Customer Reviews for

Modelland

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

He without Pettiness cast the First book

Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of t...
Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

posted by luv2readalways on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Alas.

Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

posted by 9335121 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    He without Pettiness cast the First book

    Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

    To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

    Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    I loved it! It was a fun read and I'm a guy.

    Not sure where the hate is coming from. I thought it was a fun read. Obviously, it was written for young women so I am not sure everyone is going to love it.

    Give it a try if your in high school.

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Super engaging!

    Such a great and delightful preview read ... looking forward to curling up with this book on the couch as soon as it comes out!

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    People should learn to give things a chance

    I find it ridiculous how people claimed this book was awful in AUGUST when the book came out in September

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Wow

    I really love tyra and like many of you have already noticed, she is a inspiration to all. She is beautiful and yet strong. Humble yet queenly. She is a mystery but this book really shows what she loves. Modeling. I myself always wanted to be a model so now,because of Tyra, I'm finally going to try. THANK YOU TYRA!!!! <3 =] [=

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I really recomand this book it's really good.Tyra Banks has done it yet again..

    You must read this book!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    It's Good for the demographic

    I'm 20 and I'm currently finishing off the book. I bought the book because I am moderately interested in Tyra's literary competence. I have to say I don't hate this book it provides an escape for the teenage mind. I'm sure as a young teen modelling does seem mythical and magical. I don't understand all of the shad people are throwing her but i feel like she's a new author and she got her overall message across to whom she was trying to get it across to; young girls. It is meant to be a fun book it's not meant to cure all of life's problems that's why it is called fiction.(look up the definition if you are unclear of what that means) For a first time author it was interesting and it kept my attention and I would certainly recommend it for a fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Realy good

    It was a little confusing. Shocking ending but all in all a great book for eveyone good job Tyra

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Love it

    Personaly i loventhis book! I saw some reviews that people wrote and i think that the reason they didnt like it is becuase they werent teenagers from a teenagers piont of view it is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Its something...

    It takes you on an amazing journey. Teaches self worth and the power of a good SMIZE. Worth a read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Recommended to Top Model Fans

    Tyra Banks is stunning and charming in the show, but she did surprise me with her ability to write a book. To be honest I thought this would crash and burn, but it is in a way an inspiration story about a girl named Tookie who isn't excepted as one of the pretty girls in Modelland along with her three friends, Piper, Shiraz, and Dyan. Though the book was good and welltold, it seemed like Tyra would lose track of what she was saying. At one moment they would say Tooki ewas and here and on the next paragraph she was somewhere else without warning. It also seemed like she had too many characters and too many things going on at once. If you are looking for a book and do not have much interest in Tyra this probably isn't for you, but this is mostly for big fans of her shows, that will catch on with Tyra's personality. But I did enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I love this book so much!!!!! It was mysterious, and it kept me

    I love this book so much!!!!! It was mysterious, and it kept me wanting more. I love how it's empowering  to girls and it gives you a new outlook on the word beauty. This book is a book the not just girls but women can relate to I would recommend this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Lol

    I just love Tyra(: shes great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Pretty good.... haters, quit hatin!!!!!

    Ok, alot of you people that are posting comments are just
    haters!!! It was a pretty decent book, considering that she is a model, not a writer.

    The book WAS sorta confusing at times, but I found it an overall entertaining and good book.

    '--' #.....# ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Really good book

    I read all o the other reviews and it seems many people think this is badly written or is a dumb idea. However, i strongly disagree. Tyra banks is so good at everything she does...including writing. This book has a fun plot and is very well written. Highly recommended.
    On the other hand, this book can get kind of confusing.
    Although her writing is very descriptive, the setting and characters are quite difficult to visualize and the book is just...kind of...well...weird. tyra's writing is so imaginative and creative that it seems kind of childish and random. She also gives alot of irrelevant and unnecessary detail. However, these things dont really detract from the story so much.
    I also dont understand why evryone says this book is a ripoff of harry potter because modelland is nothing like harry potter or the hunger games!!
    Overall, i thoroughly enjoyed the book. I am 13 years old and loved Modelland. I would recommend it to teenage girls who like fantasy and a fun read. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    A good book to read to help the time fly by!

    A good book to read to help the time fly by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I find myself now saying "yep yep" alot. Lol ;)

    Love this book. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    LOVE I!!! BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome you should totally read it! Tyra is a remarkable writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2