Customer Reviews for

Mobbed (Regan Reilly Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As always, a Regan Reilly mystery is a fun, delightful and entertaining tale

Private investigator Regan Reilly and her husband Jack who heads the NYPD Major Case Squad plan to go to the Jersey Shore for the weekend to celebrate her mom Nora's birthday. Regan leaves without Jack because Nora asks her to accompany her to the home of Mrs. Edna Fra...
Private investigator Regan Reilly and her husband Jack who heads the NYPD Major Case Squad plan to go to the Jersey Shore for the weekend to celebrate her mom Nora's birthday. Regan leaves without Jack because Nora asks her to accompany her to the home of Mrs. Edna Frawley who is selling her beach house and therefore hosting a yard sale including items left behind by her tenant movie star Cleo Paradise. Edna's daughter Karen is a friend of Nora and wants her to insure her mom in her zeal does not sell any of her items.

When Regan and Nora arrive, they find Edna gleefully waiting for the yard sale to begin. Regan receives calls from Cleo's best friend and the actress' mother wanting to know where she is. A stalker has been sending Cleo dead roses with thorns as real life imitates the movie she starred in. Cleo's mom hires Regan to find her daughter who has many enemies among the envious Hollywood crowd. Cleo relaxes at a dude ranch nearby, but is unaware that someone is closing in on her to hurt her; at the same Regan seeks to protect her.

As always, a Regan Reilly mystery is a fun, delightful and entertaining tale due to quirky endearing characters especially when mom the author and daughter the sleuth team up. Although the story line is somewhat farcical with two degrees of separation; readers will not be able to put down Mobbed as everyone looking for Cleo converges while the actress is having a good time at a dude ranch.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Way too many characters. Not real tense mystery just lots and l

Way too many characters. Not real tense mystery just lots and lots of characters, over 25, to keep sorted out .

posted by JLLo on August 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Way too many characters. Not real tense mystery just lots and l

    Way too many characters. Not real tense mystery just lots and lots of characters, over 25, to keep sorted out .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Mobbed

    I enjoy her main characters .How ever this book had too many to remember.Not one of her better books. I like the series but the writing could be better. It seems to me that her books are getting a little too sloppy.keep the main characters but put more effort into the plots.Even better write one with Alvira and Willie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Don't waste time on the daughter. Stick with mom.

    The Jersey shore was never like this. Forget the minnow riding in the wake of her famous mom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As always, a Regan Reilly mystery is a fun, delightful and entertaining tale

    Private investigator Regan Reilly and her husband Jack who heads the NYPD Major Case Squad plan to go to the Jersey Shore for the weekend to celebrate her mom Nora's birthday. Regan leaves without Jack because Nora asks her to accompany her to the home of Mrs. Edna Frawley who is selling her beach house and therefore hosting a yard sale including items left behind by her tenant movie star Cleo Paradise. Edna's daughter Karen is a friend of Nora and wants her to insure her mom in her zeal does not sell any of her items.

    When Regan and Nora arrive, they find Edna gleefully waiting for the yard sale to begin. Regan receives calls from Cleo's best friend and the actress' mother wanting to know where she is. A stalker has been sending Cleo dead roses with thorns as real life imitates the movie she starred in. Cleo's mom hires Regan to find her daughter who has many enemies among the envious Hollywood crowd. Cleo relaxes at a dude ranch nearby, but is unaware that someone is closing in on her to hurt her; at the same Regan seeks to protect her.

    As always, a Regan Reilly mystery is a fun, delightful and entertaining tale due to quirky endearing characters especially when mom the author and daughter the sleuth team up. Although the story line is somewhat farcical with two degrees of separation; readers will not be able to put down Mobbed as everyone looking for Cleo converges while the actress is having a good time at a dude ranch.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I highly recommend this book.

    I really enjoy Carol Higgens Clark's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    A refreshing suspense thriller

    A novel with a shocker of an ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    recommended

    the ending was a BIG surprise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Good book

    Another great Reagan Riley adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    great light reading.

    I enjoyed Mobbed. I like all of Carol Higgins Clark's books Never had a problem with buying for my NOOK except for my preorder of 11th hour by James Patterson. Should have had it by the 7th and it is still in preorder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    great

    Another series and keep pre-ordering as I can't get enough of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was awful

    This book was the worst in the Regan reilly series. It take place at a garage sale-and guess what? What nobody could find out in a week-in just one day-Regan discovers theives, the wear abouts of a missing young woman, and the reason for a series of dead flowers left by the new stars doorway. I wish someone in my life could solve all my problems in less than a day! Ridiculous concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Not one of her best

    I've liked other books in this series much better. The plot was convoluted and contrived, and there were far too many cooincidences.

    The characters were not well developed, either. They kept coming and going so much that I kept losing track of who was who and how they related to the story.

    The ending was also pretty predictable - and I'm always disappointed when I guess the identity of the bad guy way before the ending.

    Still, it goes fast and is good for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    entertaining

    its a typical regan mystery. I liked it. Regan is a P.I who lives in New York with her husband police detective Jack. Regan found out for a high school friend that the guy she is dating got engaged the night before. Regan and Jack are going to New Jersey shore to be with her parents Nora whos a author and her father Luke.
    Nora's old friend from school calls her up and tells her mother has sold the house and selling everything all of a sudden and would she go check on her mom. She in L.A. and is catching a flight out later that day. So nora gets regan to come down earlier in the day with her. It has a few different stories threads that all tie in together at the end. Like to see how the characters have grown and changed over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hounded.

    Could you imagine walking outside and not being able to get a moment of peace? How would you feel not being able to go anyplace without feeling like someone is watching you? What would you feel if you never really felt safe and secure in your own home? Well, welcome to Cleo Paradise's world. Come inside for a spell and get a feel for how Cleo is trying to find paradise, a place of safety, yet does not seem to be able to find paradise no matter where the search leads. Is someone stalking Cleo? If yes, who is stalking Cleo and why? If you want to know, then read Carol Higgins Clark's latest novel, "Mobbed." This is great for travel & leisure time reading. A wonderful escape from the "real" world, or is it? :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PAGE-TURNER -- ENJOYABLE CHARACTERS

    I've read several books in this series and it always feels good to pick up the latest installment and meet up with Regan, Jack, her family and friends. This one kept me guessing and those pages just kept turning until the surprising end. A very enjoyable read, once again, from Carol Higgins Clark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5