Customer Reviews for

Moments of Clarity: Voices from the Front Lines of Addiction and Recovery

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Reached Deep Within and Touched My Soul

    ¿You don¿t understand, no one understands¿ an addict¿s mantra, which until Moments of Clarity, was very true. <BR/><BR/>Mr. Lawford and the contributors in this book fearlessly break the validity of this mantra through the strength of sharing their stories, bringing to life the realness of the disease of addiction and the holds it has on the mother, husband, teenager, employee, and celebrity, forcing them to go against what they know is the ¿right thing to do.¿ <BR/><BR/>Each story truly reached deep within and touched my soul, as they not only share their hardships, but proclaim their moment of clarity, and the astonishing changes made in their lives because of that moment. They are all great examples of willingness, and almost anyone can find identification with the feelings, thoughts, adversities, and subsequent moments of clarity as we all face some form of them during our lives on a daily basis.<BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to those who have family members suffering with this disease and need to understand the pain and hopelessness felt by those they love. To the addict who is still suffering as they will find the hope they are so desperately seeking and to those who are in recovery as they will be able to experience renewed epiphanies as I did.<BR/><BR/>Thank you to everyone who courageously contributed to these pages as I know many people will find salvation and peace of mind through your strength.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    awesome

    awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    show someone you care

    If you are wondering what to give a special friend or family member in recovery. This book makes the perfect gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Moments of Clarity "Wow"

    This is a wonerful read, not only for someone in recorevy,but for anyone. It covers many different types of addiction, and the ways the writers cope form day to day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. It is so moving. Sometimes it brought me to tears when it hit home. Thank you Christopher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Insight into Individual Lives of Addiction

    Extremely honest, revealing, and personal stories of struggles with and recoveries from addiction. Each story is so unique and yet the common thread is so obvious to the reader. Anyone who has had experience with addiction, their own or that of a loved one, will appreciate this book. I was moved to tears numerous times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    Impactful, Insightful and Inspirational

    MOMENTS of CLARITY is one of the most powerful compendiums I have ever had the privilege of reading. And, I say that because I truly feel Chris Lawford's most recent work is a generous gift of its contributors sharing experiential knowledge, humility and honesty meant to help each and every reader. <BR/>When reading about the "A-Ha" moments via the trials and tribulations of the famous and not-so-famous -- from Oscar-winner Richard Dreyfuss, Jamie Lee Curtis and Katey Sagal to former federal inmate DeJuan Verrett and Safe Harbor sober homes founder Velvet Mangan -- hope, courage and the willingness is the thread that ties all the stories together. The reader is left with renewed focus and energy to move forward in life and embrace change.<BR/>We are all on a path for a better tomorrow. Moments of Clarity is that comprehensive manual that if we put one foot in front of the other and keep moving forward, we will get there with dignity, grace and clarity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    Common Ground

    A magazine article, similar in subject matter, prompted me to read this. I wanted to see the "corollary of discovery¿ shared by other cases. While dissimilar in many facets, I find the common ground in a tenet of Chris Mecham's (case expose) boyhood religious orientation: human progress is perpetual and eternal.<BR/><BR/>Aside from occasional lingual degradation, well spoken Mr. Lawford.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Moments of Clarity

    Laugh out loud funny in parts, heart wrenching in others, joyous throughout. Shows the resilience of the human spirit and the importance of the 12th Step of A.A.--carrying the message.
    This book should be on the list of required reading for human services major.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    If you are a friend or family member of someone in recovery or someone you hope finds recovery, this book offers outstanding insight into the disease of addiction

    This is a great book! So much hope fills the pages as well as insight into the disease of addiction. This is not a book on how to get a loved one sober, it is a book that offers insight into how each person interviewed found the desire to get sober.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    Loved BOTH your books

    "Loved BOTH your books - could not put either down and cannot thank you enough for your honesty and compassion. You rock!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    MOMENTS OF Clarity is a fascinating book.

    The stories jump out. MOMENTS OF CLARITY is inspiring to anyone who wants to be a better person. You don't have to be addicted to a substance to find bits of your own life in this book. Mr. Lawford is a fantastic person who not only turned his own life around because of his moment of clarity, but then went on and created an inspiring, elevated resource for everyone. In my opinion, if you feel down about yourself, pick up this book and lift your own spirits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1