Customer Reviews for

Mockingbird

Average Rating 4.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Astounding!

I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from the author, and let me tell you: the buzz about this book is well-deserved. Few, if any, other books about characters with Asperger Syndrome are anywhere near as accurate as this. (I should know; I've gone through ...
I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from the author, and let me tell you: the buzz about this book is well-deserved. Few, if any, other books about characters with Asperger Syndrome are anywhere near as accurate as this. (I should know; I've gone through much of what Caitlin does.) That alone would be an impressive achievement, but the author doesn't just stop there. Every character is three-dimensional, even the "bully." (I cannot express just how impressed I am with that.) The story is very sad, but not depressing, and manages to wrap itself up pleasingly but not perfectly. This book has a few problems; namely, that the writing takes a little while to get used to (VERY accurate in depicting how actual kids with AS write, though), but fortunately it manages to make sense the whole time and doesn't go off into tangents, like a certain well-known book with an autistic narrator which will not be named...

If there is any justice in this world, come January next year this book will be awarded some sort of Newbery recognition. The past few years of Medal and Honor books have been excellent, and this book is worthy of standing among them. I just hope that the cover art, which is a little bland, doesn't scare people away from reading this great story. You simply must buy it when it comes out in April. Teachers, this will be great for you too. (Appropriate for ages 10-up.)

posted by WeirdMovieFan on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Sob

This story was so depressing. Its about this girl with assbergers. Shes so confused when her brother dies. I find it so sad, her narration and confusion. I personally coundnt get past the first chapter without sobbing, let alone the entire book. I quit early, which is u...
This story was so depressing. Its about this girl with assbergers. Shes so confused when her brother dies. I find it so sad, her narration and confusion. I personally coundnt get past the first chapter without sobbing, let alone the entire book. I quit early, which is unlike me. Then again im the type of person that cant get through a horror book without nightmares for weeks. I really FEEL the characters emotions .

posted by 10562449 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Astounding!

    I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from the author, and let me tell you: the buzz about this book is well-deserved. Few, if any, other books about characters with Asperger Syndrome are anywhere near as accurate as this. (I should know; I've gone through much of what Caitlin does.) That alone would be an impressive achievement, but the author doesn't just stop there. Every character is three-dimensional, even the "bully." (I cannot express just how impressed I am with that.) The story is very sad, but not depressing, and manages to wrap itself up pleasingly but not perfectly. This book has a few problems; namely, that the writing takes a little while to get used to (VERY accurate in depicting how actual kids with AS write, though), but fortunately it manages to make sense the whole time and doesn't go off into tangents, like a certain well-known book with an autistic narrator which will not be named...

    If there is any justice in this world, come January next year this book will be awarded some sort of Newbery recognition. The past few years of Medal and Honor books have been excellent, and this book is worthy of standing among them. I just hope that the cover art, which is a little bland, doesn't scare people away from reading this great story. You simply must buy it when it comes out in April. Teachers, this will be great for you too. (Appropriate for ages 10-up.)

    32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Parenting Asperger's is challenging, this book is right on! Love it!

    Being the mother of an Aspie is more than a little challenging, but this book gave me so much hope & comfort. My daughter with Asperger's is 10 years old & so much of the book mirrors our life. I found myself laughing, crying & shaking my head in agreement with the world as Caitlin sees it. Asperger's has a range of symptoms, but the black & white thinking is right on the mark! I feel blessed to have read this book & highly recommend it, for anyone! I feel so comforted & know I am far from alone. Thank you, Ms. Erskine for a wonderful book!

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Beautiful, layered, and eloquently written

    Mockingbird is one of the books that is offered for my state's reading competition. At first I was very skeptical about reading it because of the boring cover art and the fact that I didn' t know what Asperger's Sydrome was. Eventually, I picked it up and boy am I glad that I did!

    Mockingbird is about a yound girl named Caitlyn, who has Asbergers. She sees thing very differently from the ordinary 5th grader, and this is preventing her from a proper chilhood woth friends and laughter. What makes it worse is her older brother, Devon, was shot and killed. Devon was the only one that really understood Caitlyn and her needs, and without him, she has a very difficult time expressing her thoughts and deciphering everyone else's words and expressions.

    This story will bring a new understanding to Asbergers in your mind and it really illustrates the life of a veey special girl, with a very special problem. Mockingbird is a quite sad story, not really aomething to read if you want something uplifting, but if you want a touching story about a young girl's struggle to grasp the world ariund her, I would say definitely go for it.

