Customer Reviews for

Model: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    I'm still amazed by this book. You never think of the whole model industry as being something that us ordinary folks can relate to, but then along comes this book, which tells about the ups and downs of the business in a voice that is convincing, fresh, and relatable. And all models are supposed to be little mindless bubble people, right? Well, think again, because Cheryl Diamond proves that not only is she stunningly beautiful, she is intelligent and talented too. Kind of makes me feel insufficient. Ha. But I think she deserves all the attention and credit she can get because she went through more struggles in the first 20 years of her life than what the rest of us experience in our entire lifetime. And that's really not an exaggeration. But the reality of the story isn't even the greatest thing about the book. The great thing is the writing. How a person who has never tried to write much can sit down and write a book like this one is beyond comprehension. Because not only is the writing smooth and captivating, it's blunt and doesn't leave out any of the hairy details that other books about modeling might. In Model, you really get to see the gruesome underside of an industry that is known for glamor and drama and that in itself is refreshing and interesting. I don't think I'll ever in a million years get wrapped up in anything related to modeling, so this book was probably the closest I'll ever get, and really, I'm fine with that because it was an amazing book. I highly suggest that if you haven't read it yet, you go out and do so ASAP. It'll be worth your every penny.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

    Cheryl Diamond's memoir, MODEL, offers readers a rare glimpse inside the modeling industry. In her teens, Diamond got a contract with an agency and moved out on her own to pursue a career in modeling. With her striking looks and natural blonde hair, she caught the attention of top designers and talent seekers, getting hired for photoshoots and runway shows most beginning models only dream of. <BR/><BR/>As glamorous as that sounds, Diamond isn't afraid to reveal the less appealing side of modeling. From the two days she spent without a home while waiting for her first payment, to the bullying agency managers and clients and the illicit activities her fellow models get caught up in, she makes it clear there's a lot more to modeling than standing in front of the camera. But Diamond was able to stay true to herself despite fears and temptations, and ultimately the story is one of survival and hope. <BR/><BR/>Anyone even a little curious about the modeling industry will find MODEL hard to put down. With Diamond's wry and humorous tone and her many exploits, it's as entertaining as it is informative. There's also much to admire in the fact that she managed to avoid the drug use, health issues, and nasty relationships that many of her co-workers fell victim to. A great voice, a great story, and a great message -- it all adds up to a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Ive always wanted to be a model.

    Reach for your goals.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Fun read

    This book definitely kept me reading. It is interesting to get a perspective from inside the industry, and I think that's an important side to see for anyone looking to go into this particular industry. You don't have to love the author/narrator to enjoy this book. I found it very informative and hard to put down at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    A Slap on the Knee...

    I thought it was a fun summer reading book. Through the first couple of pages, I felt sucked into Ms. Diamond's world. She still kept her sense of humor and a Devil-May-Care attitude 'which was brought in afterwards when she understood how the fashion industry worked' even though the denizens of NYC were persistent on bullying and lowering her self esteem. She still had her right of mind to live on with the emotional 'and some physical from her employer' attacks. Even when she was at her lowest, she still worked her rear end through. And everywhere her sense of humor remains. From the smallest corner to the boldest font, it's there. A good book to read at a cafe and some house music mingling in the background.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Great Read

    This is a must read for Young Women (and thier parents) who are intersted in the business.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    OMFG IT IS SO GOOD

    Not only was this book kind of informative, its funny and amazingly written. As a male model just starting out, hearing her model horror stories and how she dealt and reading about her highs and how she got there, really motivated me. Im driven to sucsess and i can tell, so was Cheryl. I read this book superrrrrr quick, my only complaint is that it shouldve been longer!
    This is a must have book buy it right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Alaysha

    I had a GREAT bday NOT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Great read

    Very insightful about the good and bad of the industry. Cheryl gives an inside look at the real life days of models, makes you feel like you are in new york with her. Great for anyone who ever thought of modelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Marvelous!!!!!!!

    This book was so good! Her perspective offered a very interesting view of life as a model. Aso, dear could have been good. I didnt know what a comp card was and no everyone des, so yo shouldnt expect them to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Love

    I loved this book! It tells of the problems and downsides of modeling while also telling of the great parts. Its one of the best memoirs ive ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Cheryl Diamond's Model shows the not-so glamorous side of the modeling industry

