Customer Reviews for

Monday Night Jihad (Riley Covington Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Surprisingly good

    I was sent an advanced copy of Monday Night Jihad at my job and, to be honest, was expecting a disaster. I really didn't expect a first-time writer and NFL kicker to be able to put together anything that would capture my interest for more than 2.5 pages. Boy was I wrong. This is a fast-paced action thriller. One of my favorite aspects of the book is the true 'insider' feel to both the military and football scenes in the book. Of course the fact that the author is an NFL kicker lends it some legitimacy on the football front but this is a really good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!!

    An absolutely outstanding series! I just finished the 4th book and I am only disappointed that the story has come to a conclusion. Excellent story line, pace is perfect, ending outstanding. From start to finish I was entertained. The characters are well developed, and finally an ending that doesn't leave you hanging. As a female, and someone who dislikes all organized sports, I can absolutely recommend this wholeheartly to everyone. I also have a new appreciation for professional football players and although I still wont engage in watching football as a past time, I will appreciate all their hard work and skill more so than ever. I was hesitant to start this series as it seemed very "manly" to me. I love Joel Rosenberg and he recommended it which is why I gave it a chance. After reading the first few chapters, I went online and bought the other 3 books. I completed the entire series in 3 weeks. Thank you Jason and Steve. My new all time favorite series. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Great book

    Jason elam writes as well as he hits field goals! Fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Hold on tight, irs a GREAT ride!!!

    Loved this book and HAD TO buy the rest of series the next day; really, it' s THAT good! You will not be let down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In 1991 Baghdad, Hakeem lost his mother father, uncles and cousin to the American bombs and was taken to a camp where he was to become a mole living in the United States. He was brainwashed to avenge the death of his family and all those of Islam that the Americans killed in their war on terror. Hakeem settled into his American life waiting to be called to do his duty to Allah.------------ After Afghan duty, Second Lieutenant Riley Covington of the US Air Force Special Operations Command has become a valued linebacker for the football team the Colorado Mustangs. Hakeem¿s group partially succeeds at bombing the Mall of the American. His next mission is the stadium where the Mustangs are hosting a playoff game. Bombs go off and thousands are injured and killed including Riley¿s friend. As a reservist, Riley is called to find and put in a cage the mastermind, something he volunteered for while Hakeem has one more site to hit before he is finished.--------------- Former NFL kicker Jason Elam and Steve Yohn have written an exciting fast paced thriller that goes inside the mind of the terrorist to learn why they perform such horrific acts. The protagonist is a decent gentle man loved by his friends and feared by his enemies as he has no qualms about killing a killer who doesn¿t believe it is wrong to kill or maim thousands. Hakeem¿s handlers want America as the next country where suicide bombers operate with impunity. Readers will appreciate this action-packed thriller as Hakeem brings much more to the tale beyond the movie Black Sunday with the insight into his gut need for revenge accentuated by those who gave him three meals, a cot, and indoctrination.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    People who like football might appreciate this book.

    I was expecting more intrigue, however, the story seemed to be more about football. So of course for me it was hard to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I enjoyed this book a great deal. I recognized Jason Elam's name

    I enjoyed this book a great deal. I recognized Jason Elam's name since I am a big football fan but wasn't aware of how great of an author he is. This book had great action, suspense, and an awesome storyline. The main character, Riley Covington, seemed like a totally relatable individual that is somebody you would want to be like. In addition it was great to read a book that was so full of action but yet had a Christian message imbedded in the story. I also loved the fact that there wasn't any sex or cursing present at all in the book. I am eagerly looking forward to the next book in the Riley Covington series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly recommend... don't miss reading this one !!!

    I had never read anything by Jason Elam and wasn't sure if I'd like this one written by a football player, however if this is any indication of how he writes. I for one can't wait to read more of his books..
    This book was consistent for start to finish and the story line was easy to follow but not so easy to lose your interest. It leaves you wanting to know want happens next. I was unable to put it down and ended up staying up until 3:3o AM to finish reading to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Amazing - a must read!!

    WOW! Amazing book, left me breathless. I can't say enough good things; loved this enough that the next Jason Elam books will be the first books I pay to purchase (after 5 months of being happy reading free and library books). I will be re-reading this for sure (already lent it to a friend who is a huge Broncos fan, he loved it too). Only (teeny) thing I didn't love was very small religious parts, but I just skimmed the page and continued on with the amazing story. Overall, A+, a must read!!
    Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    I could not put the book down

    The book really was that good. The plot, the twists & turns...and sadly, the reality that bad things like this could happen makes the book even more interesting. I am now looking at other books by the authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Must Read

    This is a book that tells a story of what might happen in our world as we live it today. Professional Football and Terrorism is the setting for this story. I was suprised to see a author of this caliber on the free book list. Great thriller from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Love it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Too many factual errors

    Find a shooter to proof your next one. The constant errors made it hard to read. Several military issues too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great book

    Interesting concept. Hope this never happens in real life. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Its amazing

    By far the greatest action thriller of this time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2