Customer Reviews for

Mom Said Kill

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

TRUE CRIME AT ITS BEST!!!!

MOM SAID KILL is the true story of a tragic murder, and the destruction of many lives due to the twisted manipulations of youngsters by a domineering and imbalanced woman. The victim, a gentle and kind man named Jerry Heimann, was brutally beaten and stabbed by a rag t...
MOM SAID KILL is the true story of a tragic murder, and the destruction of many lives due to the twisted manipulations of youngsters by a domineering and imbalanced woman. The victim, a gentle and kind man named Jerry Heimann, was brutally beaten and stabbed by a rag tag group of teens and preteens who were essentially "brainwashed" into this act of senseless violence by a woman motivated by greed and irrational thought. She got her daughter to kill Jerry by promising her a new bike, and this young girl ALWAYS did what mom said!
Burl Barer is known as America's best investigative true crime journalist, and even the famous Jack Olsen says "Burl Barer writes true crime at its best." It's true. Barer's books are almost too good, if that is possible. When so many true crime books simply tell the story from point A to the ending, Barer goes beyond the "plot," and takes on thought provoking trips into the underlying issues -- moral, social, spiritual, ethical and legal -- that make all the difference to those involved.
MOM SAID KILL, like Barer's other books, is dedicated to uplifting the victim's death to the level of sacrifice. Once again, he has succeeded.

posted by Outlawcrime on October 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Unotherized account of my fathers murder

He may not need permission to write this, but he knew it was aginst the familys wish's. To make money off someones pain is just plain wrong.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    TRUE CRIME AT ITS BEST!!!!

    MOM SAID KILL is the true story of a tragic murder, and the destruction of many lives due to the twisted manipulations of youngsters by a domineering and imbalanced woman. The victim, a gentle and kind man named Jerry Heimann, was brutally beaten and stabbed by a rag tag group of teens and preteens who were essentially "brainwashed" into this act of senseless violence by a woman motivated by greed and irrational thought. She got her daughter to kill Jerry by promising her a new bike, and this young girl ALWAYS did what mom said!<BR/>Burl Barer is known as America's best investigative true crime journalist, and even the famous Jack Olsen says "Burl Barer writes true crime at its best." It's true. Barer's books are almost too good, if that is possible. When so many true crime books simply tell the story from point A to the ending, Barer goes beyond the "plot," and takes on thought provoking trips into the underlying issues -- moral, social, spiritual, ethical and legal -- that make all the difference to those involved.<BR/>MOM SAID KILL, like Barer's other books, is dedicated to uplifting the victim's death to the level of sacrifice. Once again, he has succeeded.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    True Crime At It's Finest

    Burl Barer's latest true crime book "Mom Said Kill" is another example of his superior talent. This case is terribly sad, with so many more victims that just Mr. Heiman - Jerry's mother, his children, the youngest of the Opel children and from my POV Heather Opel as well. He brings up social issues such as the handling of juvenile crime in our society as well as (obviously) parenting methodolgies and how they can impact the lives and futures of our children. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Unotherized account of my fathers murder

    He may not need permission to write this, but he knew it was aginst the familys wish's. To make money off someones pain is just plain wrong.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Excellent and Compelling

    Mom Said Kill is another true crime classic by Edgar Award winner Burl Barer telling the tragic story of kind man who took a woman and her children into his home only to have them plot his murder for the $40,000 in his bank account. Barer not only tells the story, but gives us important insights into how the law and society deals with children who are manipulated into murder by a perverse and overbearing mother. This is a must read for true crime fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    Worst Mother! Excellent Book!

    I just finished "Mom Said Kill" and, frankly, I am suprised that before this awful crime took place that Barbara Opel hadn't had her kids taken away by the state of Washington. I am pretty sure that Opel still would have found a way to kill the poor Mr. Heiman, but at least she wouldnt' have roped her own innocent children into it. That being said, I appreciated Barer's thoughtful approach to the case and the serious and careful way that he approched the issue of sentencing of children and teens when they are involved in crimes and the damaging effects that a abusive parent can put on their children. <BR/>It is with care and dilligence that Barer recounts the horrors of this crime, the ensuing poorly attempted cover-up and succesful prosecution of the perpetrators. I have not been able to get the image of Jerry's mother left in the house out of my mind, his poor son for how he found out about the murder or Barbara Opels children and their friends for the youth that they lost.<BR/>This book is not for the faint of heart but it is spectacularly well written and as a fan of true crime I truly enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    on and on and on

    I have been trying to read this book for 4 months. I am over half way through but I just can't get through it. I do not like how it was written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Sad

    Very tragic murder, this lady is no mother....shes evil!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Pretty good

    It was a pretty good read, but thats all its getting from me. Skipped through some at the end as it seemed quite repetitive. Also a previous comment sparks my interest, if the family didnt want this book published and he did it anyway, then i do agree that that is very wrong.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    Waste of money

    Don't waste your time or money on this one. Not much about the case just a lot of wasted filler

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1