BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mitford Years: At Home in Mitford, A Light in the Window, These High, Green Hills, and Out to Canaan

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    You can go home

    I don't think it's an exageration to say this is an American classic. Karon's simple writing style delivers a homey setting. At Home in Mitford has no plot but merely chronicles the Mayberry RFD-type happenings in a rural community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Cannot Get Enough

    I absolutely love these books. The narrator also makes each of the characters seem so real. I feel like the Mitford crew are my family and cannot get enough of these books - I am always disappointed when one ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    Will Put A Smile In Your Heart

    Simply put, Jan Karon puts a smile in your heart. Her stories are warm and uplifting, and take you to a place where simple pleasures are enjoyed. Reminds me of writing by Kirk Martin in an incredible new book, Shade of the Maple. Very powerful ending that reinforces the honor of commitment and moves you to hopeful tears! Both authors seem to have an inspirational flair to their writing that is wholesome and uplifting. I always look forward to more from Jan Karon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Feels Like Going Home

    Jan Karon's books take me back to my small town roots as a pastor's daughter! I love all her characters. They teach us so much by just being who they are. - And they are so real that you feel you know each one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    A Wonderful Escape to an Ideal Place

    Reading these books gives you a sense of belonging to a place we all wish existed in our lives. After a few pages, you become a member of the community and feel as if you can actually see the characters. I read all the time, but I don't think I have ever felt the way I do about these four books. EVERYONE should read these books - they will be so happy they did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    Father Tim !!!! We Love You!!!

    Sept.25 2001 Mitford is one of the nicest places in the world. I started reading ' A New Song' the cover just caught my eye ,That was the beginning of a reading frenzy. I could not get enough. From there , it has been a wonderful journey. I can not express how good this series is. I felt like I was home. Can't wait for the next book so I can go back home. READ THEM ALL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    You'll Fall in Love with Mitford!

    I have to admit that this was the best series I have ever read. I couldn't wait to get to the next book. Wonderful development of characters endears you to them - you'll cry when they cry and laugh when they laugh. I would suggest this to ANYONE of any age. Absolutely fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    Intrigue, Charm, Intelligence, Down-Home Sophistication (an oxymoron? not in Karon's books!), Romance

    What a wonderful read, from At Home in Mitford to A Common Life! Every word was eagerly digested! My husband frequently asks 'another one?' My sisters and I have everyone we know reading them, and have our book stores scouring for other authors with similar writing style...but alas, none can compare! A friend (retired school librarian) regaled us with tales of Blowing Rock, admonishing us to go, saying that one can trek through the town and find everything totally familiar! What a love! A very part of my own family, my sisters and I will have everyone we know at her upcoming conference in Waco (Oct 2001)! I have but one question for our favorite author: can you please write faster????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    FABULOUS

    These books are a dream! What joy you acquire just reading them- but good luck putting them down!!! I suggest a bowl of bon bons, something to sip on and all 5 of the books. I may just re-read them!! Wonderful- I love Dooley. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Jan Karon, I adore your books!

    These are books that I don't ever want to finish. Please, Jan Karon, keep writing them - Fr. Tim and friends are my friends, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    JAN KARON HAS CAPTURE MY HEART

    I AM HOOKED, I FEEL AS THOUGH I KNOW DULEY, CYNTHIA,FATHER TIM ALL OF THEM. IT GIVES YOU A WARM FEELING OF BEING HOME, A COMFORTABLE PLACE A FRIENDLY PLACE. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE NEXT SERIES. WHEN I'M NOT READING, I MISS THEM. EVERYONE SHOULD READ THE MITFORD YEARS. DULEY WILL STEAL YOUR HEART .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Easy, enjoyable reading

    This series is delightful. It has romance, adventure, mystery and humor. You fall in love with the characters and are always looking forward to the next book. Great for ages 16 to 90.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    I've Discovered a New Home...

    After reading the likes of King, Koontz and Grisham for the last several years, the first few chapters of 'At Home In Mitford' seemed so tame, I wondered if my new read would continue to hold my interest. I couldn't have been further from the truth! As I read on, I became enchanted with the wholesome and witty characters of the small, but far from sleepy, southern mountain town. I found myself longing for more and more from Father Tim and Karon's colorful cast of characters! My friend had lent me the entire series, 'The Mitford Years', and as I finished one book, I promptly went on to the next. I am ready and raring to start the 3rd, 'These High, Green Hills'. Need a change of pace? Do yourself a favor and latch on to 'At Home in Mitford'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    HIGH RECOMMENDATION!

    I am so crazy about Father Tim and the residents that live in Mitford that I find myself talking about them like they're old friends. I went to a cook-out this weekend and took Esther's Orange Marmalade double-layer cake along. What laughter when my 'real' friends found out that Esther is a character in the Mitford books. By the way, the cake was excellent and you can find the recipe on Jan Karon's web site (address on inside cover of most paperbacks). I think you will find Jan's books to be heartwarming, thought-provoking, and generally wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2000

    This Would Make a Marvelous Miniseries!

    I'm midway through the second book in The Mitford Years series, and I can't stop reading. How can you fail to come up with a winner when the ingredients include small town humor and warmth, (not to mention some real characters) a peek into the heart of a special man of the cloth, dogs, kids...it's all there! I just want it to go on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    found a 2nd home

    For anyone who longs or does live in a small community, this is the book series for you, THe main character is a espicipalian priest, who finds love late in life, through many avenues, pets, children, homeless and a lovely widowed neighbor. This is not just simply a love story, this is a journey ... it is wonderful, will make you laught right out loud, and wipe a tear from your cheek. I just finished the 4th novel, and am off to get the 5th, and may just start over with the first again when done with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1