BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mitten

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I love this book

    I didn't read the e-book, but the paper one has AMAZING illustrations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    wow!

    this was a amazing book! i love the pictures and the writing is so lyrical and easy to picture!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A VERRRRRY STRETCHY MITTEN!

    I purchased this charming Ukrainian Folktale book for the purpose of "telling" it to children ages 7 and 8 at a DPS elementary school where I do storytelling once a month to five classes of combined first/second grade students. However, for kids in this age group, I felt it was necessary to enlarge quite a bit upon the basic story line, which was actually quite easy to do with Baba and Nicki's characters, and even more so with each of the unexpected variety of animals who manage to squeeze their way into that verrry stretchy mitten! My young listeners remained happily engaged and responsive throughout the 'telling' and were also delighted with the marvelous illustrations, which I showed afterwards. The clever illustrations on the sides of each page of this book actually could tell the basic story without the use words at all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Love this book

    We adore Jan Brett books in this house, but "The Mitten" is a particular favorite. ("The Hat" is a close second.) A great story about a boy who begs his grandmother to knit him white mittens with the promise he will not lose them. Of course, he loses one, but many woodland friends find it and make it their home. Classic folk story style illustrations with clever hints of what's to come in the sidebar illustrations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    beautiful story and illustrations. I'm buying this for my Grandd

    beautiful story and illustrations. I'm buying this for my Granddaughter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    "I liked the book because the author made the characters fu

    "I liked the book because the author made the characters funny and come to life.  I would rate it a 4 star book."
    "Jan Brett wrote the book to entertain us, and that means make us laugh.  She also wrote the book so we could follow all the things in order and remember the steps.  I think this book gets 5 stars."
    "The pictures in this book made me see what the words were telling and it was easier to remember who went in the mitten by reading and looking at the pictures.  It is a 5 star book."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I remember my mom reading this book to me it hold a lot of memor

    I remember my mom reading this book to me it hold a lot of memories and happy warm nights

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorites!

    This book was one of my favorites growing up! I'm going to buy it for my niece and hope that she loves it just as much as I did when I was a kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Love the book! But......

    To expesnsive, 12$ !?!? Very cute book, but not worth so much money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Makes you wonder...

    Just like all the authors other stories it makes you wonder, can tha really happen in real life? -Teenreviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    tfyf

    i love it because its just a silly story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    kinda

    i kinda liked it. but i liked the pictures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1