Customer Reviews for

Mistwood

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

Isabel is the Shifter. She is bound to protect the kings of Samorna at all costs. When she is not needed, she resides in her forest, Mistwood. When they need her, she goes to the castle.

When Prince Rokan comes for her in Mistwood, she does not remember why she had l...
Isabel is the Shifter. She is bound to protect the kings of Samorna at all costs. When she is not needed, she resides in her forest, Mistwood. When they need her, she goes to the castle.

When Prince Rokan comes for her in Mistwood, she does not remember why she had left Samorna many years ago. She also doesn't remember how to change forms. Isabel knows the prince needs her to be the Shifter. But she also knows that he is lying to her. The truth can change everything, and Isabel must make a choice.

MISTWOOD is a beautifully written debut novel. Isabel is a confused character who in the end figures everything out. I'm not that big on reading fantasy, but I loved this storyline. I thought the idea of a Shifter was really cool, and the twists and turns in the plot kept me guessing on what was going to happen in the end. I didn't see the *almost* end coming, which always makes a good book even better.

My only problem with the novel was the actual ending. I didn't care for it because it was very abrupt, and it left a cliffhanger. I really wanted to know how things were going to happen, but the story just ends. But other than that, as I said, this was a wonderful book, and I look forward to reading more by Ms. Cypess!

posted by TeensReadToo on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

why did i pick this book?

bored to death i literally fell asleep it didnt have a good support backround

posted by 2876620 on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

    Isabel is the Shifter. She is bound to protect the kings of Samorna at all costs. When she is not needed, she resides in her forest, Mistwood. When they need her, she goes to the castle.

    When Prince Rokan comes for her in Mistwood, she does not remember why she had left Samorna many years ago. She also doesn't remember how to change forms. Isabel knows the prince needs her to be the Shifter. But she also knows that he is lying to her. The truth can change everything, and Isabel must make a choice.

    MISTWOOD is a beautifully written debut novel. Isabel is a confused character who in the end figures everything out. I'm not that big on reading fantasy, but I loved this storyline. I thought the idea of a Shifter was really cool, and the twists and turns in the plot kept me guessing on what was going to happen in the end. I didn't see the *almost* end coming, which always makes a good book even better.

    My only problem with the novel was the actual ending. I didn't care for it because it was very abrupt, and it left a cliffhanger. I really wanted to know how things were going to happen, but the story just ends. But other than that, as I said, this was a wonderful book, and I look forward to reading more by Ms. Cypess!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Amazing!

    This was UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING AND BRILLIANT. I am at a loss of words at how it left me. I never knew what was coming, and all the characters were so well rounded that they left me yelling at the pages when every chapter ended although I would have liked the secondary characters explored a bit more.


    I just HAD to find out what would happen next. Not reading it would be like an a drug addict quitting on drugs--bad comparison, but really, I couldn't stop reading. In all the pages, it packs suspense and mystery. It was rivetting going through everything Isabel went through throughout the book as she discovered herself.


    I never expected to like it this much, not to mention love it. Even though toward the end it became a teensy bit predictable, I didn't really care. The plot is indeed amazing with subtle romance and a great big hunk of mystery.

    Definitely appealing. I really recommend this to everyone! On the back of the book, it says "For fans of Kristin Cashore..." I could see how it was similar with a girl protecting a prince and all, but it is surely really, really special in its own way. I have been told not to compare books by completely different authors so I'll just shut up for now. Shift-shapers are now my favorite supernatural creatures!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This book was a nice surprise. I think I found a new favorite author. Its nice that the story isn't dragged out as a trilogy but with this and the author's other series, its more of a 2 parter. I'm okay with that.

    Anyway Mistwood is one of those books that I've been wanting to read for a while now. I see it sometimes as a suggestion but hadn't gotten around to reading it until after reading the Death Marked series.

    With Mistwood I went in knowing nothing, my expectations low. I found this to be a really good book. What I like about Cypess's books so far are that the pacing isn't slow well sometimes but you don't really mind it. That and the writing makes up for it. The descriptions of what goes through the main characters and what they think of their situation and etc, is really well done.

    I also like the character of Isabel/Shifter. One of my new favorite characters who actually like does something isn't of just pondering what she'll do. But she shows she does have flaws and isn't sure of everything and I like that. Plus her scenes with Rokan. It was nice that it started off not as a romance but they merely talk and get to know one another. All the while question what they think they know about the other, etc and I like that.

