Customer Reviews for

The Modern Girl's Guide to Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    A Three-some? What?

    I am a woman who has been married for 15 years.I am also a working mom with 3 kids. I have a BA in Family Studies and a MA in Human Development. I was so excited when this book came out and appreciated the text so much-as I am a fan of the show-until I read the part about having a three-some. I couldn't believe it! I can tell you, that it is a horrible idea for marriage and family life-and in my opinion, has no place in this book. I was dissapointed. And yes, I have had one (before I got my degrees and got married) and it was a really, really bad idea and it led to seriously detrimental consequences. I just don't think the author needed to go that far-it makes the book awkward-to say the least.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Very helpful!

    Excellent book and very informative. I have always been very busy with school, sports, and now my career, and never really took the time (or had the time) to learn basic skills of cooking and keeping a house. This book has been a lifesaver! It teaches basic, useful skills for entertaining, what you need to get by in the kitchen, laundering your clothes, building a basic wardrobe, decorating. it is give very realistic, practical tips for a busy modern girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    A Great Guide for the Modern Sophisticated Woman

    It was my pleasure to use this guide as check off for how I live my life and ways in which I can grow. It felt great to know that I have been living a classy life. Every young woman who desires to be sophisticated in this crazy, impolite society needs to read this guide. I am very feminine, and I love discovering more ways to feel like a woman. The guide has a lot to offer for I don't know everything about etiquette. Books like this excite me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Helpful for a lot of things.

    I like this book. It's very helpful in many subjects. It came in the condition that was described to be in. I love it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Just as good as the show

    At first when I borrowed it from my friend, I hesitated to give it back. It's got every thing you need, and want to read. I also love the front cover it's so cute. It makes you want to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    A Must Have

    Oh my, I wish I had this book a long time ago. I would not have made so many mistakes. It is great for everything, and more. If you have a question and am not sure who to turn to or who to ask, ask this book. It is great. I am so getting the other one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    A complete guide to life

    I just graduated from college and I am living on my own for the first time. I have consulted this book on almost a daily basis! It covers almost EVERYTHING you need to know about managing your life and it is funny too! A must have for all women starting out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    Great Leason

    This book was very helpful, along the way I started to highlight parts in the book. I carry it in my car. I could read it all again it was so great! She seems to really put it all out for you. One of my favorite parts was the party food part. I love that she has McDonald fries on the menu. How can you go wrong. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    A Must Have

    This book will answer any question you wanted to ask but were afraid to. I turn to it almost every day and the advice has worked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    16- party girl

    Wow, this book is great and has everything you need to know from hangover remedies to buying your own crib, or organizing your closet. It REALLY helps AND I LOVE IT. IT TEACHES YOU HOW TO MAKE DRINKS, SET A TABLE, AND THROW A GREAT PARTY, PLUS MUCH MORE GREAT STUFF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    A Great Guide!!!!

    The book is very empowering and gives women a good sense where they are at and where they should go. 'Modern Girl's Guide to Life' not only teaches the basics, but also gives you pratical solutions. It gives great suggestions on how to make life a little less complicated and a little more about you. It is a fun and easy read that leaves you with the 'You Go Girl' feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    What a fun read!

    This book is great! The author covers so much information all in a fun relatable way. Mrs. Buckingham includes everything from mixing the perfect martini,decorating your digs, managing your finances, auto maintenance, to the rules of poker! She gives lots of awesome MG (modern-girl) tips, and delivers it all with humor and grace. I'll keep this book as a reference for as long as I can still be called a 'Modern Girl'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2