    I would recommend this story to anyone ages 11 and up. 11 is how old Caitlyn is and it would be difficult to understand this story if you haven't experienced some on what being 11 is like. Also, it could be a little bit difficult for someone younger to read because of the way the story is written. It doesn't follow all of the "rules" of writing. Mockingbird is also a great book for adults and teachers. It would be an easy read to prettymuch any age in range that I suggested, so really it wouldn't hurt to try it out.
    -Kyrsten, Age 12

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Wonderful

    Amazing, touching, inspiring, incredible book.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

    This book is sad but joyful it just made my friend cry.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE READ

    This book is incredible the problem this girl has and the troubles her and her dad go through because of her brother's death will really touch your heart!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    It was sad but made me think how much i love my family.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Lovelovelove!!!!!

    This is a great book plus it helps u understand more about aspergers and how people with it think. I used to not like working with kids espessally one with diseases like this but now i think i want to be a spical needs teacher and i thank god that me or my siblings are not having to go through life like that. I love this book and im only on chapter 11 !!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Amazing, Inspiring.

    I read this book a little while ago and I loved it. It was so inspiring. A lot of it made me cry, but it wasn't sad tears. Try this, PLEASE!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    great!

    Great, interesting, sweet, and sad all at once. I really could empathize with the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    This Book is Amazing

    I recomened this book to anyone who likes to read. I thought it was truly amazing and touching. Once my teacher let me borrow this to read I was really excited and I read to chaper 15 that night, I loved it. On the back of the book it reads:

    In Caitlin's world, everything is black or white. Things are good or bad. Anything in between is confusing. That's the stuff Caitlin's older brother, Devon has always explained. But now Devon's dead and Dad is no help at all. Caitlin wants to get over it, but as an eleven-year-old girl with Asperger's, she doesn't know how. When she reads the defenition of closure, she relizes that is what she needs. In her search for it, Caitlin discovers that not everything is balck or white-the world is full of colors-messy and beautiful.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Redingjunky" for Teens Read Too

    Caitlin's brother, Devon, was one of three victims killed by a school shooter. His death leaves Caitlin and their father alone to pick up the pieces and make some sense of what is left. Being able to mourn and share their grief is complicated by the fact that eleven-year-old Caitlin has a condition known as Asperger's syndrome. She does not recognize most social clues that moderate normal behavior. Unable to interpret simple facial expressions leaves her clueless about how to interact with others. Devon has always bridged the gap between his little sister and the rest of the world, but he is no longer there to help. Caitlin gets some help from Mrs. Brook, a counselor at her school. They spend time every day working on social skills, manners, and what Mrs. Brook calls empathy. Caitlin's very literal approach to situations makes her a target for taunting and teasing that only aggravates the problem. Now, learning to grieve her brother's death is also an important part of her daily therapy. One thing Devon left behind might prove useful as Caitlin and her father attempt to recover and move on. Devon's Eagle Scout project sits unfinished in their living room as a reminder that he will never return to complete it. When Caitlin gets the idea that she and her father could finish the project as a way to find closure, it seems like an impossible task. But with determination and some breakthroughs at school, maybe they can achieve the impossible. MOCKINGBIRD is a heartwarming story of loss and recovery. The addition of Caitlin's struggle with Asperger's adds an amazing element to the tale. Kathryn Erskine recreates the world as seen through Caitlin's eyes in such a realistic and believable way; readers will be drawn in and inspired by this little girl's courage and strength. This book is truly a loving work of art.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Moking Bird

    Best book ever!!!!! It is a little confusing in the first few chapters. Its pretty much about this little girl that lost somthing very importan and how she gets throght life without it. This little girl also has mental problems that make it even harder for her to get throgh her problems.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Favorite book.

    Its a good book. It has sad parts but it was really good. Its intresting because it goes through the stages of healing her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is absoulutely toouching, and inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Really great book

    I read this book and loved it is not a true story but is based on things that are happing in public schools.I recommend this book to people who can take on alittle disturbance(sorry of I made some spelling errors)I myself thought some parts were really gross and depressing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    To omg

    Thiis a awsome book and i have read out of my mind and the wiz team people are a bunch of jurks

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Awesome!!!!

    This book was very good. It showed what it was like to have someone very special in your life get killed for a bad reason. I didnt cry but it would of if i wasnt in public. If you dont know if you want to read this book you should. I was for me a quick read, and a just a great book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    This is a wonderful book!!!!

    This book is soo good i even had dreams from it! I am still reading this phenominaly written book but it still brings me tears in my eyes!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love this book! It is the best book ive ever read but it is very sad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10