Customer Reviews for

Mixed Bags

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Teenage drama

This is a great book from the moment you've read the first page you just can't put it down. The characters are well introduced and developed. Just when you think you've got them down and figured out you are thrown into a whole new view most of us don't dare explore. As...
This is a great book from the moment you've read the first page you just can't put it down. The characters are well introduced and developed. Just when you think you've got them down and figured out you are thrown into a whole new view most of us don't dare explore. As it has been with teenagers since the dawn of time, the angst, the pressure, the changes... all is present and explored. For those of us who remember the teenage years or know someone in that time of their lives, there is something we can all relate to in this book. I can't wait for the rest.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Inappropriate and disappointing

Though this book was entertaining, I actually wouldn't want my teenage daughter reading it. There is way too much emphasis on boy/girl relationships (in fact, that's really what the whole book is about, though the author tries to incorporate other themes). I just foun...
Though this book was entertaining, I actually wouldn't want my teenage daughter reading it. There is way too much emphasis on boy/girl relationships (in fact, that's really what the whole book is about, though the author tries to incorporate other themes). I just found it a little too frank and graphic for a Christian teenage audience. And though Carlson ostensibly condemns physical relationships among teens, there sure is a lot of it that goes on in this book. The parties and teenage drinking are too glorified in my mind, though some of the characters feel slightly uncomfortable with it. It just felt like someone trying too hard to be cool with teenagers, just to get them to read the book. Also, the salvation scene at the end feels very weak, almost like a obligatory afterthought. Other than a few passing references to God, it didn't even feel like a Christian book at all. Though I had high hopes for this book, I was very disappointed!

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    The story of a teen girl finding herself in a time of uncertainty and change

    I enjoyed this book, it was quick read and also a smooth read. DJ is a girl living with her grandmother, a woman who is an old-pro in the fashion world. The Carter House is DJ's grandmother's undertaking and is meant to teach girls manners, fashion, and social upbringing. DJ is odd-ball out amongst the high fashion teenagers Kriti, Eliza, and Taylor until Rihannon and Casey arrive. DJ learns that people change as she attempts to find herself and fill the empty space she feels inside of her. After getting into it on a regular basis with Taylor and having issues with her friend-turned-boyfriend Connor, she turns to Rihannon who turns her to God. I thought DJ finding and accepting God into her life happened rather late in the story as the it ends very quickly after this event, but hopefully the next book in the series will dwell on this topic a little more and connect it to DJ's life and current situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Teenage drama

    This is a great book from the moment you've read the first page you just can't put it down. The characters are well introduced and developed. Just when you think you've got them down and figured out you are thrown into a whole new view most of us don't dare explore. As it has been with teenagers since the dawn of time, the angst, the pressure, the changes... all is present and explored. For those of us who remember the teenage years or know someone in that time of their lives, there is something we can all relate to in this book. I can't wait for the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome!!!:-)

    This book was awesome!!! I was on the last chater and just when i was gonna start begging my mom for the next book i was so happy to see that the first two chapters were added into the back of the book! Thus book was great but it is def better for older teens to read dependng on "how much" they know if u catch my drift. Im 14 and i was fine but.... ya :-) read this and enjoy!!!more like 3 1/2 stars to 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    a great book!

    for some reason, i didnt think this book would be good-but i was way wrong. i have read some other great melody carlson books, but the back cover didnt make it sound as good. but all the teenage girls out there should read this book! you will feel angry at some of the girls that move into the carter house, and you will feel sad for DJ when connor breaks her heart. this book is relatable to most teens and i think girls should read it as well as other melody carlson books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    bet book i have ever read

    perfect for teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    great teen book!!!!

    This book is very interesting. there are 8 books. the characters have there own story. Read this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Bags by Melody Carlson

    This book is pretty entertaining, but make sure you have the next book in the series before reading. The ending is a cliff hanger and you will drive yourself crazy until you read the next one. Every cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun beginning installment of a new YA series

    This story was pretty good for YA fiction. If I could imagine being in a boarding house with a bunch of different girls it might look something like this story, even though the girls in this book are rich, or at least half of them are. I enjoyed reading about Conner and DJ's developing relationship and about DJ's innocence when it came to dating. I thought the author did a good job showing how difficult it is to understand what guys are interested in. Girls always think it's about beauty but with Conner he wanted a girl he could relate to. It's got a great message about the pressures of fitting in and provides a good platform for expressing different struggles teens deal with. The polaroid picture being taken at the hairdresser was a bit outdated, though. I don't know anyone who even has a polaroid camera these days. I ordered the next three books in the series because I am very interested in reading more about Conner and DJ and finding out who gets the guy in Stealing Bradford. Of course, I'm rooting for Rhiannon. So far I like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Great for older teens and adults!

    A great book about 6 very different teen girls who all find themselves living under one roof with a grandmother who is a former fashion icon from the 60's. The first book in this series is a introduction of the girls and their past hurts. Whether you were one of the popular girls, or a geek, I think that you will find yourself relating to one of the girls in this book. Although it had a slow start, I found myself immediately requesting book #2 in the series as soon as I finished reading Mixed Bags. I can't wait to find out what happens next with the Carter House Girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Good for teenagers

    The first installment in the Carter House Girls series is an interesting and unique teenage novel. It follows the lives of six teenage girls as they begin the life-changing task of moving to a boarding house and learning to live together, specifically from the point of view of DJ, Mrs. Carter¿s granddaughter. I found the book to be different take on the teenage angst of girls coming of age. There is the obligatory dating and cat-fighting that accompanies sixteen-year-old girls. However, there is also a refreshing presentation of the gospel through how Christ has changed one of the girls. It is realistic and not sugar-sweet. There are some alcohol and sex references, but it is not inappropriate for the targeted age group. Overall, this book is a good, entertaining read. I look forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    A Good Read

