Customer Reviews for

Molto Italiano: 327 Simple Italian Recipes to Cook at Home

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    For foodies

    This book is one that you'll turn to repeatedly - not the same old stuff. The recipes are easy and the tastes are sublime. Try the barbequed octopus with grilled escarole and mint - inspirational!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simple & Delicious

    The recipes are not intricate, yet taste great. Most of these are perfect to prepare on your average evening after work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Mario Takes You to the Next Level

    Once you know the basics, use this book to refine your skills. Read the entire recipe before you begin. There are prep work and ingredient requirements that may need a little extra attention, but the results are worth it! This is mot "fussy cooking", it's bringing out the best in favorite Italian dishes. Don't be afraid to go that next step!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Great Resource for Italian meal ideas

    We fell for this book immediately for the beautiful photos, comprehensive menu categories (separate chapters for appetizers, pasta, poultry, etc.) and thorough indexing (easy to look up an ingredient like fennel and find recipes to use it in). Wide ranging recipes from simple to complex and Mario's commentary paints a good picture of the way these dishes are enjoyed in their native land. Just a few nits: I am an accomplished cook, but some of the recipes don't come out as described, (one specified such a minimal amount of liquid I couldn't imagine where the promised sauce would come from; sure enough the end result was quite dry; nor did it resemble the photo). Another small nit: like many "celebrity chefs," Mario can be quite cavalier with hard-to-find or expensive ingredients; eg lavish amounts of saffron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Mario Batali Does it Again

    In this cookbook, chef Mario Batali leads the reader/cook through the wonderful workd of Italian cooking. It is a must for an cooking library and will be used again and again. The recipes are wonderful and the directions very easy to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    AMAZING

    I went to CIA in new york and no lie this book tought me more i recomended it for anyone who is willing to try and learn the art of italian cooking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cooking lessons from Uncle Mario

    This is a book you will turn to again and again, not just for the delicious recipes, but also for the gorgeous food photos and the force of personality in each description. When I pull this out, I always announce that "We're having something from Uncle Mario." And it feels like Batali is my uncle: gently guiding me through important meals with all of the warmth and appeal for which he's famous. <BR/><BR/>His approach to food is easy, but consistently successful, whether you're trying to make homemade pasta for the first time, or attempting something more daring. Following the directions precisely isn't totally necessary - the basic flavor combinations are strong enough to pull you through and forgive you your mistakes - and that frees you up to discover your inner chef. The recipes teach you as you make them, sending the information up through your fingers, across your tongue, and into your brain. That's the mark of a truly good cookbook, and by that measure, this is the best one in my kitchen.<BR/><BR/>PS: The copy I have is signed: "Spaghetti is love." There is a man who thinks about the world completely through food. How could we not trust him?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    best cook book ever

    i use my cookbook at least 4 times a week. its simple to follow directions make me look like a top chief, with very little experience on my part! mario you rock!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    A Bargain!

    Where else can you find 300 great Italian recipes in one volume? You can tell Mario is a great chef just by looking at the guy. This is a man who knows and LOVES great food. I have several Italian cookbooks in my collection, but none capture the rustic Italian cooking style featured here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Great recipes

    Great recipes, easy to make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very useful and great self starter cookbook

    Recipes are very easy to follow. The ingredients are very easy to find, colorful pictures, and very detailed step by step instructions. I have tried several recipes already and I am very satisfied. If you enjoy cooking you will never get tired of Molto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Mario Batali Molto Italiano

    I bought this book for my Grandson for Christmas, he loves the book, I did go into my local store first to see the various Italian books looked like because I couldn't tell online what it looked like inside the book, or how easy the receipes were because my grandson is only 11 but that was his request for his Christmas present an Italian cookbook. When I brought it home my husband browsed through it and thought it was an excellent book. I only wish the online picture showed more of what the book looked like so I wouldn't have had to make a trip into the store. Purchasing it on line was agreat value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2