Customer Reviews for

MOMumental: Adventures in the Messy Art of Raising a Family

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My Review Of MOMUMENTAL By Jennifer Grant

    This is a story of a young mother who wanted to be the perfect mother (supermom), and as she begins her journey into motherhood she soon realizes there is no such thing as the perfect mother. We all see the perfect scenario when we set out to be that supermom, but diapers, teething and homework always win out. I love the part where Jennifer explains how all kids are different and each one needs to be raised differently, and for me this is the most honest statement I have heard or read any mother say. I thought of my daughter as I read the part in Jennifer’s book when she wrote about her children fighting and how she had to let them just work things out. She had to fight the urge to not get in the middle of the fight because she wanted them to know that home was a safe place where they could live together and feel heard. As mothers, we want to fix everything and make sure everyone is happy, but Jennifer reminds us to stop trying to be that perfect functional family, but to create a home that is filled with memories, where people can grow, and just be real. Because there is no perfect family out there, I’m sorry but there just isn’t. I wish this book would have been available about 26 years ago because it would have been very beneficial to me. And it can be very beneficial to young mothers today. I do have to say I did allot of laughing throughout this book too. Momumental was a very enjoyable read for me, and I would recommend this to all mothers and grandmothers alike. This book was provided to me for review compliments of Worthy Publishing in exchange for my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    When I come across a good parenting book, I am instantly mesmeri

    When I come across a good parenting book, I am instantly mesmerized. Add a Christian perspective to it, and I am definitely hooked. Jennifer Grant has written a book that is definitely all that and more. Over my years as a mother, I have read several "mother" books, but this is probably one of the best I have ever read. It is practical, humorous, and above all, non-condemning!

    In the past, I have read mothering books that made me feel like I had to do A, B, and C in order to be a better mom. Oh, and if I didn't X, Y, and Z, I was going to mess my child up for life! I am so glad that Jennifer Grant does not take that view. She even shares stories of other's mistakes (including hers) that makes mother realize that it we are going to mess up (and sometimes mess up big!). And it is okay. We do the best we can with the knowledge we have at the time.

    I share her view of little kids. I struggled through my daughter's early years, but I am enjoying her now. It does get easier. Even though there are other issues that will arise, I am glad my daughter is the age she is now. No more diapers or bottles.

    My favorite page in the book was her take on the "Serenity Prayer." I don't want to ruin it for anyone, but I definitely want to frame a copy for my wall! I also was comforted when she talked about the different "bad mom" names she has had to endure over the years. I know how it feels to have someone criticize your parenting skills. Not fun at all!

    I have no criticisms at all except she needs some companion guide to this that has some of her inspiring sayings. It would be neat to do this as a light, fun mom's study with some kind of interactive workbook. But until that happens, I will just go back and read certain parts when I get to feeling down as a mother.

    I highly recommend this to every mother who has ever felt like a bad mom or had a bad mom day. It is a quick, uplifting read that will inspire and encourage you.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Great stories with insight and comfort about the craziness of motherhood

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Jennifer Grant has an amazing story telling ability, and through her stories I found wisdom, insight into different ways to approach the demands of motherhood, and comfort in knowing that I'm not alone in trying to figure motherhood out. Inspirational and makes you laugh at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One mom's humorous and candid memoir shows would-be supermoms ho

    One mom's humorous and candid memoir shows would-be supermoms how to create a realistically balanced family life without losing their minds.




    ~This was a cute book filled with laughable stories that any Mom can relate too. I enjoyed reading this even though my 3 are out of diapers. I have picked up a few good tips here on how to deal with my Tween, which I am glad for!~


    Thanks for HandleBar Marketing for sending me this book to read and review, all opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Parenting Book!

    This is a wonderful memoir of family life in all of its (sometimes) messy glory. It's definitely not your normal book about raising a child! It's not about being the perfect parent, its about being a REAL mom. I think that's whats so appealing about this book. The author uses her real experiences(and that of friends etc.) of being a parent, the good, bad, and the ugly. The stories that she uses to illustrate are pretty dog gone funny, and I think most parents have a story or two that's pretty similar from their journey through parenthood.
    ;)

    Even though I'm not a Mom myself, I really liked this book. The heartfelt stories, and the realness of the author, made this a fun, interesting, and educational read.
    If you are a mom (or about to be), I would definitely recommend that you pick up this read.
    I'm sure you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Funny grace

    Jennifer Grant is a wonderful writer; her style and stories will take your breath away!

