Customer Reviews for

Mockingjay (Hunger Games Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27596 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18482)

4 Star

(4902)

3 Star

(2353)

2 Star

(868)

1 Star

(991)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

368 out of 515 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

350 out of 1247 people found this review helpful.

Good series, great characters, but fails on the last book

Simply put, why would you kill Prim? Kill Haymitch, Kill Kat's mother, kill even Peeta but why would you kill innocent Prim who is the only one there that would give Kat sound advice.

The last book takes so many wicked turns that in the end you wish that you could ...
Simply put, why would you kill Prim? Kill Haymitch, Kill Kat's mother, kill even Peeta but why would you kill innocent Prim who is the only one there that would give Kat sound advice.

The last book takes so many wicked turns that in the end you wish that you could rewrite the book and fix how all the characters finally fall into place.

This book fell short with the death of Prim, Kat finally ending up with Peeta, Gale becoming just as bad as the enemies, and Kat just becoming a vegetable to walk around and can no longer be happy.

She is suppose to be happy in the end not this depressed maniac. In the end you are wishing she would just end her life to end her misery.

posted by Imroadkill2 on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 868 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Great book, but a lazy ending

    This series was well-written... right up to the end. I still recommend reading it. You can't help but root for Katniss and Peeta. But, Collins clearly can't take the presure of writing the final chapter. No spoilers here, and die-hard Hunger Games fans will read it anyway. But, very dissappointing.

    137 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Utterly Disappointing.

    There's so many things to say about this book...i'll start off with the fact that i've never been so disappointed at a conclusion in all my life. I expected more. I really did. The whole book focuses on the war and Peeta is absent in more ways then you think going into the book. He was my favorite character and not ONCE during the entire book did i actually feel like he was really there. That was the worst thing in the book.
    While entertaining, the book was filled with nothing but misery, boredom, and disappointment. The only thing that kept me flipping the pages was curiosity. I wouldn't necessarily say that SC ruined the series, but she definitely ruined Mockingjay. The whole thing was introduction, rising action, rising action, rising action, rising action, rising action...oh, wait is it the climax? I stopped paying attention because i got bored. Oh, guess it's the resolution now. Oh, the resolution's only two pages? Well then.

    93 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Weird and Disappointing

    As I was reading this book all the characters felt like complete strangers to me. It was like the author was not the same person who wrote the other two books. It was very slow reading and the plot was-well there was no plot. There was no emotion from Katniss. She was indifferent to Gale, Peeta, and Haymitch. I wanted her to want to be with Peeta or Gale, but she didn't really WANT anything in this book. The girl on fire was not the same girl in this book. In the end, it felt like she just sat down and settled.

    82 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Well...

    I always feel bad, writing a review for a book I think is less than exceptional, but I just can't hold in the disappointment I feel for this one. In general, the ending didn't bother me, cause I thought it seemed very "real." However, how it lead to the ending - the way the story was told - kinda shocked me. The characters in the book were incredibly flat, completely unlike the first two books. They were never fleshed out. I never laughed with them, I never cried with them or got angry with/at them! It just kind of told the story and "The End." A lot of things happened, but they were described AFTER the fact instead of during. What took me hours to finish with the last two books, took me a week with this one. I just couldn't connect with the characters and that's the biggest part of reading for me.
    Unfortunately, I just didn't like it. I had very high expectation and this book just didn't cut it. Sorry, Miss Collins. :(

    23 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Disappointing End...

    I bought Mockingjay by mistake on my Nook (silly...don't ask) and after reading the synopsis I realized I'd have to start with Hunger Games. I REALLY enjoyed Hunger Games and then enjoyed #2 nearly as much. Mockingjay was simply not on par with the first two books of the series. Katliss was left out of the loop with rebellion plans and that's exactly how I felt, as well. I didn't know who was a good guy and who was a bad guy and I just couldn't get a good feel for the scenery/settings. Instead of a roller coaster ride I got stuffed in a trunk and driven over railroad tracks. Bummer.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Very Disappointed in the Ending

    The first two books of the series were awesome. They had you on the edge of your seat pulling for Katniss, Peeta, and Gayle all the way. Then book 3 comes out and beginning is slow then picks up. The twist with Peeta is good but Gayle is not the same character. He doesn't show emotion or loyalty to Katniss. Then why kill off alot of the main charcters like Prim, Finnick, and Cinna? Katniss worked all this time to protect her sister just for her to be killed, stupidly I might add at the end. The end seems like it just drops off, never really concludes with what happens with the love triangle. Peeta is still around so Katniss just goes with him No Gayle or word from him either. Just a lousy way to end a good series.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Horrible

    Suzanne Collins ruined the Hunger Gamres series by writing this book. She rushed through it and introduced too many new characters. The book was extremely confusing. Do not read this book it is a waste of money and time.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    A major disappointment...

    As MANY other people have said before me, while I was reading the first two books, I was convinced that this was going to be one of my favorite book series of all time... and then I got to Mockingjay. I wasn't terribly upset with the storyline (for the most part): characters change, characters die, there aren't always happy endings and that's fine. My major problem was the way it seemed like the entire book was just kind of thrown together by Collins without any effort at all. Characters changing can create tension or show growth when it actually makes sense, but we aren't shown any reason for some really drastic personality changes. Character deaths can be powerful and moving when done right, but when so many characters die in such rapid succession in senseless ways (usually in a few throwaway lines), you end up just not caring at all. Really, the entire third act of this book has so many pointless plot "twists" (if you can even call them that) that there is nothing "real" about it. And you would think when three books have basically been building up a romantic relationship between two charcters, that you could spend more than 3-5 pages actually RESOLVING IT!!! The really tragic thing about reading Mockingjay is seeing all of its potenial to be an amazing book and then watching helplessly as it is carelessly wasted. This book isn't about the "horrors of war"; it is about the horrors of sloppy writing.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Not good..