    I think Mixed Bags is appropriate for teenage girls. However, I think girls ages 16 on up should be reading this book. I think it's a little too much for girls younger than that. The main character and her friends are confronted with drinking and dating. The main character however tends to rise above the underage drinking and rethinks her actions with her boyfriend from the night before. I feel the main character becomes a christain kind of out of nowhere. I would have liked her to have a little more thought about what she was considering. However, it sounds like those issues are addressed in future books. This book is an easy read and would be great entertainment for any teenage girl..in fact I'm 40 years old and I want to know what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Frank, Honest, Will speak to teens

    This is a frank, honest book dealing with normal teenage issues, with clothes, boys, relationships with girls, temptations, and family interactions. It is a fun book that as it deals with these issues, never glamorizes them, it rather focuses on coming to terms with these issues in light of how it fits in with Christianity. This is a series and the main character DJ, came to accept Christ towards the end of this book. I look forward to seeing how she deals with her new life in Christ in her old world. It is a bit 'harder' than some people might be comfortable with, but from working with teens, they want something that engages them, speaks to issues they deal with in a real way without preaching. A good book for the older teen in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Great book for teens and adults!

    The first book in the Carter House Girls series was terrific. I loved the many different and well developed characters that are in this book. I think its great that girls from all walks of life were included. It was a little shorter than I would have liked and she did come to find Christ a little too fast for me. I do look forward to reading the next installment and finding out what happens next to the Carter House girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    When I got a copy of Mixed Bags I gave it to my 11 year old who loves to read. About a third of the way into the book my daughter lost interest in it. She told her herself that she thought it was for older girls because it talked a lot about boys, which she currently has no interest in. So I picked up the book to read it myself. This book is certainly for older teens. I would say maybe 15 or older. The book is well written and easy to read. The characters are interesting and I think many young adults will be able to relate to some of the characters personally. The girls in the house deal with issues that many young adults face. I think this book is a great way to introduce more books in the series. I was surprised how the book ended how it did but I guess that is what will keep readers interested and anxious for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Outstanding Book!

    This book is great for teenagers. It is about 6 girls whom move into the 'Carter House' which is run by an older women who was a model when she was young. The girls come from all back grounds of life. Desiree better known by 'DJ' is a tomboy whose grandmother owns and runs the Carter House. Eliza is rich, very nice, and her parents live in France. Taylor is also rich but mean, she drinks and loves to party. Her mom was a Latin singer and very popular. Rhiannon is a Christain who is very sweet and makes the best out of all situations. Krita is sweet, her father owns a business where he sells 'knock offs' purses and items, for a tenth of the price of the real name brands. Casey is a girl who wears black, has piercings in her eyebrows and other places. She is bitter with life and what it has thrown her direction. These girls are learning to get along with each other and the difference between them. Any teenager will love this book and I am sure will want to get the next book in the series! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Be true to yourself

    I found this book to be thoroughly enjoyable and interesting right to the very end. It really connects with what teenage girls have to go through as far as peer pressure and wanting to fit in with everyone. It also gives a great message about how opening your heart to our lord Jesus Christ can totally change your life forever. Throughout the book Melody has given great advice to the teen reader about safe sex, being honest , and staying true to yourself. But she tells it in a way that it is not a turn off to the reader. She is truly in touch with how we all feel as females growing up and fighting temptations. She also show us even though we are all different we can communicate and get along in a decent way with each other . Of course there is always the one or two caddy young women that look for trouble and need attention no matter how they get it. I love all the different young ladies and and I am anxious to read the series so that I can see just how each girl develops her life.I recommend this book and the series to all young teenage girls as they read and discover they are just like these young ladies in so many ways. I hope in the end they all find the Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a fun, quick read, the kind you can do in a sitting. The characters were believable and I quickly found myself caught up in their world. It¿s a great story about being true to yourself and seeing your own value. The Christian element only comes in near the end, which I think is a shame, but that does make this a good book for those girls who are not yet firmly Christian. All in all, I¿m eager to read the next book and find out what happens to the Carter House Girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Mixed Bags

    I thought this book captured the true essence of highschool. Mixed Bags is about just that: friendships (or lack of) from all different walks of life. These girls are trying to live under one household run by a retired supermodel. Though it seems only a few days pass after you read this book, a lot happens. You meet several characters and what they are all about. You truly feel the emotions from the teenagers and hope the best for them. By the end of the book, I was disapointed that it ended so suddenly. I look foward to getting to know the rest of the girls and watching them grow and mature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    A nice read for teens...

    Mixed Bags is a promising beginning in a series of books sure to be full of friendship, faith, and of course, fashion. This book is a quick read, written in a light, enjoyable style. Teen girls will relate to at least one of the characters. Each girl in the Carter House brings her own ¿bag¿ ¿ her history, family, and past struggles. Despite differences on the outside, the girls already begin to realize they may have more in common than they realize. A few more mature issues (references to drinking, sex, etc.) may make this book more suited to older teens or younger teens with some parental guidance. I¿m looking forward to the next installment in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Very fast read!

    Very fast read!The book is suitable for teenage girls.I'm not a teenager ,but I read it and I really enjoyed the book.I gave it to my 12 years old daughter and she liked the book and asked me about the other books of Melody Carlson.'Mixed bags' is all about the teenage girls and there world -fashion,school ,friendship ,dating,shopping,faith and..The only think ,that I did not like it was story was kind of short (short time).I would like to read another book of Carter House Girls again someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2