Customer Reviews for

Molly Fyde and the Parsona Rescue

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    This was a big let down after 'Wool' and 'First Shift', which we

    This was a big let down after 'Wool' and 'First Shift', which were great reads. I should have paid more attention to the summary that mentioned it was Howey's first novel. The Parsona Rescue, unfortunately, reads like one. A decent first draft it could be, but not a finished novel.

    Clearly he was experimenting with writing a teen love interest from a female perspective, and missed. Molly's "I'm strong but sensitive and misunderstood in a man's world" routine is cliche and tiresome. It probably appeals to pre-teen girls who can project themselves onto Molly. But for anyone over the age of 18 her actions, emotions, and decisions -- given the proposed circumstances -- are inexplicable and contrived.

    The setup for the story is weak and needed a decent editor. The characters make unnatural decisions that leave the reader frustrated. In particular, neither Molly nor the pilot, Cole, stand up for themselves at the beginning of the book after clearly being sabotaged -- a glaring and unnecessary plot device as Molly could have been launched on her adventure in hundreds of other ways that made better sense. Nobody checks the simulator logs, video that would have recorded their actions (it's a training simulation, after all), the fact that another crew also has their weapons mysteriously disabled and has their ship destroyed? None of that is brought to the attention of the Navy, their superiors, etc. It's a huge and unnatural forcing of the plot, and all it did for me was cause a loss of respect for the characters and Howey's ability to weave a credible story.

    Molly's crying at the drop of a hat is at odds with her back story. She is supposed to have been 5 years in a Naval Academy as the only girl, right? And she cries after being wrongly accused of incompetence, without even putting up a fight, offering an explanation, anything...? It makes no sense.

    Twenty pages after Molly leaves the Naval Academy I stopped reading it and bought something else.

    If you have not read "Wool", read it instead of this. It's 20 times the book The Parsona Rescue is. Had I not read Wool first I'd have given this one star instead of two. Two stars is being nice because I know what Howey capable of.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Good read

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Nsjd

    This is the last sentence from ze book:MOLLE I NEED YOU TO HELP ME gotta go!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Loved it

    I read Wool and loved it. I really like Molly Fyde too. I have to admit I am on the second book now and I love it more than this first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Very satisfying space ship thriller

    Molly is a very believable character in this futuristic thriller lots of action and good character development too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    After reading the WOOL series, I decided to proceed on with Howe

    After reading the WOOL series, I decided to proceed on with Howey's works and try out Molly Fyde. I have to admit, I didn't think I could be even more impressed than I was with WOOL, but that's exactly what happened. The Molly Fyde series is absolutely the best series I have ever read.
    Hugh Howey has yet to disappoint me with his incredible writing style. All of his works are fast-paced, but not so much so that detail is neglected. I find myself constantly holding my breath, because I become so immersed in the plot and wondering what will happen next. He lets us know exactly what it feels like to be Molly Fyde, and he somehow succeeds in relating real-life feelings to the feelings a character flying starships feels. So there you go. Reading this book is the closest you'll ever get to experiencing flying a starship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I'm really hoping Hugh's books catch on with Nook users as much

    I'm really hoping Hugh's books catch on with Nook users as much as they have Kindle. I finished his Wool: Onimbus edition in two days, reading until my Nook was falling out of my hands as mental exhaustion finally set in. His Molly Fyde series is proving to be just as addicting: heart-pounding excitement, a brilliant story line and fully-fleshed characters you can't help but fall in love with. You find yourself feeling indignation when Molly is slighted, rooting for her every step of her adventure, and those butterflies you feel whenever she and Cole make physical contact? Ah, young love. Fans of fiction, sci-fi or otherwise, are in for a delightful ride through the cosmos. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Wow!

    I never thought I would like any of Howey's work as much as I love his 'Wool' series; but I was wrong, I LOVE this book! If you like sci-fi you will enjoy this series. It reminds me a little of Enders Game, but only in genre type, not the storyline. Molly jets around the galaxy getting in and out of impossible situations that will have you holding your breath! So, Howey and/or all sci-fi fans; you definately wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Wow

    For an author ive never read and a sci fi, not my cup o tea, this book was amazing i loved every page of it and the ending omg cant wait to.read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yum!

    I've always believed that the best art is the stuff you make for yourself or perhaps for itself; rather than for profit. I know; "made with love" is cliched and oh so corny, but in most cases it really does make a difference, and you can clearly feel it here. Never did I find myself waiting impatiently for a scene to end, the pacing was about as perfect as I've found in a novel. In fact, when going back to the books after a break, I find myself constantly looking at pages far far behind where I actually read to because I simply couldn't imagine I'd gone through that much already. I've been so caught up in the flow of the story that I could read 200 pages and feel that I've read half that because it was so smooth, so inviting, so engrossing. Have you eaten a meal so good that you scarf down twice the amount you usually would without even noticing? I find myself reading before bed to the point that I'm falling half asleep, but I keep wanting just one more bite. The characters and locations are unique, yet completely believable, and the story rarely leads quite where you expected, but the destination is always satisfying. .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deserves to be on the Best Seller list

    Molly Fyde catches up the reader in her spaceship wash as she claims her father's lost starship and travels the galaxy. Hugh Howey captures the drama and ambition of 17-year-old Molly as she encounters worlds where the real attributes of the inhabitants and planets test her sanity and her view of life. I can't wait for more adventures of Molly and her assembled crew. "Molly Fyde and the Parsona Rescue" deserves to be on the Best Seller list. Written for Young Adults but I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1