    Nice of change of pace than the usual the two characters fall each other right off the bat or just stare at each other or something.

    Just when I think something will turn out one way it turns out the other so I appreciate that the book tries to take the story and characters in a direction even if you can kind of tell how it will end. But at the same time I don't mind that and like the book even more for it. Overall, loved it and looking forward to the author's next series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've procrastinated reading Mistwood for a long time; in fact, I

    I've procrastinated reading Mistwood for a long time; in fact, I probably wouldn't have picked it up yet if this hadn't been a prescheduled review. I wasn't a fan of the cover and even though the summary sounded cool, I didn't feel a need to pick it up.

    Do not make my mistake of putting off reading this.

    Stop whatever you're reading if you have this in your to be read pile and pick it up. Now.

    Yes, you.

    I mean it. Go pick it up.

    Mistwood has got to be one of the best books I have read since I started WORD - I know I said that about contemporaries and Deb Caletti's Stay, but I mean it about all the books I've read. Maybe it's because the book is fresh in my mind as I'm writing this and I haven't gone back to reread it and look for flaws, but damn, this was a good book.

    I mean, let's start with the plot. You have a Shifter who doesn't remember being the Shifter; she simply knows she is. You have the intricacies of the court itself and how the Shifter has to try to protect the Prince. And you have the prince lying to her. And then you have the most fantastic plot twist at the end that made me gasp and giggle and go, "That makes sense! Why didn't I think of that!?" Each thread of the plot came together in an unexpected way that still managed to make sense. I loved it.

    Then there's the characters. The Shifter (Isabel) was bloody amazing. I loved her. It's been a long time since I've enjoyed reading about somebody so thoroughly, especially in a fantasy; the characters are usually interesting but balanced with a good plot for which I prefer. But the Shifter was so decidedly unique that I loved seeing what she was thinking and how she was thinking and her development throughout the story as secret after secret came to life. The other characters - Clarisse and Daria in particular - were interesting to read about and see how they played the court and everything to their advantage. Isabel was the best, though.

    Maybe it's because I'm in excessive fangirl mode at the moment - I write reviews almost immediately after reading books - but this just worked it's way onto my favorites shelf. It's been a long time since I read a fantasy, especially young adult fantasy, with such a fantastic characters and plot. (And world! I'm cutting the review short because I can ramble on for a while, but the world and the Mistwood in particular were well crafted for such a short time spent talking about them.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I really liked this book. Enough mystery to keep me interested & fast paced action as well as just a touch of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Unique

    This wasnt likt the rest of ya and im glad for it. Enjoyed the perspective and the main character. If i had to compare her to another protagonist it would be katsa... or fire too. Good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Best book i ever read in YEARS!!!!!!!!

    This is my favorite book alongside Enders Game, The nine pound hammer, Claire de Lune and Moon-Linked. I did'nt expect the ending. Hoping for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Beyond YA

    I purchased this book for my daughter but ended up reading it myself too. What makes the book YA is not so much the youth of the main characters as the theme of a young woman finding her own place in an unfamiliar world. However, the story is full of adult themes (in the sense of depth and honesty) that would appeal to mature readers. The ending is especially striking. I had many serious and interesting discussions with my daughter on the choices made the protagonist toward the end. Indeed, the matter stays in mind.

    The story has a certain contest-of-wills, duel-of-minds character, much of it revolving around the character of Clarisse, who's among the most memorable secondary characters in the books I've read (and I have read a lot).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was magnificent!! its terribly mysterious, sexy, and epic the whole way through!!! It didn't take me that long to read because I just couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    Mistwood is by far one of my favorite books, alongside the Hunger Games trilogy and the Gracelings. I love the way that it always keeps you guessing, right from the very beginning, and the impossible choice at the end. But don't just take my word for it; read it for yourself! You won't be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    Very good and it keeps you reading until the VERY last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Fascinating book!

    I bought this book because some reviewers said it was similar to Graceling. And it was, but it was also completely different.

    The Shifter is a creature of legend. It is said it can change shape into anything, be it animal, wind, or mist. It also has abilities far beyond normal, such as being faster, smarter, and deadlier than anybody. The Shifter is bound to the kings of Samorna, as their protector. The Shifter's duty is to protect the royal family at all costs. When it is not needed, it retreats into the Mistwood, where it remains until called upon once more.
    Isabel has no memory of the time before Prince Rokan entered Mistwood to call upon her protection. She does not remember the circumstances that caused her to leave before, and she does not know to what she is returning.
    Soon, she's thrust into court, where she must find what stands in her Prince's way to the throne, and stop it before it can become a threat. However, she never expected this threat to change her mind about Rokan.
    Isabel must make a choice. Whichever path she chooses, she will feel torn inside, as she tries to figure out who she supports.

