Customer Reviews for

Modelland

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

He without Pettiness cast the First book

Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of t...
Are you people seriously that petty or are you just deluded? What part of that book was not well written? Name one part. You came into this ready to bash Tyra Banks, and why, because she's a beautiful woman who made a career and a name and stability for herself out of that beauty, well shame on you. You who are the literate, the readers, the people who know in the written world there is no judgment. Was this book really a rip off of Harry Potter? No, it wasn't. It had nothing to do at all with the concept of Harry Potter. That was an ignorant statement and you should be ashamed that you made it. Would I compare Sarah Dessen to LJ Smith, no, and why, because they have nothing to do with each other. If you can say you don't judge a book by it's cover how can you judge a book by it's author. Really, well I'm so happy that you are literary geniuses whose word is law, congratulations on that.

To those of you who read like I do, because it is life, I would like to say that the first chapter of this book could be something. It's a little cliched but so are many other really great books. The world building will be fun for mini fashionistas or girls who just want a fun read. This is not a book that is suppose to have the meaning of life between it's pages. It has a message, you are beautiful. Would you really take that away from a thirteen year old girl on the brink of self discovery, make her feel that if she reads and enjoys this book she's not intelligent, that she has no literary taste. Well how pretentious and conceited you are. How dreadful a person you must be.

Don't judge this book, read this book. Enjoy this book. There are no rules to who writes a book, stop stereotyping, stop judging. Just...stop. You should feel really bad about the things you said. You people who read because you want to go to another world. Don't you dare take that away from someone who can escape the life they're suffering in through these pages.

posted by luv2readalways on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Alas.

Tyra Banks is beautiful and has many skills. Writing is not one of them.

posted by 9335121 on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I wanna go to Modelland!!

    Tyra, you're my QUEEN! How many more days till Sept 13? I wish I could go to Modelland ... This book is going to be FIERCE - just like Tyra!

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Fascinating study into the id of today's young woman

    With a lexicon dexterity reminiscient of ANTM Season 11 contestant Sheena during the handbag accessory challenge, Tyra Banks has managed to break through the psyche of today's awkward adolescent striving to reach maturity in a sling-back pump. Her characterization of Tookie is clearly based on ANTM Season 15 contestant Ann, shows the langly teen struggle against her more conventionally beautiful older sister. The more aware reader, however, will realize that the battles that Tookie encounters are a reflection on the tensions currently building in a world ruled by consumerism and materialist greed. If this reader were wearing a smize, it would have to be removed to wipe the tears of joy and sorrow that simultaneously build with each paragraph absorbed. I cannot recommend this book enough, an excellent beach read to be paired with an off-the-shoulder linen wrap dress -- if you are feeling so bold.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    LOVE!

    I'm begging my mom to take me to buy this book as soon as it comes out! CAN'T WAIT!!!

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    A fun read !!!

    I've read the excerpt and will buy the book...it seems like a fun read !!! Go Tyra !!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    brilliant intro

    as a twenty something, who's super obsessed with vampire diaries and pretty little liars, this is totally up my alley! i'm looking for that perfect weekend read and i know i've found it in modelland!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    BEST teen book coming out this year!

    From what I can tell on this preview, Tyra's new book is going to be a HUGE best seller for the teen/tween audience! I can't wait to tell my daughter and her friends about this book - they're going to love it!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Tyra is Inspiring

    Modelland is another example of Tyra practicing what she preaches. Tyra always encourages young women to believe in themselves and to take risks to achieve their goals. Her novel does not seem to have the typical "insider modeling" storyline. I would definitely like to read more of this story!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    TAKE ME TO MODELLAND

    omggggggg, tyra, gurl, this is amazzzzing! can we start a book club? my friends and i want to go to modelland!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    so good!

    If you're questioning this book, then stop. It's everything you'd expect from Tyra Banks in the most perfect of ways. I picked it up from the bookstore even thought I usually just borrow books from the library because I wanted something to read after finishing my homework every night. And I'll be totally honest with you. It's really hard to get through my homework because all I want to do is read Modelland! I'm about halfway through and I'm totally in love with Tookie. She's teaching me that it's ok to not look like everyone else and have unique traits. I love Modelland!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Talk about making a statement! If there's anyone who's not afraid to go bold, it's Tyra. I can't wait to read her book - and I'm at 30 year old woman!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    majorly fierce!

    ok, for real, how does tyra come up with all these FUN ideas? and could that cover be any more eye-catching? modelland's on my fall reads for sure.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    SO GOOD! can i pls get an advance copy?

    i don't think i can wait until september 13 for modelland to be in my hands. is there any way i can get a preview copy? tyra baby, i'm a huge fan!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    buy me!

    if uve seen top model, u know tyra. and her voice is LOUD and CLEAR in this book. i hope that modelland's going to be everywhere - hunger games who!?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Buying for my little sister!

    My little sister is going to LOOOOOOVE this book. Way to go Tyra - model, author - show them how it's DONE!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Father Approved

    As a single dad, I'm always searching for inspirational characters for my daughter. From what I can tell, Tyra's provided the world with exactly that in Modelland. I will definitely be buying this book for my daughter.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    My lil sis luvs tyra! So y not give it a try? Tyra is a inspiration to many young teens.

    Havent read it yet but seems goood. Cant wait!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    I loved it

    I thouht it was fantastic im a twelve year old girl with a not so high reading level so when i told my mom i wanted to read it my mom didnt want me to buy it beceuse she thought half way though i would lose intrest but i bought it any way then my teachers thought it was trash well let me just say thats sterotyping tyra and that in it self was dumb but despit that i read it and couldent put it down best read trya should wrote anotherbut however dont just think its easy cus it ain't they like emerge and iluminate alot so i dont suggest it for peaple with bad vocab

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Amazing

    This book blew me away with its sense of creativity,crazyness, and encouraging message. This book is fabulous and highly recommended for teens. I loved it so much I bled all over the book ( the real size book is big, it makes perfect sense why I'd get a papercut lol), NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE TYRA

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Sounds Really Interesting

    Can't wait to get this book, sounds great!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Surprise Delight

    I was hooked after the little preview and i'm so excited to read the rest. this is sure to be in the locker of school girls all over!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8