady of the Lake, able to take you beyond the Mysts into the hidden realms of Avalon...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Whats not to love?

    The intersection of history, mythology, religion, politics, love and betrayal. Fantastic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Amazing

    Lil slow to start.. but amazing worth buying. Something i actually wouldnt mind reading again either

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Epic


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Wonderful

    One of my favorite books of all time. Well written, wonderfully imagined, and beautifully executed. Lovely, lovely read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Al

    Hiya! Come to ism res 3! Quick! If youre locked out, come to sru res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 389 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20