Customer Reviews for

Money to Burn

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping Tale. Too Unbelievable to Give it Five Stars!

    I was hooked on this book from the start all the way to the finish. Michael Cantella is on a cruise vacation with Ivy and they impulsively marry on the cruise. They decide to leave the cruise to go sailing and Ivy disappears, apparently drowned and food for the sharks.

    Fast forward three years and Michael is remarried, fairly wealthy and one of the top traders as Sexton Silver, a large investment house. During a routine check of his porfolio, Michael discovers that someone has sold all his holdings at a loss and then funnelled all the funds to an off-shore account and then cleaned out that account. In a panic, Michael realizes he is the victim of identity theft.

    Michael tries to get this investigated but soon learns that his problems are just beginning as someone is doing their hardest to make Michael's firm go out of business. Not only that but they are making it appear as if Michael is behind everything and that he is lying about what happened to his portfolio.

    Michael's new wife wants a divorce and the FBI is interested in arresting Michael. The book is a non-stop thrill ride a minute and I couldn't put it down. It was like watching a silly movie (eg. American Pie) that you know is far-fetched but you find yourself compelled to watch. As I said what actually happens, is totally unbelievable to the reader and many explanations left me shaking my head. That is why I couldn't give it the full five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I wish i had that money

    You will be in shock at what happens at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Recommended

    Have not completely finished the book, but it is really getting interesting. Have always enjoyed Grippando which was the reason I puchased this book. It's a book to take with you while waiting for a doctor's appointment and then wishing the doctor is very late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clever

    Smart, witty and cleaver writing. The arthur has managed to deliver a story filled with twists and turns thay keeps you turning the page. This is a great read, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I throughly enjoyed reading the Jack Swyteck series by Grippando, but I ran out of books. I picked this one up because I love his writing style. I was not disappointed at all. As a matter of fact I found myself pouring through this book because I wanted to know what happened next. It is like the rest of Grippando's books with twists and turns you don't expect.....one of the many reasons that I love his books. Pick this one up for a read if you want to be thrilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Root of All Evil

    This novel entertained me even as I snickered at how absurd some of the storyline was. It's a quick read to keep you entertained on a flight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AS UP TO THE MINUTE AS TODAY'S HEADLINES

    Think all the dirty dealing goes on in small rooms off dark alleys, that those are the only people willing to kill without hesitation and sometimes for pleasure? Think again as you'll find in the incendiary, un-put-downable MONEY TO BURN. This time the bad guys are in plush Wall Street offices wearing custom made suits and Hermes ties, driving Lamborghinis and summoning private helicopters whenever they choose.

    In a thriller as up to the minute as this morning's paper we're introduced to 28-year-old Michael Canatella, a guy who has it all. His star is on the rise at the investment bank Saxton Silvers, he's the chief's #1 man. Life is too good to be true, and he's found the love of his life in Ivy Layton. However, that love doesn't last long because she dies on their wedding night.

    Fast forward to seven years later. Michael has remarried - her name is Mallory and she's a trophy wife if there ever was one. Beautiful, fun, and apparently doing everything she can to make Michael happy, even to throwing a sumptuous surprise birthday party for him in the Grand Ballroom of the Pierre Hotel. She's booked the penthouse suite for them to enjoy after the party, and Michael is trying hard to focus on what he has and not what he's lost. Yet somehow the memory of Ivy is always there.

    That same night as Mallory showers he is shocked to find out what else he has lost - after opening his laptop he went to the Saxton Silvers Web page and logged on to his personal investment account. He liked to look because his liquid assets "were almost ten times the `age thirty-five goal'" he had once set for himself. But, what he saw was heart stopping - everything had been liquidated, most at a loss. How could that have happened?

    However, as bad as that was it was only the beginning as "financial weapons of mass destruction take their toll" and victims of a crazed killer mount.

    Grippando keeps us guessing until the final pages through jaw dropping twists and surprising turns. The plotting is masterful.

    - Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Unusual Bravery

    James Grippando is one of the authors that delight me with every book. He is most comfortable with adventures in Florida. The last couple of books have been set in the north east, Boston and, now , New York. With this book he has stepped way out of his comfort zone and mine by writing about the incredible happenings on Wall Street in our recent past. This is boring subject matter to me.
    The book is about a massive Ponzi scheme. Grippando pulled off this one by adding an ending that Bernie Madoff must envy while sitting in his cell contemplating his next 200 years of incarceration.
    Congratulations on your extreme bravery in picking a very tough subject and creating a book that I didn't want to put down, Mr. Grippando!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3