    I'm not a mom but I delighted in the book because I delight in honest writing. Not only is Jennifer intentionally transparent, she invites her readers to play with what is revealed through this transparency. She makes us laugh because we see ourselves in her! (She is SO funny!!!)

    In revealing herself through this earnest, true story of love, she gives the rest of us permission to open ourselves more fully to grace, fun and love.

    And that's what I call a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    The newest book from Worthy Publishing, "MOMumental" b

    The newest book from Worthy Publishing, "MOMumental" by Jennifer Grant, is one that all mom's need to read. I could not put this book down. When I wasn't laughing at the commonalities between her life and mine, I was learning some practical tips on how to be a mom- a real mom. She is a normal mom with normal mom problems and reading this book just made me feel better about some of my choices and helped me to loosen up on myself.

    It is not often that I really enjoy a "memoir" type book but this one was different. Instead of relaying random stories about her life, Jennifer Grant takes the reader into her home and offers ideas that we moms can use in our homes and, at the same time, shows that she is as far from perfect as the rest of us!

    As a Catholic mom, I must also mention that this book is totally "Catholic-friendly". There is actually a chapter dedicated to religion where the author discusses her interactions with a Catholic friend of hers. She tells of the Catholic faith in a respectful way and I encourage Catholic moms to pick up a copy of this book.

    So, to all moms out there wondering how to be good parents, buy a copy of "MOMumental". My favorite quote from the book comes from the author's son. He says that "in parenting, what matters most is what we do most of the time"... can't get any truer than that!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I've had the opportunity - and it has been a delight - to review

    I've had the opportunity - and it has been a delight - to review a new book, MOMumental. I would have benefited from this book in so many ways if I had been able to read it 30 years ago before I became a mom . . . but, sadly for me, it had not yet been written. It is however; available now and I can not recommend it strongly enough for all moms, moms-to-be and moms-who-hope-one-day-to be. It absolutely should be not only on your "must-read" list, but also on your, "I-absolutely-will-read" list! Grandmas, this book would make a perfect baby shower gift!!!!

    MOMumental
    Author - Jennifer Grant
    Publisher - WORTHY Publishing

    Favorite Features -
    this book shares the heartfelt desire of one mom to be a perfect mom . . . and her experiences as she discovered there is no such thing as a "perfect" mom
    I love how she so freely and honestly shares her "low points" as well as her triumphs as a mom!
    in the chapter, "Escape to Gordon's House", I discovered my favorite paragraph in this book . . . "I attempt - admittedly with only partial success - to 'prefer the given,' an idea my old professor Father McClatchy introduced to us in college. Coined by British author Charles Williams, the phrase means choosing to appreciate what we have instead of being dissatisfied with the grace and other gifts God gives us. In other words, if winter is a northerner's lot in life for half of the year, what's the point in wishing it were otherwise?" There is a lot of wisdom in this paragraph . . . one this northerner can certainly identify with, even if I'm no longer a new mom!
    I particularly enjoyed the chapter "On the Bwight Side . . . " and appreciate not only the personal stories - one which left me laughing out loud - but the emphasis on not pre-judging our children or expecting our children to be "little adults". Excellent!
    I'm so happy to see the chapter on families eating meals together! Thank you Jennifer - I absolutely agree it is essential family meals are a priority for children and families!
    as a mom and grandma living in this world, I appreciate chapter 10 - "Parenting After an Orange Alert" and found the sentences very encouraging; "When He appears to humans, our God of love often prefaces His messages with, 'Do not be afraid."I want them (my children/grandchildren) to be people who know there is a bigger picture, a spiritual promise of hope and redemption, even when life circumstances feel frightening." "I don't want them to lose sight of it or fail to see God's gifts of love around them because they are afraid of what, ultimately, cannot harm them." We all need to hear these messages!
    excellent information about beginning a tradition of family meetings . . . this is something I wish I had known to do when my children were young.
    I absolutely agree . . . young moms need to know and hear, "You're doing great. And it gets easier. I promise."
    If you are looking for one book on being a mom to read - or recommend to a young mom, this is the one! MOMumental releases on May 8th and is a honest sharing of one mom's dreams, hopes and heart!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1