Customer Reviews for

Modelland

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

He without Pettiness cast the First book

Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of t...
Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

posted by luv2readalways on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Alas.

Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

posted by 9335121 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Alas.

    Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

    22 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    i do not recomend this book.

    i am dissapoited in this book.This is a rip off of harry potter.

    13 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Disappointing

    Does it bother anyone else about Abigail and her "no razors" or whatever sign she's holding? For some reason it struck me as a mockery of feminism. You know, the people who portray feminists as being only ugly women who don't shave their legs. That just bothered me a lot.

    Besides that, I really like America's Next Top Model. I really do (even though I don't like to admit it). It's entertaining, and although I'm not sure if I agree with it all, it's fun to watch. That being said, I think I understand what Tyra was trying to get across by writing Modelland, but it missed the mark. So far I feel as though Tookie is a flat character and too much of a goody-goody to be interesting. Also her interaction with her love interest just makes her look weak to me. Also, I would like to say to the people who are saying that it's like Harry Potter or the Hunger Games: you can basically make that case for anything. Just read Orson Scott Card's essay on how J.K. Rowling was suing a lot of people for copying her a few years ago. Writers are influenced by others' work. That's how it's been working for thousands of years. There is, however, a difference between influence and plagiarism, but I'm pretty sure Tyra Banks did not cross it. Also, read the sample chapter before you review, please. Don't just go off of what everyone else is saying.

    I think that some people may actually enjoy reading this book, but it's not for me.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Laughably terrible

    There are almost no words to describe the profound awfulness of the writing/plot of this "novel". Most of the words that can be applied to it are four letters, and thusly inappropriate for a BN review...

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    I don't even know...

    I just read the sample chapter. That may have been the most stupid, poorly written, thing I have ever read. I think it just fried my brains. That wasn't even as well written as some of the worst fanfiction that's available.

    What was Tyra thinking?

    10 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Exactly what you would expect.

    No original ideas to be found, at least in the first chapter. It reads like a primary school student's journal, and to be honest, I half believe this is something Tyra wrote as a child.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Pffffffffffffffffffffft.

    AHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    So bad I thought there'd be a vampire

    Stay in school, yall. It brought me to tears for all the wrong reasons. Where's the negative button?

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Oh...My God

    Ok, let me start of by saying, the reason I read the first chapter was because I thought it would be worth a few laughs.
    I was so wrong, I wept profusely.

    This is so horrible, at the moment words fail me. I'm a 16 year old girl, is she writing to appeal to my gender and age group?? If so, I officially disown my generation.

    ANTM is a great show, please Tyra stop writing and stick to television.
    Seriously, your writing hurts me, physically.

    Can someone tell all the effing celebritys, NO ONE CARES IF YOU WRITE A BOOK, WE ALL KNOW ITS GONNA SUCK.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Awful

    I love Tyra Banks but this is a joke. So much of a joke that I only read the first three paragraphs and had to stop. This is in no way similar to The Hunger Games or Harry Potter, like people are stating that it is. Tyra should stick to what she's good at and writing isn't it.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Strange, a little to strange

    This book does not have good writing skills, in a middle of a page you will be like I do not get any of this and what the heck? Is there book before this one? Because I have no idea what you are talking about and what the heck what is a forgetta girl that is also never explained, if you really want to read it then rent it. It is not a very good book to spend money on, but hey if you like spending money on books that just stink and you will never finish because you do not get any of it, be my guest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Crappy

    I'm an avid reader of young adult fiction and this book was the epitome of crap. Did she even have an editor look this over?

    I daresay that Twilight was a smidgen better, which isn't much of a compliment. It's like saying a piece of poop smells better than that piece of poop.

    This book is probably for the very young person; toddlers who have no idea what's going on so it doesn't matter if you read them this or Goodnight Moon. The story was just... awful.

    Sorry, Tyra, but please stick to your day job.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    ...

    What was Tyra thinking?! I just read the sample chapter and whatever you do, DON'T SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS AWEFUL BOOK! It is very poorly written. One of Tyra's top models could have written it better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Don't bother...

    Now, I am not a Tyra Hater..As a matter of fact, I have respect for her and all her accomplishments. I'm not sure what I expected of her as an author but I really was disapointed

    Her book reads like it was written by a teenage girl infatuated with the Harry Potter Series. The first 150 or so pages are so poorly written I was actually embarrassed for her.

    Her writing does improves toward the end but the book as a whole is waste of time and money. Tyra excells at so many things I think she believes she will be a success at everything. Untill this book I think she had done just that.

    Sorry Tyra, but an author you are not :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    DON'T BOTHER

    horrible Tyra Banks should just stick to modeling

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Not yay.

    This book, was... for lack of a better word, dull. It was filled with adventure, boys, clothes, evil plots, crazy teachers, abnormal monsters, evil half family, etc.... I couldn't even finish this book, and I made it through four Twilight books. This book has uncanny simlarities to Harry Potter, I would know, Potterheads unite! But the way it was written was only okay, nothing like it could've been. This could have been a really cool idea, with a really cool plot, but Tyra didn't pull it off. I really hate to sound so harsh, it's not like me, but this book was barely even a book. It has a great idea, but it lacks the writing needed to pull it off. I'm still utterly confused about who Tookie is, what she's doing in Modelland, and what the heck is wrong with everybody! Bravo seems perfect, and the threat by theBellaDonna? All I'm saying is, Tyra, it was a swing and a miss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Not what your looking for...

    Please find another book she has no talent for writting period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    My head hurts after reading this

    Low quality writing, ridiculously innane idea, overdrawn characters all equals to a lot of wasted time reading this. When I first heard about it, I thought, oh oh, she is trying to ride on Hunger Games coattails. But don't worry, HG has no reason to fear this poorly written, silly plotted book. If I could only have that time back. Glad I didn't invest money in this one. Reading an ARC was definitely the best way to go with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    ?

    Tookie is my dogs name! Ha!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    If I could give it Zero....

    Just the description of the book is enough.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2