    Cheryl Diamond, Author of Model, and a model herself brings a shocking insight into the modeling industry.from one of the few grounded models. Seeking a pastime, Diamond moved to New York City after picking modeling on her own at age sixteen. It was here that she experienced crazy agents, druggies in every aspect of the industry; girls willing to do whatever it takes to gain fame, and even a disastrous event which destroyed her modeling career, followed by a spectacular comeback. The major theme of this book is deception: the focus of the modeling industry claims Diamond. In her exposé of practices in the modeling industry such as models shooting heroin in-between their toes to avoid visible marks, one model bragging about how the last time she ate was several days ago, and even how, due to lack of support from her agency, was homeless for two night while feverishly sick. Diamond demonstrates how every part of the industry is basically deception, how one deals with it, is completely up to them. However in another interview for Good Morning America, Diamond states that she really "intended to capture some of the interesting characters in this industry." As she does, profiling her agents, specifically one by the name of Fabriziou, and through these characters she represents her naivety, such as through photographer Sebastian, clearly a drug addict, "at the time I was so naïve, I just thought he was really happy." She claims (8). One of my favorite things about the book is the personality that Diamond represents, by making a otherwise strange or shocking statements humorous by her analysis of the situation. Cheryl Diamond does not try to be anyone but Cheryl Diamond in this story and the juxtaposition of Diamond against all the other models helps to show the true nature of the modeling industry from the eyes of a simple all-American girl. The only thing I didn't like about this book was her constant proclamation of how exclusive the modeling industry is, the concept, though a major role in book, soon became redundant, and instead of allowing for the instances to speak for her, she constantly repeated how exclusive the industry was. This book is a great read and answers many questions about this often shaded industry. Another reason to read this book is that it is actually funny in a very dark way; however the humor is nicely contrasted with drama such as when Cheryl finds out that one of the few people she thought was pure in the industry had been shooting heroin. Overall, a great book, I would highly recommend it, it gives a whole new conception to the modeling industry both through the exposition by Diamond and through the attitude of Diamond reminding us that not every model is the coldhearted person they are made out to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Cheryl is awesome

    Cheryl Diamond shares her experience as a teenage model living with her cat in New York. I am currently on pg. 255 and am fully hooked. I haven't wanted to put it down. I love it. I would recommend it to all readers who enjoy a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    Inspired me in REAL LIFE

    This book helped me in the real world. I want to be a model and this book really showed me the fashion industry and I learned a lot of handy vocab and info about modeling. Now when I look at a magazine or a show I know exactly what is happening behind the set. This book revealed many myths about the fashion industry. It's amazing how much I know about the fashion industry now. Now I am taking the next steps to become a model. It's very exciting and I never would of been this far if it wasn't for this book. I recommend this book to anybody who likes fashion, wants to be part of the fashion industry in any way or just wants to shed the light on those myths!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    I find this book soooo inspiring! I've read it twice now and cannot wait to read it again! After my friend returns it to me (I let her borrow it!) and so far she loves it! Cheryl Diamond really inspires people through this book! I've always wanted to be a model, and reading her story just enforces my dream! But, overall, it teaches you basically the in's and out's about the modeling business through her recollection of her modeling career. It's a great read, but I would only recommend it to people either aspiring to be a model or people who love reading success stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Diamond did an absolutely fantastic job!

    Model: A Memoir <BR/>Simon Pulse, 2008, 357 pp., $9.99<BR/>Cheryl Diamond <BR/>ISBN978-1-4169-5904-5<BR/>¿There are 6.5 billion people on this planet. Sixteen of them are supermodels.¿ At age 14, Cheryl Diamond started her career as a model in America¿s top modeling market: New York City, New York. After a false start, Cheryl signed to Prima Modeling Agency and fully entered the cut-throat world of modeling. <BR/> Diamond¿s recount of life in the fast lane completely transports you to New York City, her apartment search in Jersey City, Prima Agency, clubs, backstage at runway shows, and each photographer¿s studio, or lack thereof. Her experiences are all too real as she juggles life away from home, working at an extremely high maintenance job and for a laugh and expression of inner beauty. But as she works her way to the top, disaster hits and she has a long way to fall. She must figure out if her dream has any hope of survival, or if her glamour days are gone forever. <BR/> This is one of the best non-fiction books I have ever read because it reads like fiction- you can forget that the events happening in the book actually happened to Diamond. She expertly tells her story with narrative thoughts and feelings, seriously funny in-the-moment humor and real insight into the modeling world; if any of it is sugar-coated, you can¿t tell. Although geared more toward women and teen girls, I think anyone would appreciate Miss Diamond¿s masterwork. Model is the type of book you will find yourself wanting to read over and over again. You won¿t be able to get enough of the pretty, small town girl making her way in the Big Apple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Could have been good, but...

    I found it to be kind of egotistical. The way she felt the need to tell the reader that comp card was short for composition card was stupid. The book was full of itself as is the author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GRRRRR

    I would without a doubt never recommemd this book. I thought it would be a great one for my school assignment. But by the timei got to about just before the middle i was literaly trying to put the book down because it was so boring, but sadly couldn't because i had to finish the entrys for the assignent. By the second half of it I just made it all up because the book was so boring. I mean if you like books that just go on about random ventures in the city of New York and going to random casting calls, be my geust. If you were smart unlike me DO NOT PURCHASE THIS BOOK!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Very, Very Interesting.

    This book was so good and I really enjoyed reading it. It opened my eyes about one of most 'glamorous' industries in the world. Now, every time I see a photo spread in a magazine, I think about what went on behind the camera. As soon as I finished it, I passed it straight on to a friend, who is now reading it. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Could've been better

    I needed to read a non fiction book for school, and thought this would be a great one. Sadly, I was mistaken. It was really good at first, but I became really bored after awhile. It did give a great intake on the modeling world, how awful it could be. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2