Customer Reviews for

Mommywood

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tori Spelling is a GREAT mother!!!!

Tori is being the best mother she knows how and if that means keepeing her mother out of the equation, then she should go for it. I understand where Tori is coming from. We all, on some level, want to love our mothers and (for the people whose mothers aren't in the pict...
Tori is being the best mother she knows how and if that means keepeing her mother out of the equation, then she should go for it. I understand where Tori is coming from. We all, on some level, want to love our mothers and (for the people whose mothers aren't in the picture) want them to be in our lives, but you have to look at the big picture. Does anyone critisize you on your parenting or on your relationships? The only difference between Tori and everyone else in the world is that her world, her life is more public than ours. We all have tiffs with someone around us.

posted by 1203883 on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Big disappointment

I loved Stori Telling, but in comparison Mommywood is a big disappointment. The stories felt repetitive and poorly organized, and weren't as well written as in the previous book. The editors really dropped the ball on this one.

posted by 342857 on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Good Book.

    I loved the first one, and the second one is just as good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tori Spelling is a GREAT mother!!!!

    Tori is being the best mother she knows how and if that means keepeing her mother out of the equation, then she should go for it. I understand where Tori is coming from. We all, on some level, want to love our mothers and (for the people whose mothers aren't in the picture) want them to be in our lives, but you have to look at the big picture. Does anyone critisize you on your parenting or on your relationships? The only difference between Tori and everyone else in the world is that her world, her life is more public than ours. We all have tiffs with someone around us.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    Toris 2nd book

    The first book was good, the 2nd is a repeat of 1st. Tori, one book was plenty. This bored me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Big disappointment

    I loved Stori Telling, but in comparison Mommywood is a big disappointment. The stories felt repetitive and poorly organized, and weren't as well written as in the previous book. The editors really dropped the ball on this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Read

    I really enjoyed the book, but I think her first one was a little more juicy. This was a fast read and you can tell she has matured and tried to tell things in a way not to hurt someone's feelings. I don't know if I would want to buy as I got it from the library and read it in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tori kills me

    I picked up Tori's first book for a little light reading in between fictional novels. I read it in 2 days. It is so light, comical and real. Some of her stories had me in stitches and she the way she wrote made me feel like she was just one of my friends recapping some events in her life. This was a great read if you are looking to laugh. She seems like a great mom, wife and friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    love it!!!

    I love tori and her first book was great!!! this book is even better. I would buy any book she writes b/c they are so honest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    tori's tell all books for all to see, is great.

    I love Tori's books, they are honest and sincere. She lets herself be human like the rest of us and that is great. In this book, she lets people know it is not an easy job juggling stardum and being a mommy at the same time but she is handling it like a real trooper. It is a shame that her mom will never have a relationship with her or her grandchildren. I can relate very well to that. She learned to let things that can't change go and so have i. Tori's book is wonderful and i will get any book she writes in the future.

    Donna Russomanno
    clemens2280@comcast.net

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Love it!

    I really enjoy her books they are light hearted and true to her personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Loved!

    Funny and down to earth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Reflection of good values and just plain good people!

    I have to say not having a family of my own (children + husband) this did not shy me away from Tori's new book, why? Because I too have some Mom issues, I too have my own confidence issues and irrational fears and anxieties. Tori is relate-able and reading the book is like a good long conversation with my best friend about all my concerns in life. It makes me want to sit down and write her a big long letter and say hey, you're not alone girl! I'm here, we're in the same boat. Tori is doing an amazing job, busting her ass and making her dreams come true and holding it together for her children and husband. Such a great team and circle of support she has around her. So inspiring! Thanks, Tori! I'm still reading...what's next? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Forgetfull Fluff

    Mindless fluff. I found her autobiography somewhat interesting, but there was enough to talk about as she reflected on much of her past. I found that this book, although her last felt the same way, was disorganized. You never know where she is going to go next with the next chapter or even the next sentence. A lot of what she talks about seems pointless. It was like she just wanted to write another book. I often found myself thinking "Why would I care?" If you feel you must read it I have two words for you: Rent It! I regret wasting my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    Once again Tori talks about her life in a funny and page turning way. Even though she is living in "Mommywood" She shows us that she really is just like the rest of us living in "Regularwood". (ok, you know what I mean).

    If you liked her first book you'll love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    If You watch the Show.....

    I read her first book, so I was interested in this one. This book made me laugh. I was not so frustrated as I was in the first book of hers. If you enjoy her show, then you would enjoy learning more about some of the other experiences they don't show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Cute but..

    Cute read but Tori is desperately insecure and there are moments where you want to tell her to just suck it up and deal. I'd get this book in the library instead of purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Very cute

    I think I'm qualified to write a truly unbiased review as I am a straight single male that has never seen either of her shows (but did read her previous book and her mom's.) While she doesn't really get the word "normal," Tori seems a very real person. She tries very hard with everything she does (as her mother did not) and I think that is a saving grace of hers. She still is rather spoiled, but she tried to fit in as well as she could in her new neighborhood, reality show and all. I do agree with one person she met on the street; the dressing her pug up in a 2-piece bathing suit is WAY over the top. Some readers have said this is not as good as the first book. I agree, but only a bit. No, there were no real scandals with her and her mom (except that the spoiled, rich, control-freak refused to have anything to do with Tori after the first book came out.) But it is nice to see she can share her heart on the page with little reservations. This is worth the read especially if you haven't seen the show. Oh, and she looks darling in her bee outfit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Fantastic Read!

    Tori Spelling is funny honest and can really right a story.Just like her first book there was a lot of funny moments and even though I'm not a parent myself I still enjoyed reading about her with her kids and her parenting advise.Her story is so interesting that its hard to put the book down.I'm looking forward to reading her third book.This was a great read and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Mommy book!

    I love Tori Spelling. I think she funny, loving, careing and so sweet. I think her relationship with Dean reminds me of mine so it's like watching or reading about my husband and I. This book really opens your eyes as to how she is as a mother. And the hollywood part of things too. She talks about how she tries so hard to balance everything. If your a true fan then you'll love this book. Also if your just interested on how hollywood moms do it then read this book. This book really does come from her words. I just loved it. I have read stori telling and reading her newset book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10