Customer Reviews for

Mitten Strings for God: Reflections for Mothers in a Hurry

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    A 'must read' for all parents........

    Mitten Strings for God made me think about the importance of the choices that I'm making for my child as well as our family. As my life (and every other parent I know) careens out of control with an over scheduled Franklin Planner....reading this book, I realized I'm creating the same for my children with sports activities/events/birthday parties/playdates etc. There has to be a consequence. When the book speaks of the days of 'our generations youth'....I found myself longing to go back there...to the simplicity and wonder of it all. Realizing of course, that my childs version will be of me telling her to 'hurry up..we're late for the next event'. A great wake up call.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Must read for all moms

    Delightful, inspiring. Good food for thought. Certain chapters I want to read again and again. I've been encouraged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    This book changed my life.

    I love this book. I have read and reread it. I have shared it with others, and they have loved it too. It has given me a sweet perspective on how to nuture the tender souls I have been intrusted to raise. I am a better mother for having read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Primrose

    Primrose-..age-..newborn-..looks-silver tabby she-..-rest get to know me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Myla

    Name: Myla
    Age: 13 moon cycles
    Gender: Shecat
    Eyes: They are almond shaped. One is midnight blue and flecked with silver, and the other is silver and flecked withe midnight blue. Because they are so odd, they cause her to get stared at very often.
    Pelt: Tangled, matted, and uneaven at the moment. When it is brushed and washed, it appears as a mix of grays and different hues of blue and purples.
    Personality: Distrusting, because of her hard past of betrayals, very quiet, and doesn't talk much. Myla turns away from friendships, partly because she is afraid that they will betray her, and partly because she is afraid for them. She is very independent and determined that she can solve anything on her own.
    Kits: She is pregnant.
    Friends: Almost none
    Enemies: Too many
    Other: There is a dark secret to her past that she won't reveal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Rose and Starlight

    NAME Rose.<p>
    GENDER shekit.<p>
    AGE newborn kit.<p>
    APPERANCE A ginger shekit with a white tailtip and green eyes.<p>
    PERSONALITY sweet stubborn at times loves attention and milk.<p>
    KIN Mother is Starlight brother is Flame (dead) and father unknown.<p>
    NAME Starlight.<p>
    GENDER shecat.<p>
    AGE 20 months/moons old.<p>
    APPERANCE golden brown she cat with ginger paws and yellow eyes.<p>
    PERSONALITY nice and caring.LOVES BELLYRUBS!!!!!!<p>
    KIN Daughter is Rose son is Flame.<p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Grayce bio

    (This is my actual cat in rl tht im making onto a kitten.) Name: grayce. Nickname: gracey, gray, kitty. Age: three weeks. Gender: for the mentally retarded people, im a she. Description: cream and white fur with black and gray stripes and light orange splotches and highlights. Tabby siamese mix. Fwuffy!!!!! Medium length fur. Personality: very attention seeking, and wont let you touch her belly and paws. Not afraid to use her claws and teeth if needed, but usually sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    every mother needs this

    so peaceful and beautifully written. this book helped me refine my vision of what i want for my family and gave me insights for how to get it. wonderful ideas. i've given away several copies to other moms, who have all loved it, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    simple living for mothers

    When I first heard of Katrina Kenison's book, Mitten Strings for God: Reflections for Mothers in a Hurry, I mentally brushed it off. With such a title, I expected the book to proselytize religious beliefs. When the book showed up in my mailbox from the publisher, I picked it up with apprehension, and found I was pleasantly surpirsed.

    There are a handful of religious references in the book, but Kenison mentions them only in context to her life and never comes out and says anything definitive about what she believes. There is no expectation or proclamation of what the reader should or should not believe. Instead, the book is about simple living or voluntary simplicity.

    We live in a world that is rushing about in search of something. If we just slow down, we would see that what we are looking for is right here. "Reflections for Mothers in a Hurry" is an accurate description of this book. As mothers, not only is it important that we slow down to enjoy our children in the short time we are with them; it is imperative that our children have the opportunity to slow down and figure out who they are. This is a fabulous book for anyone who wants to cherish their children and live a life of meaning.

    Take your time reading the book. Reflect on where you are at in life and where you want to be. Cut out the things which are detracting from the life you truly desire. Enjoy!

    Disclaimer: A copy of the book was provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Dull

    I found this book very hard to get through. I felt she just kept saying the same things over and over and over!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    My most influential book

    I bought the book thinking it would be a help for mothers in a hurry, but really it turned out to be a guide book for me on why mothers should not be in a hurry. Because of this book, our family has gotten rid of TV, have a resident 'Brownie', and tell stories until we are blue in the face. This book has truly changed my life like no other book ever has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    A MUST HAVE FOR ALL PARENTS!!

    This beautiful book is a MUST HAVE for all parents everywhere...especially moms. Katrina gently awakens in you the realization of what is truly important in the helter skelter crazy-busy world we live in. She advises you on how to help your children grow into whole people. The book feeds your soul and will help teach you how to do this for your children. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1