Customer Reviews for

The Mockingbirds

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    Funny little story - you all know I do reviews here, hunting down publishers to get review copies. I'm at the Salvation Army with my boys and I find an "Advanced Reading Copy - NOT FOR SALE" for $0.49. The title reminded me of To Kill a Mockingbird, and this is referenced in this book quite often. My cover has a redish tint to it, and I have to say I like that better than the blue. But that's the only difference.

    One reviewer at Amazon criticized the quote on the cover which says "Hush little students, don't say a word..." and says that this made him expect a thriller. So not too surprising to see where his disappointment came from. And I think he makes a valid point, it takes away from the actual plot of the story.

    Alex wakes up in a boys room, with no idea how she got there, where her clothes went or even who the boy is. It does come to her slowly through the story. But basically she got really drunk and was date raped. I loved how Alex's friends gave her unwavering support and helped her get help.

    I hated that the school was useless. The teachers want the school to be full of the best of the best so they ignore anything bad that happens. The students take matters into their own hands by creating a group that doles out justice among the students. It has amazing checks and balances and both parties agree to take the punishment whatever the outcome.

    I really, really loved the teacher that told her that it didn't matter if she had the time of her life with Carter, she was too drunk to give consent and what he did was wrong. I don't think teenage girls should read this, I think ALL teenagers should read this. I don't think we do enough to teach personal responsibility. Carter thought since they were making out prior that she wanted it. Even though she said she wanted to go home, even when she tried to push him off. She was too drunk to fight back and his only defense was that she didn't say "no." Well she didn't say anything, she was mostly sleeping.

    I also found it amazing to find the author herself is a victim of date rape. Something that is really the hardest form of rape to prove and prosecute. I think this book is a great addition to the fight.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I really, really enjoyed this book. Look forward to reading the

    I really, really enjoyed this book. Look forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Anon

    I really liked this book. However, I felt that the dialog was somewhat "cheesy" in a few places. The author did a nice job with being descriptive. I could picture the campus etc. I believe both genders would benefit from reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I think people can learn a lot from this book. The theme behind

    I think people can learn a lot from this book. The theme behind the book is a really good one that everyone should learn. I really liked the thought of the students helping other students but I think that in real life they needed to go to the police because some problems students can't handle and rape is one that needs to go to the police. I loves the Characters in the book i thought they were interesting and the author did a great job of making people care about them. I also read the sequel and loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I didn't know what this book was about when I grabbed it at BEA.

    I didn't know what this book was about when I grabbed it at BEA. I kinda like not knowing what I'm getting into when reading a book. But I must say that I was blown away with this story. There were a few clunky moments with the writing, but we'll chalk it up to first-time writeritis. But I will say this, Daisy Whitney is a kick-ass writer. And the story she tells is one that teens should read. Heck, parents should read because date rape is a problem in high school and college. As we send our teens out to the real world after they graduate high school, who will watch them?
    Alex Patrick goes to Themis Academy. A close and tight-knit community. Every student there, according to the teachers and administrators, are intrinsically good. There is no discipline in the school. So a few years ago, Alex's older sister, Casey, created the Mockingbirds to self-police the students. Too many students were staying quiet when they were being bullied, raped, or just a simple cheating case. During a Friday night concert, Alex has too much to drink, hangs out with Carter. Ends up back in his room and wakes up the next morning, naked and not sure what has happened. As she starts piecing together the evening, she realizes that she never agreed to have sex and she's not exactly sure what has happened. In talking to her roommate, TS, Alex realizes that the possibility is that she has been date raped. She is presented with a dilemma: stay quiet and allow this to happen again, or get The Mockingbirds involved to help her come to terms with what has happened. Because a date-rape case has never come before The Mockingbirds, they must get the student body to ratify the code before they will take the case. They must vote on:
    Sexual assault is against the standards to which Themis students hold themselves. Sexual assualt is sexual contact (not just intercourse) where on of the parties has not given or cannot give active verbal consent, i.e., uttered a clear "yes" to the action. If a person does not say "no" that does not mean he or she said "yes". Silence does not equal consent. Silence could mean fear, confusion, inebriation. The only thing that means yes is a yes. A lack of yes is a no. The Mockingbirds, Pg 268.
    From there, Alex starts the arduous journey of clearing her name and proving that a sexual assault occurred when she was not in her right mind. There were times when you're not sure what exactly happened and whether if Alex was misremembering things. With the help of The Mockingbirds and a sweet boy named, Martin. Alex realizes that The Mockingbirds are working in her favor to help her. She just has to let them to help. I absolutely loved the definition of what describes a sexual assault. So from the book I took it verbatim. If anything like this happens to you, please do not be ashamed and tell your parents, a confidante, guidance counselor. They are there to help you. This book is here to help you realize that you are not alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    The idea that students have to discipline themselves is intriguing, and Whitney executed that unquestionably well in this page-turner. Sometimes when a chapter ended and I needed to go do something else, I would just keep reading. I had to.