    This book was amazing! I seriously recommend this to anybody who has a love for medieval sorts of stories. I definitely set this book onto my list of favorites!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    Mistwood

    I seriously just finished it about 20 minutes ago. I loved it. I was entertained the whole time. It had a lot of action and I love it when I have a book in my hand and can never put it down. This is one of those books! The characters are so cool. Heres the reason i picked it.... the main characters name is my mane too (Isabel) and then i read the summary and couldn't help but take it off the shelf! Try reading it. It's great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    Mistwood

    Mistwood
    Leah Cypress
    Green Willow
    ISBN-978-0-0695699-7
    Fiction
    Kathleen, 6th grade, VAPA

    The Shifter

    " She knew ever inch of the forest, every narrow path that twisted and wound it's way beneath the silver branches. They should have never been able to find her. She should have been up and away long before the horses' sent came to her, and very long before the sound of men whispering drifted to her ears. through the trees or n them, even above them, she could have fled in an instant. or hidden herself so well that they could have sour the forest for days and never find her." Pg. 1

    The shifter remembers nothing. she remembers nothing till Prince Rokan comes and takes her to the castle. Prince Rokan calls her Isabel, her name from her last serving. Isabel can't remember how to use her powers, or whoh she is. All the kings from Samorna, especially Rokan need a shifter. THey need her ability to shift from animal form, to wind, and mist. But what they need the most is her loyalty. Isabel can tell that Rokan i snot telling her the truth, but she still has this urge to protect him from the dangers of the court, untill she finds out what he is lying about/ Now, Isabel has to make a decision, either to protect him even though he is lying or run and go back to the shaty of her forest. But id that reall where she belongs?

    Mistwoom is a mystical story that put a spell over me as soon as i read the first page. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes magic content and a little action. This is a type of book that leaves you wantiong more and more! Leah Cypess is a wonderful writer, she makes you relate and fall in love with the characters. Mistwood is for boys and girls, the ages 12 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling, Beautiful, and Mysterious

    MISTWOOD by Leah Cypess is a robust tale of royalty, deception, self-discovery, romance and a decent amount of the paranormal. As we follow Isabel throughout the story, we learn more about her and the memories that slowly come back to her. Snatches of memory and good reasoning skills allows Isabel to discover that Rokhan may not be who he truly seems although the compulsion of the Shifter magic forces her to protect him anyway. Uncovering more about Isabel and Rokhan, we find ourselves in the midst of deception. Full of sorcerers, princes, princesses, kings and the Shifter, MISTWOOD is a wonderful tale of magic and the strength of the human spirit.

    Originally drawn to MISTWOOD by the beautiful cover, I was amazed at just how good the story was. Isabel is unlike many of the shape-shifters that we see nowadays. Ms. Cypess has done an amazing job of creating her own world and her own set of rules. What really made this book fantastic was how well she stuck to those rules. I have experienced many paranormal books where suddenly the characters could do things that had been impossible for them to do previously in the story. Here, Ms. Cypess gives Isabel her quirks and limitations while actually sticking to them. That made the story much more believable and realistic, which is great for something so full of magic.

    Relationships played a major role in MISTWOOD. As Isabel learns more about herself and uncovers the truths about others, we see relationships grow and falter. This is more than a single week of time in the life of some girl. While not covering a huge expanse of time, this book does seem to cover quite a large expanse of events. Ms. Cypess does a fantastic job of allowing the story to ebb and flow throughout the book, giving us little mini adventures and allowing each event to come Isabel's way to really shine. When I said that the story was robust, that really is the best way to describe it. MISTWOOD is a very full story with plenty of twists and turns. Every time it felt like the story was coming to a close, something else would happen that would keep our heroine constantly moving forward.

    For me, the true test of a story is how long it stays in one's mind after the final page has turned. With the plot twists throughout the book and especially at the end of the story, I believe MISTWOOD will stay with me for a while. This story is dark and mysterious, the lies surrounding Rokhan and the loss of Isabel's memory aiding the mystical feel of the book. The way in which this book has fully wrapped around my mind is evidence of Ms. Cypess's clear writing style and beautiful story development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2