    What happened! With all the colorful characters that were interwined during the first two books, I felt for sure that the final book would be full of intrique, adventure, and surprise..not. It's a shame the story lost it's fire so to speak. Why did the resue of Peeta seem to happen with ease, and then it took the whole book to get the mockingjay to the capital steps? The characters failed to remain true to themselves, It seemed as if book three was written by a totally diffrent author. For new Hunger Game readers, you'll enjoy the first two books of this trilogy, but leave the third one on the shelf. The Happy Worm isn't happy, and It didn't matter which boy got the girl.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Undecided

    I was disappointed with how the story ended after such a great start in the Hunger Games. It dragged a lot more than I was expecting, even more so then the repetition in Catching Fire. As can be expected people die in the book and some of them leave you so confused about why exactly they needed to happen. Over all the ending left me feeling absolutely miserable.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    unexpected

    Well i can say this much i was totally disappointed with this book down to the core. The book itself left me in a state of confusion. Both katniss and peeta are totally out of wack. Way to less of peeta and that is a dissapointement and when he comes back still to less of him. THe epiloug doesnt even answers anything. How President snow dies is a mass confusion. President Coin is a total confusion all together. Why is she supporting another hunger games and the capitol kids in them? wasnt she all about trying to stop the hunger games? did she really kill primerose or did snow make all that up. I am in total confusion over the whole thing

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Very disappointed in the ending of this series and this book. Un

    Very disappointed in the ending of this series and this book. Unlike the 1st 2 books which kept you turning pages because of how well the characters were interwoven and the spectrum of emotions that propel you right to the end of both. The only reason you keep turning the pages of the last book is because you keep waiting for a return of the intensity of the first two books which never happens. You keep wanting more for Katriss and Peeta but she's never allowed to reach her potential and grow into the leader she's supposed to be. This book seemed to be rushed through by the author who makes it seem as if she just wants to be finished with these characters and tired of this world she crafted so beautifully in the first two books. The ending leaves you wondering what the hell happened not only to the characters, the capitol, and the districts but to the original story as well.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    Not as good as the others!!

    I loved the other books in the series, but this one fell so short of my expectations! I wondered why this was, and I realized... its beacuse there are no Hunger Games! There's no survival! Its just another story in a dystopian world, and a girl who brings down the government. Just another novel about saving the world. I know what your thinking, "How can you say that about this series! These books are EPIC!! So unlike any other books out there!" And I agree with that about the first two. Just not this one. Katniss changes, TOO much. She's just depressed. And Gale becomes a war freak, wanting to destroy everything. Which was pretty awful of Collins to do to him, since I don't think anyone got that impression of him from the first two books. I really really REALLY did not like the "hijacking" thing going on with Peeta. I was always rooting for Gale, but Peeta going basically insane wasn't helping anything. I liked him better before. Yet Katniss still marries him, which didn't make sense, the way Peeta recovered so fast. And then when Prim dies, and Cinna, and Boggs, and pretty much the whole "star shooters" group, and Darius and Lavinia, and everyone else... well, in the end Katniss seems to have no regard for human life anymore. Which is crazy, especially when she votes yes for a final Hunger Games. That was sooo stupid.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dissapointing, Riveting, Excellent.

    Although a lot of times it seemed the story was in a way going of track the good parts made you think so I did get through the book but the ending didn't seem that spectacular, it seemed sort of boring. The other two books were great but on a scale of one to ten I would rate this book as a 4.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Not good book. Stop chatting everyone>:(

    Got stuck in the middle and gave up. District thirteen is dummm and the story gets so slowwww. But if you really really liked the first two then this book will be good for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Sucks

    From the other two good books, this one turned into some kiddish love, war story

    Not impressed and dissapointed

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Peace

    Love

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    a little disappointing

    The 1st & 2nd books were really good...this one unfornutately doens't quite follow suit. It felt a little rushed to conclusion, with more descriptive filler instead of story, when compared to the others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Deflated Ending

    Talk about a disappointment!! I loved loved loved the first book. The second was decent but the third was awful. It was one of those books that you find out in the middle of the book how disappointing the book really is but you have to read the rest just to put figure out what really happens in the end. Honestly, I would have rather written my own third book for the series. Kat doesn't live up to who she was in the first book at all!!! She becomes someone I don't care for as much or feel that emotionally connected to. Basically to sum it all up, it's a disturbing novel but if you are like me you'll have to read it just to seek what happens because come on we are all rooting for PEETA!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am so happy that all of you were disappointed by the ending as

    I am so happy that all of you were disappointed by the ending as well! It was way too real- I go to books to get away from real life but this book pushed it down my throat. I finished it at around 3 in the morning and I kept crying and crying and I just felt awful. I sleep with 2 cats as well and I couldn't help but think of Buttercup and then I would cry again. It was a well put together story but... I always need a happy ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 868 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44