    A moving story about a date-raped girl and how she discovers how to use her voice-The Mockingbirds did not disappoint. Real love, real issues, real justice. You won't want to miss the enthralling contemporary novel that is this book.

    Powerful and potent-The Mockingbirds is a story to which everyone can relate and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully written!

    The Mockingbirds is about date rape. The story begins with Alex waking up naked in Carter's room with no memory of what happened the previous night. With her friends' help, she goes to The Mockingbirds, a secret student run police force. The Mockingbirds are The Law amongst the students. In addition to taking Alex's case on, they help protect her from Carter.
    Alex begins the story a victim of a terrible crime. Over the course of the book, she slowly regains power over her life. She even acknowledges the fact that she's letting the rape take over her life. Her schedule, eating habits, and personal life were all dictated by Carter. The Mockingbirds helped her get over all of that.
    Martin, a member of the Mockingbirds, really helped Alex. Even though he somewhat blamed himself for what happened to Alex. Actually, many of Alex's friends blamed themselves for what happened to her, even though it was no one's fault but Carter's. Martin was so sweet. I really liked how the romance in this book wasn't overpowering. The rape and Alex's transformation were the main points in the plot. The romance was more of a compliment to the story; it wasn't necessary but at the same time it was much appreciated. Of course, their relationship wasn't easy. Alex was raped, so its only natural for her to be hesitant about having a relationship with a guy. However, since Martin and Alex were good friends before she was raped, it wasn't as difficult as it could have been if he was just some guy that asked her out.
    The Mockingbirds was so wonderfully written! The dialogue was never awkward or choppy; it flowed nicely. The plot was well developed and it too was well paced. My favorite part, though, was not the plot but the actual writing. Ms. Whitney's own experience clearly influenced her writing. By writing The Mockingbirds through Alex's point of view, the reader can feel what Alex feels on a much more personal level than if she had written it in 3rd person. Ms. Whitney also uses quotes and draws inspiration from To Kill a Mockingbird. After reading The Mockingbirds, I want to go back and re-read To Kill a Mockingbird.
    The Mockingbirds is a thought provoking novel involving rape and a girl's decision to take a stand. I was reluctant to read it at first, mostly because I'm not a huge fan of serious books. I read to get away from all that. But I couldn't help the fact that almost every review I read praised the book to the point where I said, "I might as well." So far I've read the book twice, and loved it both times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    so good

    really liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Great for discussions

    My thoughts...Teenagers, young adults, parents, teachers, librarians, read this book! This book talks about the sensitive subject of date rape. It would be a great segway into a discussion about preventing or dealing with such a tragedy.

    Whether you are talking about it or reading about it, this is a hard subject to breach. Daisy Whitney does a brilliant job of writing about it. The girl's story is believable. The emotions she deals with feel genuine as do her reactions.

    While this book made an impact on me, I had several small issues with the book. First were some of the characters were very shallow. Secondly, was the adults in the story. They were constantly turning a blind eye and not taking care of their students. Lastly was the lack of police involvement. Date rape is a crime. The heroine, Alex, chooses not to go to the police, but rather a secret society within her school. I understand that this is part of the plot. This society, The Mockingbirds, are at the heart of this story. I also understand why Alex didn't seek adult or legal help immediately. She felt shameful and at fault for the rape. However my interpretation of the book was that it wanted to convey a message rather than just a story. Not all victims have the benefit of a strong peer group to guide them or protect them. There is no shame in seeking help and often times adults or the law provides the best assistance.

    Overall, I enjoyed The Mockingbirds. Daisy Whitney is a strong writer and I look forward to more of her books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Debut

    What struck me first about this book and then again many times throughout was the interesting, strong voice of the main character, Alex. I'm a sucker for good characterization. From the start, even as Alex begins to realize the immensity of what has happened to her, she is not wilting in a sea of helplessness and woe. She meets what she faces with a measure of courage and even ration that are both admirable. I love her quirky sense of imagination and creativity that are somewhat understated but still strongly present.

    Martin is an awesome character, as well. He's just a regular (nerdy!) guy who likes a girl and wants to be there for her. He really endears himself to my heart due to his spectacular nerdiness, and my opinion of Alex is, of course, exalted since she likes him back. I think their relationship is a strength of the book because it is very natural and healthy and normal - something that is not always found in young adult literature.

    The plot also really engaged me. Everything was naturally and logically paced. Even though the subject of date rape is so emotionally charged, at no point do things become melodramatic and weepy. Alex has a strong support group filled with people who understand her and who will stand up for her, and she actually lets them help her, despite being reluctant to share her uncomfortable and painful memories. I loved finding out about the existence and structure of The Mockingbirds right along with Alex. The connection to To Kill a Mockingbird is so cool!

    The book carries the wonderful message of self-empowerment and speaking out against the wrongs that have been done to self or others, yet it is organically done through the plot and characters and at no point becomes preachy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1