Customer Reviews for

Monday Mornings: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Had a chance to read an advance copy of the book, and literally

Had a chance to read an advance copy of the book, and literally could not put it down!! Excellent character development, lots of drama and a surprise ending made Monday Mornings a great read from beginning to end! Definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys a good medica...
Had a chance to read an advance copy of the book, and literally could not put it down!! Excellent character development, lots of drama and a surprise ending made Monday Mornings a great read from beginning to end! Definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys a good medical drama...

posted by Matt_Sloane on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sorrelkit is rp-ed by Ashstar.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Had a chance to read an advance copy of the book, and literally

    Had a chance to read an advance copy of the book, and literally could not put it down!! Excellent character development, lots of drama and a surprise ending made Monday Mornings a great read from beginning to end! Definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys a good medical drama...

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Fast n furious

    Great book for nurses. The author doesnt dumb down the medical jargon. I love medical fiction. Im curious if nonmedical readers will find this to be out of their depth. Its a fast paced story with many different story threads. Some good endings, some bad, and some WOW endings. Great read!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    As a physician myself, I really enjoyed Dr. Gupta's book. It's e

    As a physician myself, I really enjoyed Dr. Gupta's book. It's entertaining and tells a side of medicine that most people probably don't know about. I read the book straight through.
    For people who enjoy reading about medicine, Dr. Gupta's book has few competitors.
    The House of God by Dr. Samuel Shem is the classic novel of resident physicians that comes to mind. Dr. Gupta's book may be the closest novel we have to "House of God."
    In Stitches by Dr. Anthony Youn is a medical memoir that tells the story of becoming a doctor with a new style of humor. I LOVED this one.
    Hot Lights, Cold Steel: Life, Death and Sleepless Nights in a Surgeon's First Years is a third good option for people interested in what being a surgeon is like.
    Overall, it was a real pleasure reading Dr. Gupta's story. I've read that there is a TV show in the works? If so, I'll watch!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Great Read!

    This one hooked me in the first few pages and was one of those books I couldn't wait to get back to. The doc needs to write more fiction as he really is an excellent writer. Time well spent and learned a lot too.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a captivating story about surgeons being pushed to their

    This is a captivating story about surgeons being pushed to their limits in their efforts to help patients. Paramedics bring in a twenty-five year old woman whose car crashed into a tree. The author is excellent at making the reader feel the angst and dread of the Doctors as they enter the operating room. We learn just enough about tumors, aneurysms, and advances in brain surgery. The author adds a little back knowledge about how politics and money play a bigger part in medicine than we would like to know. I sympathized with all the character in their daily strife. Interesting.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Excellent

    Love it! It gives a rare glimpse into the tricky, complicated minds of not only a surgeon or two, but an entire neurosurgical team. The super-docs who are notorious for their ability to fix things find themselves in situations where they're unable to turn back the clock and repair damage done in crucial moments that have changed lives forever.
    As a nurse, I devoured every word, but it's written in such a way as to keep the interest of medical and laypersons alike.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Wanted to keep reading

    I have to admit that at first, I wasn't sure about this book. At the beginning, there are a lot of characters to keep straight. As I read, though, i connected with the different characters and remembered who was who. Monday Mornings kept my interest and I wanted to know what would be discussed on Monday mornings.

    Overall, a really good, interesting book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Read only if

    You're not currently admitted and awaiting surgery! Scary• Insightful• Well written!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    The show is engaging - the same cannot be said for the book.

    Since I enjoy the television show, I thought reading the book would be an enjoyable endeavor as well. Unfortunately, I was terribly disappointed. While the show presents characters in three dimensions - the book is one dimensional at best. I was amazed how poorly written the book was. After about two chapter, I could not continue reading. This is definitely not a book I would recommend - watch the TV show.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Watched the TV show and got hooked! Really enjoyed the book. I

    Watched the TV show and got hooked! Really enjoyed the book. It's an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Wonderfully written

    Both an excitement to read and a touching behind the scenes look that makes doctors and nurses real people! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Angel

    She moans and whispers, "Yes. Please."

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this book i literally could not put it down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Morning Rises ~ Chapter 7

    (Ok, one thing. I changed the med cats name. I like the new one better.) <p> Morningpaw ran through the forest, her heart pounding. She couldn't belive what had happened with Dewpaw. How did she get in the Dark Forest anyway? She had overheard from the warriors that Dark Forest cats trained apprintences. She shuddered and kept running. When she came to camp, she headed straight for the warriors den. She liked how Dewpaw's mom name was Grassshine: an awful name. It was very funny. She felt a sharp pain that meant one thing - A cut pad. She groaned and headed for the Medicene den. At least she could see her sister. <p> Risingpaw looked up to see her sister come in. Morningpaw flopped down and groaned, "I have a cut pad." Risingpaw nodded and grabbed a cobweb and some Marigold. "How serious is it?" "I don't know." Huffed Morningpaw. "This is serious!" Shrieked Risingpaw. "Silentwind!" Silentwind padded in. "Yes?" She mewed. "Morningpaw has a serious cut on her pad!" Cried Risingpaw. *Oh this is just great.* Thought Morningpaw. "She does?" Demanded Silentwind. "Put on Cobwebs, Marigold, and remove what ever cut her pad." Risingpaw did excatly what Silentwind told her to do. Morningpaw realized that she had some bone stuck in her paw. "Don't put too much weight on it." Commanded Risingpaw. "So, how did training go?" Morningpaw told her everything. Risingpaw nodded, when they heard, "All who are old enough to catch their own prey, gather at High Rock to hear my words!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Monday Morning

    This was a very good read, I really enjoyed it.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    what I think of this product. More than two pages of Anonymous,

    what I think of this product. More than two pages of Anonymous, no text provided for this review. Why on earth are you even putting that in here? I read these pages to read reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Very informative: check it out!

    Follow's television program closley but with more detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    May i join as teacat

    Plese . Herbelstream

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Rainstar

    Sorry! Its at the morning result two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    GrayDawn

    Should I ask about a position? A clan rank?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4