Customer Reviews for

Modelland

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

He without Pettiness cast the First book

Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of t...
Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

posted by luv2readalways on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Alas.

Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

posted by 9335121 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    He without Pettiness cast the First book

    Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

    To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

    Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    I loved it! It was a fun read and I'm a guy.

    Not sure where the hate is coming from. I thought it was a fun read. Obviously, it was written for young women so I am not sure everyone is going to love it.

    Give it a try if your in high school.

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Alas.

    Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

    22 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Super engaging!

    Such a great and delightful preview read ... looking forward to curling up with this book on the couch as soon as it comes out!

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I wanna go to Modelland!!

    Tyra, you're my QUEEN! How many more days till Sept 13? I wish I could go to Modelland ... This book is going to be FIERCE - just like Tyra!

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Fascinating study into the id of today's young woman

    With a lexicon dexterity reminiscient of ANTM Season 11 contestant Sheena during the handbag accessory challenge, Tyra Banks has managed to break through the psyche of today's awkward adolescent striving to reach maturity in a sling-back pump. Her characterization of Tookie is clearly based on ANTM Season 15 contestant Ann, shows the langly teen struggle against her more conventionally beautiful older sister. The more aware reader, however, will realize that the battles that Tookie encounters are a reflection on the tensions currently building in a world ruled by consumerism and materialist greed. If this reader were wearing a smize, it would have to be removed to wipe the tears of joy and sorrow that simultaneously build with each paragraph absorbed. I cannot recommend this book enough, an excellent beach read to be paired with an off-the-shoulder linen wrap dress -- if you are feeling so bold.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    i do not recomend this book.

    i am dissapoited in this book.This is a rip off of harry potter.

    13 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    LOVE!

    I'm begging my mom to take me to buy this book as soon as it comes out! CAN'T WAIT!!!

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Disappointing

    Does it bother anyone else about Abigail and her "no razors" or whatever sign she's holding? For some reason it struck me as a mockery of feminism. You know, the people who portray feminists as being only ugly women who don't shave their legs. That just bothered me a lot.

    Besides that, I really like America's Next Top Model. I really do (even though I don't like to admit it). It's entertaining, and although I'm not sure if I agree with it all, it's fun to watch. That being said, I think I understand what Tyra was trying to get across by writing Modelland, but it missed the mark. So far I feel as though Tookie is a flat character and too much of a goody-goody to be interesting. Also her interaction with her love interest just makes her look weak to me. Also, I would like to say to the people who are saying that it's like Harry Potter or the Hunger Games: you can basically make that case for anything. Just read Orson Scott Card's essay on how J.K. Rowling was suing a lot of people for copying her a few years ago. Writers are influenced by others' work. That's how it's been working for thousands of years. There is, however, a difference between influence and plagiarism, but I'm pretty sure Tyra Banks did not cross it. Also, read the sample chapter before you review, please. Don't just go off of what everyone else is saying.

    I think that some people may actually enjoy reading this book, but it's not for me.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Laughably terrible

    There are almost no words to describe the profound awfulness of the writing/plot of this "novel". Most of the words that can be applied to it are four letters, and thusly inappropriate for a BN review...

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    I don't even know...

    I just read the sample chapter. That may have been the most stupid, poorly written, thing I have ever read. I think it just fried my brains. That wasn't even as well written as some of the worst fanfiction that's available.

    What was Tyra thinking?

    10 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    People should learn to give things a chance

    I find it ridiculous how people claimed this book was awful in AUGUST when the book came out in September

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    A fun read !!!

    I've read the excerpt and will buy the book...it seems like a fun read !!! Go Tyra !!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    brilliant intro

    as a twenty something, who's super obsessed with vampire diaries and pretty little liars, this is totally up my alley! i'm looking for that perfect weekend read and i know i've found it in modelland!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    BEST teen book coming out this year!

    From what I can tell on this preview, Tyra's new book is going to be a HUGE best seller for the teen/tween audience! I can't wait to tell my daughter and her friends about this book - they're going to love it!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Tyra is Inspiring

    Modelland is another example of Tyra practicing what she preaches. Tyra always encourages young women to believe in themselves and to take risks to achieve their goals. Her novel does not seem to have the typical "insider modeling" storyline. I would definitely like to read more of this story!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    TAKE ME TO MODELLAND

    omggggggg, tyra, gurl, this is amazzzzing! can we start a book club? my friends and i want to go to modelland!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    so good!

    If you're questioning this book, then stop. It's everything you'd expect from Tyra Banks in the most perfect of ways. I picked it up from the bookstore even thought I usually just borrow books from the library because I wanted something to read after finishing my homework every night. And I'll be totally honest with you. It's really hard to get through my homework because all I want to do is read Modelland! I'm about halfway through and I'm totally in love with Tookie. She's teaching me that it's ok to not look like everyone else and have unique traits. I love Modelland!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Talk about making a statement! If there's anyone who's not afraid to go bold, it's Tyra. I can't wait to read her book - and I'm at 30 year old woman!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    majorly fierce!

    ok, for real, how does tyra come up with all these FUN ideas? and could that cover be any more eye-catching? modelland's on my fall reads for sure.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11