Customer Reviews for

Mockingbird

Average Rating 4.5
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Astounding!

I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from the author, and let me tell you: the buzz about this book is well-deserved. Few, if any, other books about characters with Asperger Syndrome are anywhere near as accurate as this. (I should know; I've gone through ...
I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from the author, and let me tell you: the buzz about this book is well-deserved. Few, if any, other books about characters with Asperger Syndrome are anywhere near as accurate as this. (I should know; I've gone through much of what Caitlin does.) That alone would be an impressive achievement, but the author doesn't just stop there. Every character is three-dimensional, even the "bully." (I cannot express just how impressed I am with that.) The story is very sad, but not depressing, and manages to wrap itself up pleasingly but not perfectly. This book has a few problems; namely, that the writing takes a little while to get used to (VERY accurate in depicting how actual kids with AS write, though), but fortunately it manages to make sense the whole time and doesn't go off into tangents, like a certain well-known book with an autistic narrator which will not be named...

If there is any justice in this world, come January next year this book will be awarded some sort of Newbery recognition. The past few years of Medal and Honor books have been excellent, and this book is worthy of standing among them. I just hope that the cover art, which is a little bland, doesn't scare people away from reading this great story. You simply must buy it when it comes out in April. Teachers, this will be great for you too. (Appropriate for ages 10-up.)

posted by WeirdMovieFan on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Sob

This story was so depressing. Its about this girl with assbergers. Shes so confused when her brother dies. I find it so sad, her narration and confusion. I personally coundnt get past the first chapter without sobbing, let alone the entire book. I quit early, which is u...
This story was so depressing. Its about this girl with assbergers. Shes so confused when her brother dies. I find it so sad, her narration and confusion. I personally coundnt get past the first chapter without sobbing, let alone the entire book. I quit early, which is unlike me. Then again im the type of person that cant get through a horror book without nightmares for weeks. I really FEEL the characters emotions .

posted by 10562449 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Great book!

    This was a phenomenal book, the author's style of going in the main character head was a good way of demonstrating the characters feelings and what it would feel like to have Asperger's. I recommendbthis book to people who have had a tragic loss or someone who is familiar with or want to know more about Asperger' s Syndrome.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Great book-very enlightening

    My 13 year old daughter read this book for our Mother-Daughter book club. We both devoured the book in a little over 2 days. Loved the narrator's voice as I have often wondered what it must be like to live in the world with autism or even more specifically, Asperger's. The author has given us a window into the world of a young girl reeling from the loss of her brother. A must read for teens and adults.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I thought this book was very good because it Tells You how a lit

    I thought this book was very good because it Tells You how a little girl that has aspergs and her dad fight to find and feel the word closure becuase her brother died and se gets help and tries to make friendes and she does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Good

    I likrrd this book but it e,ws to sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    It was okay

    it was sad and i almost cried but i do not reaally like sad books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good book

    It was really good you could see what it is like to have asburgers sydrome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Read it!!!

    Oh this story is soo good. It has sad parts and a little confusing sometimesbut really good. One thing i dont like though is how u can tell the ending from the 1st chapter :l

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Bookhead

    If i rember right this is about a girl ehos brother died. She has a mentle disablbelty called asburgers. For her there is no mabey just yes or no. She wants closure... a very good and touching book. Ages 11+ suggusted

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I love it

    This book is awesome but so dark i mean there is only a few happy parts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Must-read for special education teachers

    Mockingbird takes the reader into the mind and heart of Caitlin, a young girl with Aspergers. Not only is Caitlin dealt the emotional blow of her brother's untimely death, her father is emotionally distant, and Caitlin seems to face her tragedy alone. This is especially difficult for Caitlin, as it was her brother that helped her journey outside the window inside her head. I would recommend this book to anyone, young or old, but especially to special education teachers who are sure to experience how a child with Aspergers (and perhaps autism) sees the world. This, I believe, enables adults to have a deeper understanding for children thus affected, and enables them to put on the wondrous quality of empathy. Just be prepared to cry, for Caitlin's voice is sure to touch your heart! It did mine!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    AMAZING BUT SAD

    Even though the book was sad, it felt real. It felt like i was in the story. You cant find another book like this anywhere. This is a once in al life time book! Definetly once in a life time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This was a sensitively and well-written book about a young girl with Asberger's. The author seemed to get inside her head, and the character is very well portrayed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Wwwwwwwooooooooooowwwwww

    This book iswonderful i cant believe tears and laughter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Bring a box of tissues.

    I read reviews of this book and thought, "I need to read it to see if I want to teach it." I teach Special Ed. Language Arts in junior high and I try to alternate male and female protagonists. The Hunger games is being taught in 9th and I was searching for something for 7th grade. The book beautifully weaves itself together with To Kill a Mockinbird explicitly and implicitly. Anytime there is a first-person narrative for mentaly challenged, and now Autism Spectrum characters, I am interested. Erskine creates a palpable, fragile, story of a community and family bereft by random violence. Normally,those people who children look to to show them how to act, the adults struggle as much as the elementary-age heroine to find the right words, or acts to find "closure." A horribly cliche word for the readers until Caitlin reads the definition and discovers what she needs to do. It turns into a moment that will leave every reader in tears. At the end, I think she reveals herself as LDS. Which is weird because I live in Utah, and am not Mormon and had not picked up on that in any reviews. I am going to readit with my class.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Amazing

    This is a quick and wonderful read, coming from a special ed teacher! A MUST!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    A book you you should definently add to your bookshelf!

    The story is so meaningful and sad. It gave me a whole different outlook on everyday life for kids that could be living next door. Even though I live in Alaska, and the main caracters live across the country, I feel like they're just like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    I like this book because it is very sad yet happy, and it tells

    I like this book because it is very sad yet happy, and it tells about a school shooting that actually happened. the main Character is Named Caitlin, who has assbergers and deals with two lost family members. i just couldn't get my eyes off the book even though it was very sad. I like it when Caitlin can solve her problems because it shows everyone can help themeselves. She is a very smart girl that is dealing with a devastating problem. in the end she doesn't really get what has happened but near the end she understand and learns how to feel empathy. she gets many friends, when in the beginging she wouldn't have had those friends because she really didn't understand anyone or anything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    kristachms This was the most greatest book ever it had all diffe

    kristachms
    This was the most greatest book ever it had all different combinations of different feelings and love in the book but it also made me sad because this book reminds me of my best friend who has Aspersers and she also goes through tough times knowing that her dad died and she used  to get bully a lot and there was a lot of sad flash backs that Caitlin had about her brother and all the good times they had together and that made me sad because I know she really misses him. However, I love that at the end of the book it shows a lot of love like the bully that was mean to her they became friends and her and Michael are best friends It was just an amazing book I would read this book over 100 times.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good

    This book was not my favorite but I like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Good so far

    Whoever did the review "Bad" is probably a jerk who hasn' t even read the book. I mean she's a 5th grade girl with aspergers and her brother just died! Have a heart!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2