Customer Reviews for

Monday Mourning (Temperance Brennan Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Monday Mourning

I have just finished Monday Mourning and enjoyed this book very much.When you have the same people from previous books you more or less knw how they will react.I recommend this book highly.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stop reading the series before you get to this book!

I REALLY wanted to love this series. I am a huge fan of Bones and I was hoping that the books would have the same feel. NOPE. The author is way too formulaic- every book has the same pattern. Each time a friend or family member shows up and manages to get entangled in t...
I REALLY wanted to love this series. I am a huge fan of Bones and I was hoping that the books would have the same feel. NOPE. The author is way too formulaic- every book has the same pattern. Each time a friend or family member shows up and manages to get entangled in the case. Come on! It was fine the first and second time but, by the third book, it grows tiresome. Yet, I continued to purchase the books, hoping that the author would mature and develop better plots. It didn't happen. Additionally, her relationship with Ryan is unrealistic, childish and almost insulting to adult women. My last gripe is that I am not familiar with French so, it grows tiresome to stumble over all of the French in her books. Heed my advice, you are better off watching reruns of Bones.

posted by 3445070 on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Monday Mourning

    I have just finished Monday Mourning and enjoyed this book very much.When you have the same people from previous books you more or less knw how they will react.I recommend this book highly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Love love love

    Her books always keep me entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Silv

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Gripping and fascinating.

    You can't help being pulled in. Fabulous read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    If you like Fox's 'Bones', you'll love the original Temperance Brennan!

    I recommend starting with Deja DeAd and reading right on through! You won't regret ot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    read

    it is an interesting story, but what the heck! it is so cruel what people do to each other! power to the people ! peace , Love!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Wow

    This book was so amazing! It really sickened me to think that people actually do this kind of thing. I think this is the main reason why I want to become a forensic anthropologist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    AAAAA....stop killing my brain!!

    This is a GREAT book. Reichs has an amusing sadistic way of messing with your head at the last minute and bringing the whole book together with a grand conclusion. Since I teach science, all of the forensic stuff is cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Another superb novel

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the writings of Kathy Reichs and her character, Tempe Brennan. Until I read ¿Monday Mourning¿ I didn¿t know why I thought the writing was superb. Ms. Reichs does an afterword and from this I learned that she is a forensic anthropologist for the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, State of North Carolina, and for the Laboratoire des Sciences Judiciaires et de Médecine Légale for the province of Quebec. When you write about what you know, you write the best. Monday Mourning continues with the characters of Tempe, her cat, Birdie, Detective Andrew Ryan and Detective Claudel. ¿Monday Mourning¿ finds Tempe in the basement of a pizza parlor in Montreal with bones and¿RATS! Detective Claudel believes the bones are from a long ago burial but Tempe doesn¿t believe this at all. In the midst of delving into the forensics of the bones with Carbon 14 dating, Tempe¿s friend, Ann, shows up on her doorstep. She is in crisis and leans on Tempe for an ear to bend about her troubles. When Tempe brings Ann to her apartment, they find it has been burglarized. Detective Andrew Ryan arrives just as the girls are trying to decide whether or not to enter the apartment. After the police have been called, he helps the girls clean up enough to be able to sleep safely in the apartment. Between the bones, Claudel giving Tempe a hard time about why she is so concerned with them, Ryan being secretive about the girl living with him and Ann¿s problems with her husband, Tempe is about to lose her mind. Investigation discovers a connection between runaways and Stephen Manard from Vermont. The Carbon 14 shows where the victims had lived but searching police files leads no where. The police locate a home owned by Manard in Montreal and from this point, the story takes a twist I didn¿t see coming. Does Ryan love Tempe? Is the man the police talked to really Manard? Is the girl living with Manard his wife or captive? Who are the victims found in the basement? Grab a copy of ¿Monday Mourning¿ and don¿t stop listening until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Fantastic and Smart Science

    This was Kathy's best book yet. Loved them all and a bit sad now that I have to sit and wait while she writes another one. I HOPE!!! Kathy's books take on the CSI shows to a higher level and I can't get enough of the science. Smart Lady writes smart books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Couldn't put the book down!

    Once you read the first few pages, you are quickly taken into the streets of Quebec. Tempe is back investing the deaths of lost children that the police are convinced are from a past century. New technology helps her prove to the police that the deaths are more recent. The book holds two new twists: Ryan has a daughter and things are heating up between Tempe and Ryan. Can't wait to see what happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    A 6. As good as it gets

    Tempe Brennan, a world renown forensic anthropologist works for the State of North Carolina through the office of the Chief Medieval Examiner and in Montreal through the Laboratoire de Sciences Judiciares et de Medecine Legale. She comes up to Montreal a day early to prepare her testimony for a murder case in which she is to testify in court the next day. Her plans get derailed when bones are discovered in the dirt basement of a pizza parlor. Besides the bones that were dug up by the owner and put in a crate, Tempe finds two other sets of bones in the unfinished basement............................ Lab tests prove that the skeletons are all teen-age female Caucasians, but the detective on the case thinks they are a century old, the same age as the building. Tempe¿s intuition tells her that the deaths are more recent and that the girls were all murdered. Through cutting edge science, Tempe is proven right and the police question previous owners of the store until they think they find the killer. What they end up discovering shocks the unusual unflappable police and in an unexpected twist Tempe finds herself at the mercy of another killer................................ Few writers can match Patricia Cornwell when it comes to writing a fantastic crime thriller but Kathy Reichs is one of the rare few. Her protagonist is tough in her professional life but vulnerable when it comes to those she loves. Tempe humanizes police work because she cares and is determined to follow the course she thinks is right even when the police on the case disagree with her. MONDAY MOURNING is a memorable, compelling and eye opening reading experience......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4